We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kudos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Ranked #43 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight as we visited the Empire Theatre. The staff on reception were extremely friendly and helpful as we found all the staff were. Bedroom nicely furnished - bedding spotless and the comfiest beds ever slept in. Breakfast was filling and eggs or omelettes cooked to order. We would stay again just wish we had stayed a little longer.
Proper Liverpool hospitality .

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Kudox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

806 - 812 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

Upon arrival the room felt chilly, but assumed this was because the heating presumably does not work whilst no-one is in the room). We were sure the air conditioning would warm the room through.
Upon waking at midnight the room was even colder as it appeared the system was just pushing out cold air despite being on the maximum heat. We turned the air-conditioning off to prevent more cold air, my wife had to sleep fully clothed as also the"duvet" was so thin, more like a sheet, the bedspread was only 12 inches wide & there were no extra blankets.
In addition the waste paper bin had not been previously emptied (an apple core & a biscuit wrapper), there was muck in one plughole, the other sink was cracked, the main door to the outside did not lock & no free internet access.
We inevitably had very little sleep. Upon complaining to the main desk the management were apologetic but could not explain any of the problems. It was as though we had been put in a room that had not been used or cleaned or repaired for some time & when items were needed for other rooms - the duvet, the spare television they had been removed & not replaced. Overall a dreadful standard & a terrible stay.

Room Tip: Top floor freezing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mathew f, Director of Operations at Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valued feedback.

We at the Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre take great pride in the service we offer our guests and take all of our guests concerns very seriously. I have also read your comments passed to me through other mediums and have replied directly to your email address regarding your concerns.

I do hope to welcome you back to the Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre in the future and if I can be of any further assistance please do feel free to contact me directly.


Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is at best very average, the location is good for the city centre, it is extremely dated which is strange because I have stayed in a lot of Marriott hotels and this is by far the worst. On the plus side the staff were extremely friendly and polite. The hotel needs a major facelift from lobby to guest rooms. There are far superior hotels to stay in when visiting liverpool in this price range.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Peewee021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mathew f, Director of Operations at Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you kindly for sharing your balanced feedback.

I am disappointed to read you found our hotel to be dated but am happy to see that you were able to experience the level of customer service we endeavour to provide.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and if I can be of any further assistance please do contact me directly and I will be happy to assist.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

£15 for in-room WIFi is a joke. It's 2014 not 2004!!!!! Marriott need to sort this out!

The room itself was clean and the hotel functional and centrally located. Shower was hot but not exceptional. All-in-all there are MUCH better places to stay in Liverpool!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reuters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil S, Manager at Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Reuters,

Thank you so much for your feedback. I'm deeply sorry to see you were unable to find the Liverpool Marriott Hotel value for money.
The charge for the internet use in our bedrooms is something all Marriotts are tied into. However, we do offer complimentary internet in all of our Public areas including our Bars & Restaurant.
We pride ourselves at the Liverpool Marriott in the service we offer and would love for you to be able to return so we can build your trust again.

Once again, Thank you so much for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Neil Sinnott
Food & Beverage Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Just returned from a surprisingly great weekend in Liverpool. So much to do and see, not like I remember!! Fell off train into hotel to a warm welcome and a great team, who could not have done more to ensure we had a great time. They have also returned some valuable jewellery, for which I am truly grateful. Comfortable, quiet and well supplied room - beds are spotless and great for dreaming. Madagascan massage worth a try. Well done and thank you for a lovely time Liverpool and the Marriott.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debntel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Loved this hotel - i have stayed here numerous times over the past 3 or 4 years for business and pleasure. Never had a bad stay. Rooms are lovely and breakfast tasty. Very central for everything - including the bus to Anfield just across the road!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandctravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

What a great hotel to base ourselves in for a weekend break to Liverpool. It's 25 years since I've been to Liverpool, wow what a transformation. The Marriot is te
wo minutes from Lime St station and offers easy access to the city and dock.
Hotel is comfortable, rooms spotlessly clean, staff so friendly and cheerful. Excellent breakfast, great choice of hot and cold items, eggs freshly cooked to order. What's not to like?

Stayed: January 2014
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Hilton Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Novotel Liverpool
#33 of 98 in Liverpool
2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre

Address: 1 Queen Square, Liverpool L1 1RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#31 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#33 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £72 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Liverpool Marriott Hotel offers a fantastic location, set in the art district overlooking vibrant Queen Square. Famous for sports, entertainment and Beatlemania, Liverpool is a cultural centre with more museums and galleries than any city outside London. Beautifully decorated, our bedrooms offer air cooling system and luxurious bedding with cotton-rich linens and fluffier pillows. After a day of museum hopping or shopping, enjoy a swim in our indoor pool or our spa, Urban Peace Health and Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing