We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Liverpool Pride 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Ranked #44 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Ryde
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Liverpool Pride 2014”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Attended the annual gathering with other colleagues from my union was very impressed with the accommodation, food and cleanliness of the hotel not so much the price of bar drinks but the breakfast was a help yourself affair and was very well organised.

Room Tip: A stunning view of the waterfront is a must if you can rather than a back room looking into an offic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Choofty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Choofty

Thank you for giving a review of your stay during Liverpool Pride weekend. The hotel was very busy and I am glad you were impressed with the accommodation food and cleanliness and especially breakfast. Bar prices are in line with other city hotels and we do have a great Vu from the Terrace but for future reference Concierge will always recommend local pubs and bars which maybe cheaper. I do hope we can welcome you and your colleagues back next year.
Best regards

Jonathen Marsden
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    793
    390
    143
    77
See reviews for
216
911
85
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Albert Dock itself is beautiful but staying by it at Thistle Hotel was a nightmare. The false fire alarms woke us up at odd hours (middle of the night & early morning) for our entire 4 night stay. We were exorbitantly disturbed. They need to hire a new Health & Safety Manager to sort out their Fire System.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank zahra32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear zahra32
We want guests to have a highly satisfied stay so I am sorry you were disappointed due to the fire alarms. We do have a H & S Manager who takes his job extremely seriously and he would challenge your recollection that the alarms went off for 4 days morning and night.
It is a legal requirement that planned fire evacuations are carried out by all businesses and one was scheduled and carried out at 11am on the morning of the 25th June and lasted 5 mins. In a business operating 24hrs a day that time is seen as the least disruptive time for guests. The alarm does make an annoying sound but it is designed to alert people to evacuate immediately. Fire is dangerous and we wouldn’t hesitate to evacuate a building if the fire alarm is raised even if it turns out to be a false alarm, we have to take it seriously.Whilst safety is of paramount importance it is unusual for the alarm to be raised and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Best regards

Jonathen Marsden
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Location for the hotel is great, a nice walk to all the bars and restaurants and the Albert Pier.
The car park is expensive at £10 a night and does not feel very secure. The room was very standard and average for the price we paid for it. The view was great looking right onto the church and the water. The bin in the toilet was broken, the hangers on the bathroom door were broken and not many television channels worked on the tv. It is a very standard hotel. The bar staff were lovely and the bar on the second floor has great comfy couches and television screens.

Room Tip: we were in room 1109 which has a brilliant view! Althought the bells on a sunday morning were not gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caitlin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Caitlin d

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am glad you found the location great. We are one of the few hotels in the city to have our own car park and the price is cheaper than branded car parks which charge £2.50ph.
Please accept my apologies for the facilities in your room that were not working properly. Please do report anything that isn’t satisfactory to our Manager on duty and we will get them rectified straight away. On a positive note I am pleased you loved the Vu bar and Bar staff and I have forwarded your praise to the F & B Manager to share. Feedback is really important and I do appreciate your comments.
Best regards,

Jonathen Marsden
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Tiny rooms, old decoration, noisy individual room air con,, electronic door locks that dont open half the time, I could go on and on. This hotel has seen the it's sunshine days scarper of the hill many moons ago! It's like your own personal time warp.

Quite simply dont waste your money and choose to stay here when you could stay accross the road at one of the other nearby hotels such as The Malmaison or The Crown Plaza. It isn't particularly cheap either!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcoNero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I stayed for a 2 day business trip. The room was spacious and very clean and it had a great view of the river. The weather was hot but the air conditioning worked well and the temperature was always comfortable.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent (perfect fried eggs, crispy bacon and fried bread)!

I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Liver Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
450 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I believe that everyone will be thrilled about the location and the comfort transportation near this nice hotel. the view from the two sides of the hotel is fantastic, the stuff is kind and helpful and the breakfast is rich and full of diferent choices for every visitor. Famous Albert Dock is less than 10 minutes walk. the prices are quiet logical for this wonderful city!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimitris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I took my daughter for a one stay at this hotel, we had never stayed in Liverpool before and really enjoyed staying at the hotel with a special deal of breakfast and evening meal included in the price. We thought it was value for money, the dinner menu had lots of choices, we had the salmon and it was really delicious. We spend a fab evening at the Cavern Club which I would recommend to anyone going to Liverpool. We bought tickets to use the open top tour bus so that we could hop on and off wherever we wanted to go and thought this was value for money. The hotel is within walking distance of Albert Dock, shopping area and the railway station. Rooms were clean and the staff very helpful and friendly, we will return next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheenaHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#13 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel

Property: Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Address: Chapel Street, Liverpool L3 9RE, England (Formerly The Atlantic Tower Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#20 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#29 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#29 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the River Mersey, The Mercure Atlantic Tower Hotel, is the ideal place to discover the great city of Liverpool. Overlooking the Royal Liver Building and the Dock Front - a UNESCO World Heritage Site - The Atlantic Tower Hotel is a welcoming, contemporary hotel in the heart of Liverpool, within walking distance to the Beatles Story museum, Tate Liverpool and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, ACCOR, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Tower, Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Atlantic Hotel By Thistle Liverpool
Thistle Hotel Liverpool
Thistle Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing