We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Ranked #43 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Expected better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

This was our first stay in a Marriott hotel and our expectations were high. Went there as part of a coach party and the reception at the hotel was poor and uncommunicative. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable but the air conditioning/ air cooling was not working. Reported this twice but nothing was done - not even visited, and it was on the same state when we left.
Evening meals were just adequate and it was self service - not what we expected in a 4 star hotel. Breakfast quality was good but we had to ask for tables to be cleared before we could sit down.
IF we stay at a Marriott again, it would be hoped that a better standard could be achieved.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobijono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mathew f, Director of Operations at Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear bobijono,

I’m sorry to see you faced some challenges while staying with us and I have asked retrospect managers to look into them. We are able to offer many different styles of food service to meet our booking agents and customers’ needs varying from Buffet to Silver service depending what it organised.

I do hope to be able to welcome back to our great city in the future.

Kind regards
Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    496
    202
    73
    60
See reviews for
218
468
65
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We've stayed at this Marriott before, this is our first visit for a year. Great location, convenient and ample parking, super staff - generally really good. A few of the highlights -
They posted a birthday card to the room of the mother-in-law simply after chatting at the reception with her the staff found out she was in Liverpool on a birthday treat, so sent her a card! What a really nice touch. Thank you!
Nice spacious room
Top quality linen and bedding

A few disappoints
Wifi, £15 per night, ouch.
Having to pay cash on delivery of breakfast to the room is a little odd and a change from the norm, inconvenient to.
The room, although in good decorative order, should have been better - TV remote held together with tape, speaker in bathroom not working, decorative trim around shower curtain fixings hanging off, skirting tiles adjacent to bathroom door chipped.
These are really minor, it wouldn't stop me staying again nor would it stop me from recommending the hotel, but from a Marriott at £110 a night for a executive room, these bits shouldn't be there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mildcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mathew f, Director of Operations at Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Mildcheese,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

It’s great to see you will recommend us again and that our hosts were able to make your mother-in-law's day a bit more special. We are able offer complimentary Wi-Fi in our public spaces and if you wish to charge to the room we are able to activate this for you with a swipe of a credit card at reception on arrival.

It was great to be able to share the special birthday treat and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as part of a group for my cousins wedding at St George's Hall. Location wise we really couldn't get anywhere better !!! It is situated directly opposite St George's Hall and only a short walk into the city centre and Liverpool One.
The check-in when we arrived was quick and efficient and we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a beautiful, spacious room overlooking a small courtyard. The beds were comfortable and large and the bathroom was spacious, modern and clean.
We used the leisure facilities twice whilst we were there and found the pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi area to be in need of some TLC. The loungers around the pool were dirty and stained and certainly not somewhere I would wish to sit and relax with a book. However the staff in the leisure club were incredibly friendly and happy to help.
Breakfast was FAB on the first morning of our stay with masses of choice which was all piping hot and beautifully presented. Unfortunately this cannot be said for the second morning when the hot food was not replenished and, despite asking 2 or 3 times, I ended up standing around for 10 minutes waiting for mushrooms, which resulted in the other items on my plate being stone cold by the time the mushrooms had arrived. I appreciate that the hotel was heavily booked however this needs to be considered when staff are being allocated their shifts.
A special mention must go to the concierge Ronnie who was quite possibly the most helpful and friendly concierge I have experienced the world over !!!! I must also thank Janine in the hotels groups department for being a great help in organising the whole stay :-) In fact EVERY member of staff we encountered during our stay, from cleaners to reception, were lovely and so willing to assist you with anything !!
In summary I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in a great city centre hotel in Liverpool !!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsH31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mathew f, Director of Operations at Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Mrs H31

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our Hosts service, it is truly great to see how our hard work every day pays off and I will ensure the rest of the team see this too. I understand your building points too and I will be looking into this more closely in the future.

Kind Regards
Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I stayed in the Liverpool Marriott for two nights whilst on business in Liverpool.

The hotel although modern has tried to make the rooms look vintage and traditional and I have to say it works well. I had a standard room which was very spacious, clean and tidy and excellent value for money considering it's city centre location and quality! Only downside is that there is no air con, just a built in fan. Although despite the humidity outside, the room temperature was acceptable and did not deter from a good nights sleep.

Staff were all very pleasant and lovely and always happy to help, nothing was a chore.

The included buffet breakfast was outstanding with eggs made to order in the dining room which was great.

Overall a great experience and will continue to use this hotel when I return the Liverpool. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbo231173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mathew f, Director of Operations at Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Robbo231173,

Thank you for your review, it is great to see you had an excellent time here and enjoyed Liverpool. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabasas, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

A well located center city hotel, reasonably convenient to shops and city attractions. Has a pleasant courtyard entrance opening to a modern lobby. Reception staff were courteous and helpful. Rooms were above average size, clean, and well appointed. We ate at the hotel having a dinner buffet and typical European breakfast buffet. Food and service at both were reasonably good, but not outstanding. Perhaps I am being unfair, but later on this trip we stayed at Marriott properties in Stockholm and Copenhagen, and this property falls a bit short of the standard established by both of those properties.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OTCarter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mathew f, Director of Operations at Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear OTCarter1

Thank you for your review and your kind words. I am glad to see you found your stay with us to Marriott standards and you continued to enjoy your trip. If you have any specific points which just made your stay in the other Marriott's that bit better please do let me know directly as we are always looking for those ways to improve.

Kind regards
Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool uk
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Have to say we didn't recognise any of the negative reviews this is a good Marriott in great location 10 minutes from main station lime street and adjacent to buses etc to all parts of merseyside. All tourist attractions are within a short walk and the Albert Dock is no more than a 20 minute walk . Breakfast was good and wide selection would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulmaureenandmolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Check in took 25 mins, as they had incorrect details of my stay. My confirmation was correct, so no idea why? Nothing seemed to be amended, which was odd! For example; I wasn't on the list for breakfast.....another 10 minutes.
Rooms good, pool too small for a swimmer, gym ok, staff generally friendly if a bit incompetent!
Food good, but not as good as other Marriotts. Restaurant area very poor....not a place for a nice quiet meal (family or business)!
Overall ok, just not one of the better ones!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mathew f, Director of Operations at Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Youngy1974

Thank you for your review. I see you had some challenges while staying with us. I have asked the retrospect departmental heads to see what happened during your stay and take action accordingly. We do hope to welcome you back to our great city in the future and if we can be of any further assistance please do feel free to contact us.

Many thanks
Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Liverpool
Novotel Liverpool
#32 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre

Property: Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Address: 1 Queen Square, Liverpool L1 1RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#31 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#33 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Liverpool Marriott Hotel offers a fantastic location, set in the art district overlooking vibrant Queen Square. Famous for sports, entertainment and Beatlemania, Liverpool is a cultural centre with more museums and galleries than any city outside London. Beautifully decorated, our bedrooms offer air cooling system and luxurious bedding with cotton-rich linens and fluffier pillows. After a day of museum hopping or shopping, enjoy a swim in our indoor pool or our spa, Urban Peace Health and Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing