We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,829)
Filter reviews
6,829 results
Traveller rating
729
1,645
1,516
1,120
1,819
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
729
1,645
1,516
1,120
1,819
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
783 - 788 of 6,829 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

This is the second year we have spent a weekend at the Adelphi as part of Project Noel.
Our room on the 6th floor was adequate but tired. The bed was clean and comfortable. The decorations need tidying and we were disappointed that this was a smoking permitted room. Whilst our room did not smell the odour in the corridor was very noticeable. We would like to have been made aware of this when we checked in.
Food in the restaurant is average but passable. Breakfast is busy and kitchen staff keep food well stocked however the standard of sausage is very poor and I couldn't eat more than one mouthful!
Yes we stayed for an extremely affordable rate and will return however a few simple improvements would make the stay even more agreeable.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank NickJoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsBH, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thank you for posting a good review of our Adelphi Hotel on Trip Advisor and thank you for suggesting ways we could improve. I will ensure that these recommendations are passed to the hotel manager for him to look into. I am however, glad that you had an overall enjoyable stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. For the best available deals please call our sales centre on 0871 222 0029

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

OK, this place has its quirks but I don't hesitate to give it five stars. It is prominently positioned and central for access to shopping, transport and museums/galleries. It has authentic historical charm. The corridors are wide and the bedrooms big. It is not expensive. The food in the restaurant (for breakfast) was great. What is not to love about this place for the real traveller who can forgive, indeed embrace its idiosyncrasies?

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Rod G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsBH, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. As a company we are always delighted to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and have checked-out happy. I look forward to welcoming you back to our Adelphi Hotel in the future. For the best available deals please call our sales centre on 0871 222 0029

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

Staff try hard and the place has something about it....but...it needs a lot of work on it and important matters like breakfast are not organised properly. The doorstaff at night were ignorant and even provocative and not the sort of people who should be doing that sort of work.

Room Tip: Go for as expensive as you can afford
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jonathon2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsBH, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to learn of the concerns you had while staying with us, especially in regards to the doorstaff. I will ensure to make the hotel aware of these concerns so they can look into them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

This was our third stay at the Adelphi. We booked a last minute deal for just £37, with on site parking for an extra £12. Very good location, and within walking distance of shops, theatres etc. If you like everything to be 'just so' then don't stay at this hotel. the bedrooms are very dated & in need of tlc. However, we do enjoy staying here, as we adore the quirkyness of this old & grand hotel. It really is like stepping back in time! Bedroom furniture is old, scratched and dated. On the plus side, we have always found our room to be spotlessly clean, with nice fresh bedding & towels. Water was piping hot in the bathroom which is always a big plus, although the taps did seem to have a mind of their own, and the water came out backwards, before eventually getting into the sink. The grand dining room at the Adelphi is truly spectacular, with it's beautiful marble pillars & huge ceilings! . We had afternoon tea in there as a treat for my birthday, and it was very good! Staff are all friendly & helpful, although they did seem to be dealing with alot of complaints. Don't expect perfection if you stay here. Instead, enjoy the history of this lovely old hotel, and embrace it's quirkyness!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lilelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsBH, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your time spent at our Adelphi Hotel, despite the concerns you mention. The hotel will receive a copy of your feedback so they can look into rectifying these issues. I look forward to welcoming you back to our Adelphi Hotel in the future. For the best available deals please call our sales centre on 0871 222 0029

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

Check in was quick. £12 per night for parking. Arrived on floor 3. Carpet, walls, doors, everything is dated and in desperate need for renovation. The room was slightly shocking for the cost. Outdated furniture. Scuffs on walls, bathroom was also shocking. Although the shower was great. Left a puddle on side of bath so must be a leak somewhere. The lifts were slow buy it is a big hotel. Had good at the cocktail bar. The food was great. Wine glasses again outdated 70's crystal small things. Argh.
Bad points. Totally outdated, scruffy and desperate for renovation. So many people at reception asking to move rooms. Everywhere needs a deep clean. Some doors were broken, floors in front of lifts still dirty. It needs a complete revamp. Also all smokers congregate right outside the main doors and wont move when you are trudging along with suitcases and bags. Disgusting having to go through their cigarette smoke.
Good points. Staff were pleasant. Cleaners pleasant, my bed and room cleaed each day. The shower was itself was great. Loved the pillows and duvet. Tv worked and location is great for main street shops. I had floor 3 first week. 2nd week i had a room on floor 5. This room was a huge improvement!! Ask for level 5.
It needs to be gutted and renovated to be back in the 21st C. But keep the staff. Would i go back? Yes, on business as work pays.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank SnifferDogBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsBH, Guest Relations Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review an overall good and honest review. I am glad that you enjoyed your time in our hotel, despite the concerns you mention. I will of course pass these over to the management team at the hotel for them to review. I am glad however, that despite these concerns, you would return to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews