We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only OL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Ranked #43 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Only OL”
Reviewed 5 January 2009

The location of this hotel is great however the hotel is suffering slightly and in need of modernisation! The rooms are tiny and the bathrooms dated. Staff couldn't have been nicer though and the pool is nice. We had to move out of the first room as it was so tiny and the windows were filthy and the handle was missing so we couldn't open it. Breakfast too was only ok. I think there are better choices in Liverpool and I would not return.

  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McJanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    500
    203
    75
    61
See reviews for
222
473
67
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

I stayed here for 3 nights on my first visit to Liverpool. It was wonderful. The location was perfect, across the road from Lime St station, very short walk to bus stop to get bus 17 to Anfield and the city centre and next to some great restaurants. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable. The room was great, nice comfortable bed with lots of pillows and a big bathroom. An ice machine was located outside my room which was perfect and it shuts at 1030pm if I recall so the noise doesn't disturb anyone.

  • Liked — Location and the comfortable bed.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agentc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2008

I've stayed at the Marriott in Liverpool a few times now and it's probably my first choice in Liverpool. The hotel is in a good location right in the centre of the city. The other nice hotels in Liverpool (such as the Crowne Plaza, Radisson SAS, Malmaison) are all slightly out of town which is always a bit off putting. The hotel also has an adjoining car public park which I think is pretty safe and I can put the cost of on the hotel bill.

The lobby area is a little small but the staff have always been pretty good and what I would expect from a Marriott. The rooms are nice and if you've stayed at a Marriott before I'm sure you'll know what to expect. I've never experienced any of the noise issues raised by other reviewers. That said the hotel is right next to the main open-air bus station so this could potentially get a little noisy.

Have not tried the hotel restaurant but there are plenty of nice options nearby so I would try one of these if visiting the city for the first time - there are plenty within 2 minutes walk of the hotel.

My apologies for the poor quality of the photos.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank liamuk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2008

Just back from another great stay in the Marriott and it is as good as ever. Having stayed in most of the top-end range of hotels in Liverpool I find it hard to believe that this is not the best par none.

The Radisson is slightly out of town and very formal. The Crown Plaza is also out of town and very quite.

This hotel has a great location and the lobby is always buzzing with guests and staff. However the bar atmosphere is poor as it is in all the Liverpool hotels - I guess the attractions of the city keep the punters down town .........All in all, back again in a flash as Staff, Rooms and atmosphere ten out of ten

  • Liked — Location And Staff
  • Disliked — Leaving..........
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heaneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2008

What a great hotel and location.We were welcomed to this hotel by smiling ,friendly and efficient reception staff.They weren't the only ones,all the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The Concierge staff were excellent,very knowledgable of all subjects,what they didn't know they very quickly found the information for you.Our room was clean and well appointed.We had a small problem with the Tv which was quickly rectified,also with the heating which took a little longer.The hotel restaurant [Oliviers} was also excellent,good choice of food,all the staff in here were well versed in their knowledge of the menu and the wines to accompany your meal.Buffet breakfast was also served here,good choice of either hot or cold,omelletes were made fresh to order with choice of filling.This hotel was perfectly situated for all attractions,theatres,transport,shopping etc.
A cab from Liverpool John Lennon Airport will cost you around 17 pounds,there is also a bus which runs from the airport [#500] which costs 2.60,this drops you in Queens Square right opposite the hotel.Lime Street Railway Station is a short walk across from the hotel with links all over the UK.Theatres and cinemas are all within a few minutes walk.Local attractions like the Matthew Street Area {for the Cavern Club and Beatles]also just 5mins walk.The new shopping area [Liverpool One] can also be reached by walking for a few minutes.This holds many shops,restaurants and giant screen cinema.Two favourite restaurants in Liverpool One is Gourmet Burger and Las Iguanas.You will also find ZiZi's Italian,and Yo Sushi.Other restaurants to visit are ASK {Italian} and La Tasca {Spanish} these are located right across from the hotel,we are told that in the summer flamenco shows are put on outside La Tasca.
We will certainly return again to this hotel and recommend it to anyone be it for business or pleasure.Can't get better central location.

  • Liked — It's convenient central location,easy transport access
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ameriphiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2008

Stayed here with business so they paid! the room was great, breakfast really good and the staff were friendly. Fantastic location - get a few pints at Dr Duncan's bar across from it - one of the best pubs in Liverpool and the best beer!

Mexican restaurant across from the back entrance is great too - it really is a great location.

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2008

We had a very comfortable room with all you could possible need and couldn't hear a thing from any of the other rooms, even though the hotel was full. It's in an excellent location right near the station, yet we found it very quiet because we were on the side overlooking the car entrance, away from all the buses and the busy streets. The staff were, without exception, friendly and polite, especially the lovely housekeeper on our floor who brought us extra tea with a joke and a smile. My only complaint is that it was rather expensive - £125 for a room and that didn't include breakfast! Admittedly it had been booked by my husband's firm so no doubt this was a business rate, but the person who booked it for us certainly didn't realise that breakfast wasn't included. I'm sure there are good deals out there so have a good look round before booking.

  • Liked — comfortable room
  • Disliked — the price
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Purple glaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Liverpool
Novotel Liverpool
#32 of 97 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre

Property: Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Address: 1 Queen Square, Liverpool L1 1RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#31 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#33 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Liverpool Marriott Hotel offers a fantastic location, set in the art district overlooking vibrant Queen Square. Famous for sports, entertainment and Beatlemania, Liverpool is a cultural centre with more museums and galleries than any city outside London. Beautifully decorated, our bedrooms offer air cooling system and luxurious bedding with cotton-rich linens and fluffier pillows. After a day of museum hopping or shopping, enjoy a swim in our indoor pool or our spa, Urban Peace Health and Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing