We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great short break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adelphi Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #72 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Arrived on coach trip feeling a bit wary after reading reviews. Could not fault our stay from start to finish. Nice clean room lovely buffet food with huge choice and friendly staff. Day we arrived there were 12 coaches booked in and everything seemed to run smoothly. Slight problem getting a lift down with luggage on the morning we left as so many coach loads were checking out but a little bit of patience and we were on our way with many happy memories.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 0EHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    1,423
    1,241
    862
    1,293
See reviews for
649
2,069
272
476
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,475)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

My husband in a wheel chair and stair lift to restaurant out of order.Problem? No, not for staff here! On arrival the manager took my husband up to the room via a staff lift, while I signed in and took the normal lift. He also came back for us when we were due to go to the theatre and was there to help when we returned (even though his shift had finished!) Staff escorted us to the restaurant for breakfast and evening meal and when we entered or left the hotel. The room was perfect for wheelchair use . Wide doors and wet room, and extra wide bed. Food was delicious and hot! All in all a very enjoyable break. Even more so for me as I am my husband's carer!

Room Tip: If you're a wheelchair user they will look after you. Only a few rooms but very good facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoSmith2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Arrived and checked in very quickly, the first room we arrived in had not been cleaned yet, returned to reception, and they apologised and arranged another room, given M5 in the basement, but my pregnant girlfriend didn't want to tackle the stairs down to it. Returned to reception who very quickly gave us a third room, the porter ran up to double check everything was ok for us, which was great customer service and resolved our problems. The room is oldie worldie, but it's 100 years old, If you want modern and boring, book a travel lodge on the side of the motorway. The huge ball room is amazing. We Sat and had coffee and soaked in the history in the relaxing chairs. Great location for the city, shopping, pubs, Liverpool one and the carven are a short walk away. Would love to wonder the hotel corridors and stairwells. The power shower in room 414 was brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here for the weekend, hotel rooms very dated and damp, musty smell. Shower ok and facilities ok. Meals were really good and plentiful, a good choice menu. Bar (99p) was ok, good D J and music, rest of hotel seemed nice

We went to the Cavern where the Beatles used to play, amd round the Albert Docks, Liverpool is great for shopping and sightseeing, people are really friendly and helpful.

Would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Not sure if there are any really unless it`s a Honeymoon Suite. They do have quite a few wedding par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

On arrival at check-in we were offered an upgrade to a spacious room with Jacuzzi for a supplement of £GBP21 per night to which we agreed as we were told our standard double room was not ready although we had advised our arrival time. The room (M015) was very spacious bit with a small very dirty window, the bathroom was spacious but a bit "rough and ready" in the décor department. We were tired when we arrived and so not too observant but had we noticed all this we would have gone for a standard double. We complained about the state of the room and the inadequate ventilation. After two phone calls we got a fan.

The best thing about the hotel is the breakfast. At checkout we had half the supplement refunded after our complaint. We booked through Booking.com and the price wqe paid had very little discount on the rack rate.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel as you can get a better quality hotel for thee same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil_Beckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Beautiful hotel but tired and in need of some paint and new carpets. The staff were great I asked for a fan as we were on the top floor it arrived in 10 mins. The bedding was clean as were the towels. Just the run down state of the place lets it down. Food was good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed with a group of girl friends for a weekend of shopping and clubbing.
The hotel foyer is elegant from a bygone era. The rooms are very dated, grubby and need a coat of paint and replacement of beds. The mattress had a large hole and was very grubby.
Awoken by housekeeping at 8.00am, not what you expect on a Sunday morning!!!
Food is of a poor standard, a set meal for a tribute night consisted of frozen vegetables including roast potatoes, even the profiteroles were cheap frozen versions. As for breakfast, standing, in a queue for 25min only to discover dirty tables and surly staff. Food was buffet style with choice of continental or full English. This was an improvement on the evening meal but only slightly. Trying to get a cup of tea was almost impossible as it seemed to be understaffed in the dining room.
The plus point is the location of the hotel as it is perfect for shopping, sightseeing and clubbing.
Overall expensive for what you get!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Smokief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,785 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Central Liverpool
Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#24 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,339 reviews
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel & Spa

Property: Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Address: Ranelagh Place, Liverpool L3 5UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adelphi Hotel & Spa is a stunning Edwardian style Hotel in Central Liverpool. The grand building is rich in history and is just 3 minutes walk from Liverpool Lime Street and is close to many Liverpool attractions. The hotel offers a Spindles Health & Leisure Club which includes an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and gym. They also have two restaurants, residents bar and Wave Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Adelphi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Adelphi Liverpool
Adelphi Hotel Liverpool
Hotel Britannia Adelphi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing