We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel, full of character, splendid architecture and ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #75 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Stayed at the Adelphifor 1 night just before Xmas.

The reception staff were professional polite & extremely helpful.

The room we were in was very nice - wood panelled walls, chandeliers, sitting are, comfy couch and a lovely jacuzzi bath.

Fabulous hotel, full of charm and character - not a modern 'shoe box; hotel with identikit rooms. This has marble, stunning architecture and the odd creaky floor board.

Saturday morning breakfast was a bit of an issue - everyone arrives at 09.00 so its a bit of a queue.

All in all a lovely place to spend the night at :-)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,090 - 5,096 of 5,925 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2010

The adelphi is in real need of a total refurbishment!! The wallpaper is probably as old as the hotel, the furniture is old and mix matched. Nothing Vintage about this hotel apart from the ballroom area with chanderliers, but again could look amazing with a good refurbishment. Bedrooms, dont get me started.. there were 2 sinks in the bedroom, seperate from the bathroom, didnt see the need in them?? the furniture again was completely mix matched, with an old portable tele on a old wooden table. a glass table which was covered in dust,and the beds were an inch thick... not what you expect for one of the most famous hotels in liverpool. the bathroom was big but looked like a hospital bathroom, everything white but looked really dated... There are many other hotels in Liverpool cheaper and alot better than the adelphi.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Struth_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager12, General Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2010

Many thanks for sharing the feedback. The Adelphi Hotel is a listed building with many original features in the hotel and the bedrooms. I understand that you were staying in one of our large Edwardian bedrooms. As you are from Liverpool we provide guided tours through the hotel to make people understand certain features. Once again thank you for your feedback which is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

We have just returned from the Adelphi and Liverpool and have had a great time, we were apprehensive after some reviews but it is a lovely old hotel, yes a bit weary but it is full of character. Lovely old large rooms clean and warm, food at party lovely, service good , friendly, also at bars. Check in good, cheap drinks £1.50p John Smiths at happy hour!!! Not like some hotels. Great location!
Excellent Beatles tribute band , also solo singer and disco good, party atmosphere great .
Liverpool is a great place, great nightlife, shopping excellent,cheap eating out.
friendly people, visited the Cavern Club! cant wait to go back to hotel and city.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager12, General Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2010

Thank you for taking the trouble to give them this feedback. We are pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

I always stay here when visiting Liverpool. The room quality leaves a lot to be desired, but if you like to stay somewhere historic this is a great choice - splendid ballroom where you can sit for a late night drink

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanieChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager12, General Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2010

We appreciate the time and trouble you have taken to give us feedback on your recent stay in our hotel. I am pleased to learn that certain aspects of your stay met your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

Stayed at the Adelphi for 2 nights 30th november/1st of december travelling with national holidays, can't fault the service and quality of food and the location is ideal for the shops and the pub life, only down fall was the room, we had requested a twin room and ended up with 2 single beds that were pushed together and not very comfortable at all. the cleanliness of the room left a lot to be desired, i would say it was the most un-clean room we have ever stayed in. the skirting boards around the room were thick of dust and the dado rails in the same condition on closer inspection numerous splash marks of god knows what around the walls and woodwork and underneath the toilet seat looked like it hadn't been cleaned for a long time. I realise the Hotel is very old but the rooms really need a good overhauling. we were on the 6th floor and at times getting down to the ground by the lifts was almost impossible, it would start going down and get to the 2nd floor then go back up if someone else called it then back down then back up many times before eventually arriving at the ground level, you are better off walking down and only getting the lift up.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gooner2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager12, General Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2010

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at the Adelphi Hotel, from which I read your comments with interest and concern.
I was sorry to read your comments and feel that it is a complete shame that you did not contact our reception or the Duty Manager to enable us to sort out any issues you experienced immediately as an alternative room could have been arranged for you.
Thank you again for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Living on it's history, needs some serious investment. All is not as it seems.. .not as described on website, very shabby room. Leaking taps, large chunks of grout missing from tiles around bath and sink and no hot water! Very poor bed settee instead of single bed as advertised. Dingy decor.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bryana57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager12, General Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2010

Thank you for your comments about our hotel. All feedback, positive or negative is greatly received as we are continuously striving to improve all aspects of the hotels offerings. Many thanks and please accept our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Beautiful building with magnificent public rooms. The bedrooms are very spacious with original fixtures, very comoftrable bed and plenty of storage space. The only thing we complained about was the lack of any heating in the room. The radiator didnt work and for two nights we only had tepid water. After two nights of promising to sort the problem a maintenance man finally appeared turned a knob and announced that the radiator was broken (we had previously been told that we could not have a portable heater for health and safety reasons) but he very kindly said he would get us a portable one and said take no notice of all that health and safety nonsense! The water temp was fixed on the 2nd night and then was dangerously hot hahaha!!!
They did concede and reduced our bill by 10% but not much fun on the coldest November for a number of years. I would stay at the Adelphi again, great location but would make sure that all was well before moving in.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anniedJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelphimanager12, General Manager at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2010

Thank you for taking the time & trouble to provide your feedback on your stays at the Adelphi Hotel Liverpool, giving many positive reasons to stay with us whilst visiting Liverpool. Regarding the cold please accept my apology. The hotel has invested in a state-of-the-art digital heating system which unfortunately failed us on this occation due to a reduction of gas pressure in the surrounding area which was reported in the local press. Please contact me personally when you intend to stay at the hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,189 reviews
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#23 of 98 in Liverpool
4,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#22 of 98 in Liverpool
1,838 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 98 in Liverpool
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel & Spa

Address: Ranelagh Place, Liverpool L3 5UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range: £39 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adelphi Hotel & Spa is a stunning Edwardian style Hotel in Central Liverpool. The grand building is rich in history and is just 3 minutes walk from Liverpool Lime Street and is close to many Liverpool attractions. The hotel offers a Spindles Health & Leisure Club which includes an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and gym. They also have two restaurants, residents bar and Wave Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Adelphi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Adelphi Liverpool
Adelphi Hotel Liverpool
Hotel Britannia Adelphi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing