We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Ranked #44 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“weekend away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Our first stay at this hotel and would certainly stay again, we found the staff very friendly and polite. Not being a lover of buffet breakfasts I must say that the one hear was the best I have had, The room was on the tenth floor and did not expect the windows to open as being so high up but the air con was fine, Had a lovely meal on Friday evening with all our friends in the Vu Bar and after a few drinks, a dance, and a chat retired to our room to a nice comfy bed on which we had a good nights sleep. Would certainly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABR1, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Jack b,
Thanks so much for your five star review!
Delighted to read about your stay and in particular the positive comments you made about the team.
Much appreciated and hope to see you back again soon.

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    777
    382
    141
    77
See reviews for
212
892
83
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, Isle of Man
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend for a weekend shopping trip and it was great!

We arrived quite early and we were unable to check in but the hotel reception were really friendly and helpful and let us put our bags in a safe room until we were able to go to our hotel room!

The location of the hotel was really good for us, not in the centre amongst the hustle and bustle but a mere 5 minute walk and right on the docks so was lovely to walk around in the evening!

The room was really big and had lots of light pouring in through the massive window, although there wasn't much of a view we weren't there apart from at night so it didn't really matter! The bed was extremely comfortable and there room had the all the facilities you would need for a couple of nights stay!

We had the complimentary breakfast and there was a good selection of hot and cold food to chose from! It was really busy but the staff were extremely courteous and saw to us as quick as they could!

Would stay here again without a doubt and would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda_IsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABR1, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Amanda,

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted that you had such a positive experience and that you would recommend the hotel to anyone. As you pointed out, it was a very busty weekend, but it’s great to see that the team were able to pull it off and continued to be friendly and helpful.
Thanks again for the lovely comments and hope to see you back in Liverpool soon.

Best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Our first visit to Liverpool, we found a good deal at the Atlantic Tower for dinner,bed & breakfast with a bottle of bubbly. Hotel is in a great location for the tourist spots, we had a top floor room with a fantastic view over looking Liver buildings & Mersey, the room was well equipped with trouser press, iron etc, But the room was rather hot and had no opening windows only air con. Dinner in the restaurant was very good & served by friendly local staff, Breakfast buffet style all fresh, well cooked & presented.lovely view from restaurant over looking the Mersey. All in all a reasonably priced well positioned friendly hotel & would definetly recommend & revisit

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor overlooking the Mersey
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank argyle089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABR1, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your kind review, and great to hear you would revisit and recommend us. I hear your point regarding the fact that the windows do not open, though on the 12th floor from a health and safety perspective we feel best to keep it that way. The air conditioning should be effective enough to adjust the temperature as required.
Your comments about the team are much appreciated and I do hope to see you back in the hotel soon.

With best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Having booked this hotel with 2 weeks notice. On arriving we were given a room. Our excitement didn't last long as on entering the room and finding a lovely pair of underpants on the bed and worn out shoes, along with a worn out suitcase, the only thing missing was a couple in the bed.
Returning to reception, throwing the underpants on the counter we asked for the manager, who took a long time coming to deal with us. We made our exit on the poor service they gave.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Shelagh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Shelagh E,

Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. I am sorry about the mix up with your room allocation. I have been advised by my team this morning that over the weekend there was a problem with our system, which meant that Rooms allocated were changed without the intervention of the team. This meant that you were on arrival given the key to an already allocated room. Rest assured this problem is receiving the focus of our IT department to ensure it does not happen in future. I understand that you were offered an alternative room when you brought the matter to my team’s attention, but declined. We are keen to ensure that if there are any problems during our guest’s stay, that we resolve them as quickly as possible. This was truly a matter of a system error. The room you were given had been fully serviced, but was allocated to another guest earlier in the day. The system fault meant that this was not evident to the receptionist when you checked in. Rest assured had you given us the opportunity to resolve the matter we would quickly have found an alternative room and made some gestures to make amends.
In addition, we are scrutinising the fault to understand fully how it happened and putting preventative measures in place for the future.
With best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Our room looked onto the Liver building and the mersey giving a fabulous view..It was well above the traffic so noise wasn't a problem. the location of the hotel is great for exploring the famous sights near the Docks.. We travelled by train and the hotel is a resonable stroll from the station. I cannot comment on parking.

The room was not overlarge but was well equipped and had recently been refurbished... Overall we would visit again.

Room Tip: you need to get one overlooking the Liver building for the best views..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Steve g,
Thanks very much for your kind review and for taking the time to post your comments online.
I hope to see you back in the hotel next time you visit Liverpool.

With best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Location of this hotel is very good for the city centre. However, unless you get one of the apparantly modernised rooms, you are better of elsewhere.
I asked for a quiet room, regardless of view. The room given is on the tenth floor was tiny, overlooking the front of the hotel and main road. It is not double glazed so traffic noise was loud.
Windows do not open at all so had to use the ancient A/C unit on the wall. This was unbelievably noisy and rattled so much it prevented sleep, so had remove the duvet from the cover to be able to sleep in a stuffy room.
As noted by other reviewers, walls as paper thin and I had the unusual experience of being woken by snoring from next door and having to find ear plugs!
The bed consisted of two parts pushed together with a ridge down the middle and pillows are without doubt the worst I have ever encountered in a hotel. Small and rock hard they did nothing to help a bad night.
Bathroom is so small as to make movement difficult and fittings tired and dated. Weak, old shower over the bath.
It may well be that in the updated rooms all is well but this was not even close to a three star experience and certainly not four star.
Once again there is no free wifi in the rooms. This does seem to be the new means of hotels getting some extra cash from guests. Even the Premier Inn gives half an hour free per day.
Thankfully I got a cheap rate online having booked some time ahead, but would have been furious to have paid even close to the rack rate for this experience. However, having moved after one night at the much better and same price Hampton by Hilton, with a same day booking, at 3am was wishing I had stayed.
Staff at reception are helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SchleebyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear SchleebyM,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on line.

I was sorry to read of the points you raised regarding your room. My team had allocated a room on the 10th floor for you, which is sufficiently high to ordinarily prevent any issues with traffic noise.
I understand that there were alternative rooms offered to you, but regrettably you chose to book out.
We do charge for WIFI, but only at the same rates that our service provider charges the hotel, so in fact we make a small loss once any queries are deducted. We are looking at a new pricing policy for Wi-Fi once our service contract comes to an end, and in the meantime our Signature Loyalty program does give some limited free Wi-Fi access as a member benefit.
Thanks again for your comments, and I do hope at some point we can welcome you back to the hotel.
With best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in.

The deign of the hotel is quite different, and as the hotel is a tower, my room was part of the curve of the tower,

The room was lovely, large widescreen TV on the wall, leather bed with small sofa and private bathroom.

The hotel is non smoking, however, the smoking balcony on the 2nd floor is vast and has lovely views of the church to the side and the River Mersey,

You do get weddings here, so if you do not want to be seeing crowds of people, might be an idea to check to make sure before booking if you're wanting a quiet weekend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Bailey H,

Thank you so much for your review. I am delighted that we made it to the top of the list of hotels you have stayed in! It’s great that you took the time to spread the word!
We are a great venue for Weddings and private events, especially with the location and great views you described, and at weekends it certainly adds to the buzz around the hotel. We do have lots of alternative space that can be used if there is a need to find some quiet space too!
Hope to see you back in Liverpool soon.

Many thanks,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#19 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel

Property: Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Address: Chapel Street, Liverpool L3 9RE, England (Formerly The Atlantic Tower Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#20 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#29 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#29 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the River Mersey, The Mercure Atlantic Tower Hotel, is the ideal place to discover the great city of Liverpool. Overlooking the Royal Liver Building and the Dock Front - a UNESCO World Heritage Site - The Atlantic Tower Hotel is a welcoming, contemporary hotel in the heart of Liverpool, within walking distance to the Beatles Story museum, Tate Liverpool and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Tower, Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Atlantic Hotel By Thistle Liverpool
Thistle Hotel Liverpool
Thistle Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing