We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sound choice, especially with a deal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Ranked #44 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Sound choice, especially with a deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Can you believe it, we booked 3 rooms for the weekend without realising it was the last weekend of the football season and Liverpool were playing at home! Never mind.......
This hotel has plenty of plus points and a couple of niggles: first, the bed was superb - very comfortable indeed. Room aircon works well. Room is small but perfectly functional. Breakfast is exceptionally good and not to be missed at £10 per head. The bar is a nice space and offers great views over the Mersey. Friendly staff on reception.
Those minor niggles: the room door closes with a bang and we feared a noisy night from our neighbours (happily this did not happen) and the room cleaning was not quite up to scratch - not enough to make any complaint but odd crumbs etc. did not disappear when they should have done.
Room prices vary according to what's going on in the city: because a high proportion of Liverpool FC supporters live outside the city (and a surprising number come regularly from the Nordic region) hotels get busy and room rates rise when the team's playing at home so avoid these peak times if you want a lower room charge.
The hotel is well placed for the ferry, the Liver building and the Liverpool museum etc, and the stop for the sightseeing tour bus (recommended) is not too far away.
We shall undoubtedly visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a better view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyinbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear tonyinbrighton,

Thanks for taking the time to give a detailed review of your stay. I am pleased you liked many of the good points in the hotel. You over looked a few crumbs on the carpet. This lapse in our standards is unacceptable. Our Housekeeping Manager takes the cleanliness of the hotel very seriously and isn’t happy that this was missed, we are sorry it wasn’t addressed promptly.
You sound as if you made the most of your visit to Liverpool, it is a great destination and our location means we are really convenient for the business and leisure traveller; including our National and international football fans too. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,

Jonathen Marsden
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    765
    374
    137
    77
See reviews for
207
875
82
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night and I have to say I was pretty disappointed with the quality of the room, We paid just under £200 including breakfast for 2 and car parking and when we got to the room my reaction was - is this it ? It was small without anything to make it stand out certainly nothing special, it was however clean and I found the staff to be friendly and helpful - our key card would not work and the housekeeper let us in without hesitation - she did check it was our room first - so the staff are security conscious, The breakfast room was light and airy and the breakfast was tasty the quality of the bacon/sausage was good and there was a lot of choice. If you want to stay quite central then this hotel is in a good spot for most places and it offers lovely views of the liver building and ferry terminal but its not an outstanding hotel it was in my opinion average with no wow factor hence my title I felt it was definitely overpriced and we felt underwhelmed by the room. We wont stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TracyH63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear TracyH63,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry you were disappointed and felt the hotel room was overpriced. I suspect your trip may have clashed with an event in the city and similar to other industries demand does increase the price. Airlines and rail companies can double the price of seats for the same journey just hours later, but customers can get great prices by choosing alternative dates. We do have great promotions which offer exceptional value for money if you can be flexible on when you stay.
I am pleased you found the hotel clean, breakfast tasty and service good. I would dearly love you to give us another try when you next come to Liverpool. Please contact me on jonathanmarsden.@thistle.co.uk and I will make every effort to ensure you feel highly satisfied with your stay.

Best regards

Jonathen Marsden
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

This hotel is very good for visiting Liverpool. It is located just over the road from the ferry terminal for the Isle of Mann and the Mersey Ferry, which allows easy access to the Liverpool waterfront. The city centre is around 10 minutes walk away. The hotel itself is very clean and comfortable and the rooms had a good view over the River. The staff were friendly and very helpful and in the morning the breakfast on offer was very substantial and had a wide range of food.

There is a car park located just behind the hotel which you do have to pay for at the reception. The downside is that it's also shared with several other companies. When we arrived there were only 2 spaces left, so I imagine that at peak times there would be nowhere to park the car. There is another pay and display car park located opposite the hotel.

All in all this hotel is the perfect place to stay in Liverpool.

Room Tip: Due to the shape of the building I think all rooms overlook the River Mersey in some form or another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fish_LON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Fish_LON

I agree that the hotel is excellent for visiting Liverpool and quite rightly very convenient for a trip to The Isle of Mann or even a ‘ferry across the Mersey’ experience to the Wirral and back.
Our car park is a great facility for a city hotel and generally is adequate. Many guest come via train and with 2 Mersey rail stations only 5 min’ away very convenient ,that a car isn't needed in Liverpool.
I am pleased you found the breakfast plentiful and the team very helpful and friendly.
Thanks for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.

Best regards,

Jonathen Marsden
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

So many things wrong with this "4star" hotel:
1). Poorly staffed and lack of service (twice is the MAX num of times you can call reception about things, afterwards, they wouldn't pick up your call)
2). Dirty bathroom and VERY dirty furniture
3). Paid ~$280 for very subpar hotel,
4). Lobby wasn't clean

You know something's wrong when all other hotels are booked while this one still has room, only STAY here if you must, the poor experience (besides the money) alone can ruin your trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wacked_fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear wacked _fish,

I am so sorry to hear of your disappointing stay. From your comments there appears to have been a lapse in service and standards which I am very keen to investigate.
I would encourage any guest to contact the manager on duty at the time if there is an issue that they are unhappy about, that way we can get things resolved and allow you to enjoy your stay. Perhaps you would be kind enough to contact me - jonathanmarsden@thistle.co.uk and I can address your complaint.

On a separate note as one of the largest hotels in the city, our bedroom inventory can change daily, so having rooms available is not indicative of the service of the hotel. City events dictate prices and so if you can be flexible on dates there are great bargains to book.

We genuinely want all our guests to be highly satisfied with their stay and on behalf of the team I am sorry we failed on this occasion.

Best regards

Jonathen Marsden
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight with my fiancé to celebrate my birthday and it was a perfect location to explore the tourist attractions of this wonderful city. Our room overlooked the iconic Liver building and the waterfront view at night was breathtaking. All the staff were friendly and efficient and the breakfast was delicious and set us up for our second day's sightseeing. Would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Karen W,
It’s wonderful to hear that you had a perfect stay in Liverpool. All your lovely comments are shared with the team, thank you it means a lot. It is brilliant being so close to the Liver Building and seeing the waterfront at night is a great memory to have of your birthday celebration. I appreciate the recommendation and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Jonathen Marsden
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhondda, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

This hotel is in a marvellous position right by the Liver birds buildings near Albert dock and near the city centre hotel itself very clean with really friendly staff reasonably priced bars and great views over the Mersey would recommend it no problem.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaycee57_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear jaycee57-13

Thanks for the 5* review. I agree we are in a great position for seeing the centre of Liverpool. I am pleased you found everything to your liking with the hotel and thank you so much for the recommendation.

Best regards
Jonathen Marsden


Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

This iconic hotel is shaped like a ship and that's part of its attraction. Views and location are ample compensation. The design means some rooms are of an unusual shape but nevertheless space is not an issue. Immaculately clean, amazing views and beds that are more comfortable than most other four star hotels.
Noisy neighbours dealt with immediately after alerting night staff. Close to all major attractions and restaurants.
Terrace bars brilliant for watching the Mersey's famed sunsets.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view. The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Tom M,

Thank you for the lovely review. .
The hotel is an unususal shape and I believe was the first building in the UK to be built from the top down and is often of interest to architects. As well as offering great views of the city or river there aren’t lots of long corridors to walk down either. I am delighted you had a good stay. Delivering great customer service is extremely important to us so I am glad to hear you were well looked after
Best regards

Jonathen Marsden
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Heywood House Hotel
#15 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel

Property: Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Address: Chapel Street, Liverpool L3 9RE, England (Formerly The Atlantic Tower Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#20 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#29 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#29 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the River Mersey, The Mercure Atlantic Tower Hotel, is the ideal place to discover the great city of Liverpool. Overlooking the Royal Liver Building and the Dock Front - a UNESCO World Heritage Site - The Atlantic Tower Hotel is a welcoming, contemporary hotel in the heart of Liverpool, within walking distance to the Beatles Story museum, Tate Liverpool and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Lastminute and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Tower, Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Atlantic Hotel By Thistle Liverpool
Thistle Hotel Liverpool
Thistle Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing