We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #74 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not stay here!!!!!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked a double room in July as we were taking a trip to Anfield.
The hotel entrance and lobby are very glamorous we were very excited a mini break without the kids and a stunning hotel.
Check in was quick and smooth we entered the lift to our room on the fourth floor and thats where it went down hill very quickly.
The lift chugged its way up and opened on a dated dirty corridor as we walked down the corridor the cleaning staff were sprawled out on the floor taking a break on their phones( i am sure there must be a staff room for this) we had to step aside to get round them.
we opened the room to be hit by the heat - no opening windows in the room.
Where shall i start.... Double booked but found two single beds
Went to reception and asked to change the receptionist tutted and said oh ill have to send someone up to change the bed.
The room was filthy not been hoovered and tatty looking the bathroom was awful tooth paste still on the sink from the previous people vanity unit thick with dust and a very dated shower that was either burning hot or freezing cold .
In reception they had the room prices displayed ( half price of what we paid ) i asked was this the correct price and was told yea it is normally but because the golf is on we've doubled the price.
I can not comment on the food here as we chose to spend as little time as possible in the hotel.
It is in a great location but that is the only good comment i can make.

If your planning a trip to liverpool stay in the docks area it was great :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boosamboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    1,479
    1,312
    922
    1,403
See reviews for
697
2,189
291
520
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,566)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Adelphi from 1st - 4th August and I would never consider going there again. The first room we were given was smelly and more than in need of refurbishment. The bath had been given some sort of paint job but all the paint was peeling off. There was only a hand held shower attached to the bath taps but no shower curtain. I requested a change of room at reception, the lady on the reception desk was particularly unhelpful, and not at all concerned whether we stayed there or not. She said that many of their guests hate the hotel!! She eventually gave me the key to another room to see if that was suitable. This room was certainly better than the original room we were given, but was still very dated. We accepted this room, it was fairly clean, but I picked up several hair grips and also a dirty sock that had been left in the bedroom by the waste bin. We had come to this hotel on a coach trip, but I certainly wouldn't recommend it. Our coach driver had arranged 2 trips during our stay, both were due to leave at 9.30 a.m. and also our journey home was due to leave at 9.30, however on checking-in we were told that our breakfast was arranged for 9.30 also, I explained that this was not convenient and was told that there was nothing that could be done and that the coach company should have contacted the hotel. We did manage to get into the restaurant to have our meals after a bit of wrangling with the lady on the desk as you go into the restaurant. The food was average at best. There was plenty of choice if you wanted a cooked breakfast, but most things were overcooked. There was very little choice of fresh fruit and no yoghurt. The staff in the hotel as a whole were not particularly helpful, and the staff behind the bar in 'The Wave' were quite rude and acted as if everything was too much trouble for them. No wonder tourism isn't thriving in this country if this is the type of service you can expect. It's a shame, because this building was obviously a beautiful place when it was in it's prime. Someone needs to spend a considerable amount of money here to bring it up to a respectable standard. Definitely one to avoid unless it gets a great deal of refurbishment! The rooms were terribly hot and you need to be able to keep the window open, but then you get disturbed during the night by the seagulls.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with good windows that close properly as the seagulls make a dreadful noise particula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamalSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

durham
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I very recently enjoyed a short stay at the Adelphi Hotel in Liverpool, the room i had was spotlessly clean although a touch of TLC would not go amiss. The hotel itself is a beautiful building and completely spotless. I had breakfast and evening meals and i found the food was excellent, the menu was varied and there was something for every one. The Adelphi is situated in the centre of Liverpool and all amenities were close at hand, I would not hesitate in visiting this hotel again as my stay was very enjoyable.
P.S. I have not received my badge.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor and found it very quiet, there are 3 lifts in use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sylvia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We were visting Liverpool for the "Giants" weekend and chose to stay at the Adelphi as the hotel description said 'recently refurbished' If that was true, I'd hate to have seen it before! It was so sad to see this beautiful building with marble walls and floors, fabulous chandeliers and gorgeous wood panelled walls in such a sad state. Our room was tiny with only an internal window which didn't open. The air con was broken as was the TV. I asked to move as it was like an oven and as they were full, we moved the next day. This room was very large with high ceilings with an original marble sink with Victorian taps and seperate bathroom. The window only opened about 4 inches due to so many layers of paint. Only secondary double glazing so it didn't keep out the noise from the Irish bar opposite which closed at 3am!! I felt sorry for the staff, they must get complaints all the time. So much chipped paint and badly repainted doors. It's saving grace was the spotlessly clean bed linen and towels.
It made me very sad to see this grand old lady in such a state. It has 11 function rooms! Britannia Hotels should seriously throw a lot of money at the Adelphi and bring her back to her former glory as a luxury hotel. It's location can't be beaten.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room. Not a pretty outlook but may be quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I attended a lovely wedding here and the room was set up lovely and the food was very nice. The problem was there were 2 other receptions at the same time and we were all using the same bathroom. This would've been ok except from the fact that the toilets ran out of paper half way through the night and the toilets were not kept clean. When I reported it to reception, she just stared at me like I was a nuisance and said 'we have been filling it up'. She was obviously too busy with not enough staff to keep doing it. I'd suggest on a night with 3 weddings they need a toilet attendant. They obviously make a lot of money from them so cleanliness and toilet paper is a basic. Our bar was also not set up properly as they didn't have any limes for the corona and they just stocked the fridge so the beer was warm. Paying a lot of money for a beer I'd expect it to be cold and in an establishment like the Adelphi I'd expect drinks to be served correctly. Quality is important! When the food was served, although it was very nice, they didn't have an order. So some people were waiting for veg or potatoes, while some had full plates. The staff who were serving should've followed each other so no one was waiting. Overall it was a very nice night and it is a good location for a wedding. They just need to tighten up a few basics that would help the flow of the evening!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelly12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Rooms ok but food dont for ethnic minorities. Some staff have the wrong attitude for this type of job . Wont be visiting again. Put a request for halal meat and totaly denied that we had even tho we had proof. !!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The room we had 519, was in terrible state and I am sorry I did not complain at the time. The window, such as it was, was plastered with bird droppings,the wall paper was torn and had looked as though it had been sprayed with fake tan, under the beds and furniture had not seen a vacuum for some time. The wedding reception we attended was first class, no complaints at all. And the breakfast was reasonable except for the sausage and bacon being very poor quality. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank derekeaves2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,060 reviews
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#22 of 97 in Liverpool
4,731 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel & Spa

Property: Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Address: Ranelagh Place, Liverpool L3 5UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adelphi Hotel & Spa is a stunning Edwardian style Hotel in Central Liverpool. The grand building is rich in history and is just 3 minutes walk from Liverpool Lime Street and is close to many Liverpool attractions. The hotel offers a Spindles Health & Leisure Club which includes an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and gym. They also have two restaurants, residents bar and Wave Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adelphi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Adelphi Liverpool
Adelphi Hotel Liverpool
Hotel Britannia Adelphi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing