We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location but Terrible Business Facilities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Ranked #43 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great Location but Terrible Business Facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days with my nephew on a visit to Annfield. Great location only a few minutes from Lime Street Station. Good selection of restaurants nearby. Good Leisure Facilities. Staff were very helpful. The only thing that let it down was the Business Facilities. I needed to book flights and print boarding cards. I had to purchase a voucher for use of facilities, which is annoying but ok. When I went into the business cupboard ( certainly not somewhere to spend time) there was no printer - apparently it had been away for repair for some time. The receptionist offered to print anything I needed if I emailed it to her. I could not get PC to switch on, engineer checked and discovered there was no power to the cupboard!!!!! Very Poor indeed.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    490
    197
    73
    59
See reviews for
211
459
64
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

If you are arriving Liverpool via train, this is an ideal place to stay. Just 3 minutes walk from the station. Extremely friendly staff. Room size is spacious. It is within walking distance to all the mega shopping area and attractions in the area. We took the Sandman walking tour, which meets right by the hotel. We ordered room service for dinner from the hotel. The food was much better than expected. Internet is free in all the common areas.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guinevere and R... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Spent 2 1/2 days in Liverpool, and this hotel is the best place to start. It is close to Lime Street, City Centre and all major tourist attractions. If you in town to see Liverpool Football Club, then this is the place to stay and buses to Anfield are right in front of the hotel. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for the staff, who offer excellent advice. But I do have to mention that we were supposed to get non-smoking rooms and we didn't which was uncomfortable for us. Wi-Fi was Expensive, but free at the ground floor. But I still highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davfog35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
332 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Booked here for a base to stay whilst shopping, eating and going out during the night. The hotel is in a great location for whatever you choose to do in Liverpool, whether it be tourist based or just a bit of retail followed by eating and drinking. Check in was great, quick and pleasant. We even got allocated a higher room floor that we had requested. Brilliant!
We were pleasantly surprised when we booked in as the hotel is quite a good few years old and we were expecting it to be a little run down and in need of a good refurbishment. This was not the case. The hotel public areas and rooms were all great. They were very clean and well kept. We had no issues whatsoever, although our air con didn't work. This being said, we told reception and they sorted the problem out within about 5 minutes, providing us with a tower fan which did the job very well!
The staff are lovely, welcoming and friendly. This is just what you get in every Liverpool hotel. Just the friendliest and most helpful staff. The staff certainly help make this hotel.
The added bonus if spa and pool facilities was great and even better fir the fact that very few people were using the facilities, adding to the quiet and relaxing nature of using. It was great to relax here just a few minutes after shopping, and was strange to think we were actually in a city centre location using a swimming pool, spa facilities and relaxing on lounges as shoppers rushed by.
The whole stay was brilliant and very relaxing. It's worth noting that sleep quality is great. We had a noisy family next door to us that we could hear in the hallway. Once in our room, not a sound could be heard. Great walls, all I can say!! Some great choice of TV channels too- the best choice of any hotel we've ever stayed in. Great view of Liverpool skyline too.
There are a few small issues for why I haven't given an excellent rating as they really affect the value in my opinion.
The first is internet usage and pricing- £6 an hour or £15 per day! This is awful and the internet isn't a luxury service anymore and is expected as standard. You get free wifi in B&Bs. Why a huge chain has to charge is beyond me! Another is the tiny lounge area that seemed to have sport on TV for the whole time were were there. Now as swell as not liking to watch sport, sport, sport, anybody could use this lounge. What about an area for just hotel guests and somewhere to make hotel guests feel more valued? We actually ate in this lounge and it was very poor value (£24 for 2 ordinary cheese n ham sandwiches and 2 bottles of beer) Main meals were served in this bar and the restaurant only open during breakfast. Thankfully there are many more places to eat and drink close by. Maybe that's why very little focus is put on nice areas to eat and drink.
Now for the strange one....We had breakfast room service which was delicious, but we were confused to get a phone call just before breakfast arrived to say we had to pay cash on its arrival. Strange for a hotel to do this and what would have happened if we had no cash?!
All in all a great stay, BUT expect go pay a lot for internet access and be prepared to leave the hotel for food and drink...(and keep spare cash on you for breakfast- just in case!)

Room Tip: Ask for higher room floor. Great view of skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulos_C_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

The only thing i am worried about when writing this is that it will be to busy for me to get in in future.I have stayed in a lot of places in liverpool until i found this hotel its the best.5 Star clean very very friendly staff to help and make you welcome from the front desk right through the place.Cant be more central for everywere and really good value for money well done MARRIOTT

Room Tip: THEY are all great but the higher you go the better THE VIEW OF THIS GREAT CITY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philip b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mathew f, Director of Operations at Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Philip b,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us; it fills me with great pride to see you really enjoyed your stay with us.

We ultimately do all we can to ensure our guests have a great stay and want to return; I very much look forward to welcoming you back into our hotel in the future.

I'm sure you don’t need me to say this but if we can do anything to make your stay even more comfortable just let us know and we will do all we can for you.

Thank you again
Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Needed somewhere for one night at the last minute and I would definitely stay here again. Very convenient for Lime Street station, buses, shops and Liverpool's 'must see' attractions. We were given a very friendly welcome and our room was perfect - clean, comfortable, warm and with the important tray of tea and coffee! The breakfast was good and the staff in the dining room were on the ball even though it was very busy. Worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanW48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mathew f, Director of Operations at Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
JanW48

I am glad you had a great stay with us. Our location is excellent right outside Lime Street and next to the bus station too. I do hope you were able to take in some of Liverpool's attractions while you were with us, if not we look forward to welcoming you back soon and the concierge team will be able to help plan everything for you.

Thank you for taking the time to review.

Kind regards
Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

4 star service this is not.
Reception staff were little more than belligerent and less than helpful on more than one occasion.
Room was ok although a little small for this standard of hotel, but in my opinion worth less than what was charged.
Extras not included are expensive wifi, expensive breakfast and expensive parking.
Stayed here a number of times but not for a few years prior to this visit, standards and service have gone down and the price relative to other hotels has gone up, I won’t be going back.

Room Tip: Avoid and book the Hilton
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerdave66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mathew f, Director of Operations at Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Travellerdave66

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and I do apologise what you received was not up to the standard expected.

We are able to offer rates which include items such as breakfast and parking and I do apologise if you were unable to book these at the time of making your reservation. We do pride ourselves on the service we offer and look always to improve.

Please do contact me directly with any further information you can provide regarding your stay and the service you received while here and I will follow up accordingly.

I do hope to be able to restore your faith in the Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre in the future.

Kind regards
Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Liverpool
Novotel Liverpool
#36 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre

Property: Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Address: 1 Queen Square, Liverpool L1 1RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#31 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#33 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Liverpool Marriott Hotel offers a fantastic location, set in the art district overlooking vibrant Queen Square. Famous for sports, entertainment and Beatlemania, Liverpool is a cultural centre with more museums and galleries than any city outside London. Beautifully decorated, our bedrooms offer air cooling system and luxurious bedding with cotton-rich linens and fluffier pillows. After a day of museum hopping or shopping, enjoy a swim in our indoor pool or our spa, Urban Peace Health and Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Superbreak UK, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing