We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Ranked #44 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We only stayed for 1 night here and were very satisfied with this hotel. We had a basic standard room which was very clean, comfortable and everything you would need for a short stay, we had a great view of the Liver birds and Mersey and had a peaceful comfortable nights sleep,breakfast was included in the rate and it was very good. The staff were all helpful and very friendly and its in a great position to walk to shops and bars.
Our second visit to Liverpool and had a great time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taxigirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear taxigirl 06
I am so pleased you choose our hotel again for your 2nd visit to Liverpool. I am fortunate to work with a super team who enjoy making guests stays excellent, so it is always lovely to share great comments with the team. Thanks so much for your review.

Best regards

Jonathen Marsden
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    826
    401
    147
    80
See reviews for
231
958
87
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Amazing view of the Liver birds and a good location - easy walk to Liverpool one, docks and cavern club. It provided exactly what we (a young couple) needed for a 2 night stay.
We really enjoyed our stay. Parking is simple and the cheapest for 24 hours.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Jennie A

Thank you so much for your lovely comments on Tripadvisor. I think we can appeal to all age groups because of our location …Liverpool has so much to offer that you are never far from the shops, business district and famous places and of course the Liver Building is just across the road. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you back with us soon.
Best regards,

Jonathen Marsden
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Got a cracking deal including evening meal - with a complimentary executive room upgrade that had a fantastic view of the Mersey & the Liver building. The reception staff were lovely & helpful on arrival. The bottle of prosecco on ice in our room on arrival with a birthday card from the manager was a lovely touch which we enjoyed watching the boats coming in and out. The bed was massive with a flat screen tv and your usual tea making facilities. Our evening meal was extremely tasty and the dining room staff were a delight. Breakfast was also great and the staff couldn't have been any friendlier - fab hotel, fab staff in a fantastic location - we will be back !!

Room Tip: We had room 1022 - amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fortchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Fortchy
I am so glad that you were able to take advantage of our spring promotions and that the team were able to make your celebration memorable. I agree the views from the rooms can be quite addictive watching the world go by. It sounds as if you made use of the facilities and I am delighted you found your stay with us to be fabulous. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back. Thanks for sharing on Tripadvisor.
Best regards


Jonathen Marsden
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The thistle hotel was great. All the staff were very helpful and went out of the way to make our stay enjoyable. The food in the hotel was super and when another diner complained about the steak the staff handled it so well I was really impressed. The location was superb right at the side of the Mersey and just near the ferry crossing. The rooms were a little on the small side but all other aspects of the hotel more than compensated for this. They were well decorated and very clean. Wonderful visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Angela R

Thank you so much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear you found the hotel wonderful and a great base for sightseeing in Liverpool .It is also pleasing to receive super comments about the staff, who are always our greatest asset I hope we can welcome you back for more wonderful visits.
Best regards

Jonathen Marsden
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great location and, to be fair, the view of the iconic Liverbird Building was fantastic but the twin room was so small there was barely enough space to use the ironing board or move around without getting in each-others way. The hotel wifi system is infuriating (we both gave up after repeated attempts to register) and the tv remote next to useless. I just don't feel it offers value when compared to some of the other hotels in the same area e.g. Days Inn which is closer to Liverpool One and Albert Dock

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craicpipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear cracpipe,

I am sorry to hear you experienced a few problems at the hotel. You don’t mention in your review if you asked any member of the team for assistance. I sympathise not having access to the FREE Wi-Fi or the TV can be so frustrating but are relatively simple to fix. We want guests to have a great experience and if you are unhappy about anything, we would always encourage guests to speak with us at the time so we can rectify. Our room types are all shown on our virtual website including our Executive rooms which are larger. Being a full service hotel we are able to offer more than just a bedroom and are only 10 min’s from Liverpool One and the Albert Dock.
I would love to for you to give us another try if you are next in Liverpool please contact either myself or Nikki Palmer Relationship Manager.
Best Regards,

Jonathen Marsden
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights over Easter and had a fantastic time. Reception staff on arrival very friendly, in fact staff throughout the hotel couldn't have been nicer. Had booked a room with a view and what a view it was! Overlooking the Mersey we could see right along the water with the boats all going in and out. Room was very clean (as was the rest of the hotel) and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and plenty of it. Would definitely recommend this hotel and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank statusquo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Statusquo08

I am delighted you had a fantastic time at the Thistle Atlantic Tower. It is great to hear that the service, staff friendliness, room and breakfast were just what you needed for a great break. Thanks for the recommendation and hopefully we can welcome you back shortly.

Best regards

Jonathen Marsden
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I went to watch a music gig at the Echo Arena on a Saturday evening and stayed at the Thistle through a booking made on Last Minute.com.

The cost was a little pricey, however this was expected due to it being a Bank Holiday Easter weekend, so I was prepared to pay a little extra. We arrived around 25 minutes earlier than check in time, but the staff were very friendly and were able to get us checked in within 5 minutes. My only complaint would be the lifts are a little slow getting to the ground floor, but nothing to destroy my weekend.

Me and my Girlfriend went to Liverpool One for some food before the concert and that was within a 5 minute walk. Also a handy Tesco Extra on the way back, to pick up some cheeky cocktails!! If you can, get a room with a sea view, the sunset on Queens Dock is awesome!!!

Also ordered room service around 11:30pm and was with us within 15 minutes, and it was tasty! Really enjoyed my stay here and would definitely return someday. Thanks to the staff here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Jack G
Thanks for your review on Tripadvisor, it is always lovely to get good feedback. The views are great from the room and quick room service is always important when you have the late night munchies, glad you enjoyed it. There was a fault with one of our lifts but this has been rectified. The hotel is ideally placed for guests visiting the Echo Arena, I hope you had fun at the music gig and we would love for you to choose us again for the next return visit.

Best regards

Jonathen Marsden
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#11 of 97 in Liverpool
2,380 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 97 in Liverpool
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel

Property: Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Address: Chapel Street, Liverpool L3 9RE, England (Formerly The Atlantic Tower Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#20 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#29 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#29 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the River Mersey, The Mercure Atlantic Tower Hotel, is the ideal place to discover the great city of Liverpool. Overlooking the Royal Liver Building and the Dock Front - a UNESCO World Heritage Site - The Atlantic Tower Hotel is a welcoming, contemporary hotel in the heart of Liverpool, within walking distance to the Beatles Story museum, Tate Liverpool and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Tower, Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Atlantic Hotel By Thistle Liverpool
Thistle Hotel Liverpool
Thistle Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing