We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Mersey view :( x”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Ranked #41 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night as we were going to see Mrs Brown at the Echo Arena. It was a nice clean room. The terrace bar is on the second floor you can take great pics of the liver buildings and the Mersey. I would recommend to anyone. We had a nice relaxed stay. One word of advice is to ask for a room with a Mersey view when you book, we unfortunately didn't and I was disappointed to find that our view was the adjacent offices :(

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodieLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABR1, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear foodieLiverpool,

Many thanks for your comments. Our View rooms are available at a small supplement and are certainly well worth it, however I am sorry that there was not one avaialable during your stay.
It looks like you had a good overall stay though. And I hope you enjoyed the event at the Echo Arena.
Hope to see you next time your in town and we will try to ensure that a View room is allocated to you.
Best regards,

Alistair Risk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,469 - 1,475 of 2,307 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

The hotel is well situated, within about 5-7 minute walk to Liverpool One, and with great view of the Liver Building & The Mersey. Room very small, bathroom too. Not a problem for an overnight stay, but wouldn't have liked to be there for a few days with a lot of luggage. Room key very temperamental. Breakfast good, but could have done with toast & tea being served rather than coping with the dreaded toasting machine & stewed tea. Was looking forward to the views from the bar, but the windows were filthy. Staff all very helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEM3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABR1, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear JEM3333,

Thank you for your review.
I am pleased that overall you had a good overnight stay, but have noted your comments regarding the bar windows and the service of toast rather than self service.
We do have a regular window cleaning schedule in place, but I have shared your comments with the contractor and our housekeeping team.
The toast can be served on request, and in fact on quieter days we do tend to offer this service, but most certainly will consider how we communicate this better.
Thanks again for taking the time to share your comments which is very helpful.
Best regards,

Alistair Risk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Don't often write reviews but thought this hotel deserves it, stayed here at the weekend all I can say if going to Liverpool I would recommend this hotel great view of the liver building , staff couldn't have been nicer, breakfast yum !!!! First class.

Room Tip: Choose with view of liver building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABR1, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear gaz55,

Thanks for your comments which are short but very sweet!
Really much appreciated.
Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Alistair Risk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed in this classic Liverpool waterfront hotel over the weekend of 16th Nov 2013. The hotel is a Gem. Very unique as it is based on a ships prow, this gives it interest and shape unlike the modern day IKEA hotel boxes from most of the chains.
The decor is modern classic, very clean and welcoming. The best bit though is the staff. Everyone we spoke to was just so helpful and happy to have us in the hotel. Drinks in the bar - both early and late! and breakfast was very good quality and good value. All in all a great stay, thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room over looking the Liver building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hosp-Ex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABR1, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Hosp-Ex,

Well thank you for such a wonderful review. I really couldn’t have put it better myself!
The unique nature of the hotel adds a certain charm and of course this is very much cemented by my great largely local team.
I am so pleased that your experience really got to the heart of the hotel, and I am very grateful that you took the time to post it online.
I do hope to see you next time you are in town.
With best regards,

Alistair Risk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The hotel is well sited in the City Centre, 5 to 10 minute walk to Liverpool One shopping complex and about 15 minutes to Albert Dock. Received an early checkin at around 1030hrs which was very convenient by a friendly and professional receptionist. The room was compact, as was the bathroom but well appointed and spotlessly clean. Stayed three nights and the room was serviced to a high standard each day. The restaurant has a nice view of the Mersey and the breakfast was varied, plentiful and very tasty. Didn't use the bar as there are so many restaurants and bars to visit. All in all a good visitor experience.

Liverpool was a great city to visit with many attractions and loads of offers for food and drinks.

The Millar and Carter restaurant at Albert Dock is excellent, especially for steaks, as is Browns at Liverpool One for cocktails.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anhydras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABR1, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Smartknot,

Many thanks for your comments which are much appreciated.
I am pleased you had a good stay and found the room ton be of a good standard and enjoyed our breakfast experience.
Looks like you made the most of your trip and checked out much of this great City of ours.
Hope to see you next time your back in town.
Best regards,

Alistair Risk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

The Thistle hotel was nicer that we expected, bosting nice morden bathroon, nice cosy rooms and magnificent views of the city and the dock area. Offers convenience due to its location, great dining facilities and staff is friendly.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank TravellerExtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABR1, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear TravellerExtr,

Thank you so much for your review, and I am delighted we exceeded your expectations.
We are blessed with unique, fabulous views and I am pleased you made the most of it.
Hope to see you back at the hotel next time you are in town.
Best Regards,

Alistair Risk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Enjoyed our stay. Paid £72 for b&b for two adults on a Friday. Reception staff were friendly and location is facing the liver buildings and the Mersey. 5 minutes walk from Mathews street and Liverpool 1. We also enjoyed a steak Dinner at the hotel restaurant we again had friendly attentive service staff and most importantly great food 'steaks' with real rusty chips.. I chose the scallops for starters which were perfectly cooked the hotel also accepted taste card which got us 50% off the food! I would come back!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graylinghunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABR1, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Graylinghunter,

Thanks for your kind comments and I am so pleased you had a good stay and enjoyed the dining options too!
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Best regards,

Alistair Risk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 98 in Liverpool
2,506 reviews
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#24 of 98 in Liverpool
1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel

Address: Chapel Street, Liverpool L3 9RE, England (Formerly The Atlantic Tower Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#20 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#29 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#29 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £55 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the River Mersey, The Mercure Atlantic Tower Hotel, is the ideal place to discover the great city of Liverpool. Overlooking the Royal Liver Building and the Dock Front - a UNESCO World Heritage Site - The Atlantic Tower Hotel is a welcoming, contemporary hotel in the heart of Liverpool, within walking distance to the Beatles Story museum, Tate Liverpool and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Tower, Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Atlantic Hotel By Thistle Liverpool
Thistle Hotel Liverpool
Thistle Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing