We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sightseeing in Liverpool” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Ranked #44 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sightseeing in Liverpool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

The thistle hotel was great. All the staff were very helpful and went out of the way to make our stay enjoyable. The food in the hotel was super and when another diner complained about the steak the staff handled it so well I was really impressed. The location was superb right at the side of the Mersey and just near the ferry crossing. The rooms were a little on the small side but all other aspects of the hotel more than compensated for this. They were well decorated and very clean. Wonderful visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Angela R

Thank you so much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear you found the hotel wonderful and a great base for sightseeing in Liverpool .It is also pleasing to receive super comments about the staff, who are always our greatest asset I hope we can welcome you back for more wonderful visits.
Best regards

Jonathen Marsden
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    765
    375
    139
    77
See reviews for
207
878
82
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great location and, to be fair, the view of the iconic Liverbird Building was fantastic but the twin room was so small there was barely enough space to use the ironing board or move around without getting in each-others way. The hotel wifi system is infuriating (we both gave up after repeated attempts to register) and the tv remote next to useless. I just don't feel it offers value when compared to some of the other hotels in the same area e.g. Days Inn which is closer to Liverpool One and Albert Dock

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craicpipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear cracpipe,

I am sorry to hear you experienced a few problems at the hotel. You don’t mention in your review if you asked any member of the team for assistance. I sympathise not having access to the FREE Wi-Fi or the TV can be so frustrating but are relatively simple to fix. We want guests to have a great experience and if you are unhappy about anything, we would always encourage guests to speak with us at the time so we can rectify. Our room types are all shown on our virtual website including our Executive rooms which are larger. Being a full service hotel we are able to offer more than just a bedroom and are only 10 min’s from Liverpool One and the Albert Dock.
I would love to for you to give us another try if you are next in Liverpool please contact either myself or Nikki Palmer Relationship Manager.
Best Regards,

Jonathen Marsden
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights over Easter and had a fantastic time. Reception staff on arrival very friendly, in fact staff throughout the hotel couldn't have been nicer. Had booked a room with a view and what a view it was! Overlooking the Mersey we could see right along the water with the boats all going in and out. Room was very clean (as was the rest of the hotel) and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and plenty of it. Would definitely recommend this hotel and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank statusquo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Statusquo08

I am delighted you had a fantastic time at the Thistle Atlantic Tower. It is great to hear that the service, staff friendliness, room and breakfast were just what you needed for a great break. Thanks for the recommendation and hopefully we can welcome you back shortly.

Best regards

Jonathen Marsden
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I went to watch a music gig at the Echo Arena on a Saturday evening and stayed at the Thistle through a booking made on Last Minute.com.

The cost was a little pricey, however this was expected due to it being a Bank Holiday Easter weekend, so I was prepared to pay a little extra. We arrived around 25 minutes earlier than check in time, but the staff were very friendly and were able to get us checked in within 5 minutes. My only complaint would be the lifts are a little slow getting to the ground floor, but nothing to destroy my weekend.

Me and my Girlfriend went to Liverpool One for some food before the concert and that was within a 5 minute walk. Also a handy Tesco Extra on the way back, to pick up some cheeky cocktails!! If you can, get a room with a sea view, the sunset on Queens Dock is awesome!!!

Also ordered room service around 11:30pm and was with us within 15 minutes, and it was tasty! Really enjoyed my stay here and would definitely return someday. Thanks to the staff here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Jack G
Thanks for your review on Tripadvisor, it is always lovely to get good feedback. The views are great from the room and quick room service is always important when you have the late night munchies, glad you enjoyed it. There was a fault with one of our lifts but this has been rectified. The hotel is ideally placed for guests visiting the Echo Arena, I hope you had fun at the music gig and we would love for you to choose us again for the next return visit.

Best regards

Jonathen Marsden
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed here with my wife for the one night. Great location, near to Albert Dock and Liverpool One. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and tidy. Our room had a great view of the Mersey and the Liver Building. For a city centre hotel this was good value. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Steve G
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were well looked after by the team. I too agree, our location is great for exploring the City.Thanks for the review . We would love to welcome you back soon.
Best regards

Jonathen Marsden
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

This was our second weekend stay in 4months. This hotel has a 5star feel and service for a 3star price. Ideal location, great terrace bar, great for football weekends, stag/hen or family or romantic getaways, Ask for river view you wont be disaspointed. 5*****

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Craig S

Thank you for sharing about your fabulous stay on trip advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your second visit just as much and we look forward to welcoming you back on many more stays in the future.

Best regards

Jonathen Marsden
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a Thomas Cook sports package on the 5th April 2014. As it was through Thomas Cook it was probably a bit more expensive than it would have been had I booked it myself, however I thought it was well worth every penny we paid. Location wise the hotel is ideal for the Albert Docks and a short walk to Liverpool One and lots of pubs and nightclubs. We had a twin room and it was excellent with a fantastic view of the Liver Building from our room window. The room was spotless. Finally the staff were first class from those on reception to the restaurant and cleaning staff. All had smiles on their faces and couldn't have been nicer. We had a brilliant weekend in Liverpool and would definitely stay in the Thistle hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear AMM77,

Thank you very much for the delightful words about the hotel and team. It is always rewarding for the staff to receive great comments from guests. I am pleased you found the location perfect and your room excellent and I trust the match result was worth celebrating too. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon for another wonderful weekend.

Best regards

Jonathen Marsden
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Heywood House Hotel
#15 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel

Property: Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Address: Chapel Street, Liverpool L3 9RE, England (Formerly The Atlantic Tower Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#20 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#29 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#29 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the River Mersey, The Mercure Atlantic Tower Hotel, is the ideal place to discover the great city of Liverpool. Overlooking the Royal Liver Building and the Dock Front - a UNESCO World Heritage Site - The Atlantic Tower Hotel is a welcoming, contemporary hotel in the heart of Liverpool, within walking distance to the Beatles Story museum, Tate Liverpool and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Tower, Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Atlantic Hotel By Thistle Liverpool
Thistle Hotel Liverpool
Thistle Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing