We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Green Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Park Hotel
Ranked #75 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Me and my mates were on a stag do down in Liverpool arriving on Friday 15th - Sunday 17th June. Following a long and horrible journey down the staff upon arrival couldn't have been any nicer. We were late for our comedy club and even tried to get in contact with them and even organised taxis for us. The rooms were exactly what we were all looking for and more. The lounge and bar are first class and kept in pristine condition. The breakfast we had both Saturday and Sunday morning was delicious and cooked fresh. I couldn't fault this hotel at all and if I was returning to Liverpool I would stay here, nice and quiet but not too far from city centre, train stations and fast food outlets. There are some bad reviews about this place and honestly they are a load of lies. Stay here and thanks for a great and welcoming stay.

Stag Doo Liverpool 2012

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Langybhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    33
    18
    15
    43
See reviews for
34
40
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This was the third time that we stayed at the Green Park Hotel, but sadly I think it will be the last. We chose to stay here because it’s reasonably close to the city centre (five minutes or so by car), it has a free car park, something that not many of the city centre hotels have, and last but not least, the price is very reasonable.

The first room we were allocated was on the top floor, up two flights of stairs and along several corridors. Whilst not a large room, it was clean and had obviously recently been painted, as there was a very strong smell of paint and the bathroom door wouldn’t close due to the fresh paint. As the paint fumes were so strong (and as I knew that the rather thin curtains would let in all the morning light) we asked to be moved.

The second room was on the ground floor, through the lounge and again along several corridors. This room was larger and had a double bed and a single bed, but unfortunately hadn’t been very well thought out as there were no bedside lights, just the central overhead light. We had to request a bedside lamp, but unfortunately the socket closest to the double bed didn’t work (and there was no bedside table to put the lamp on anyway).

There were a few other things that weren’t too good – the kettle was on a chest of drawers in the wardrobe, but as there was no plug socket we had to put it on the floor in the room to use it. The bathroom was clean and modern, but unfortunately a lot of the floor tiles around the hand basin had expanded and cracked. Also, there was no blind on the window – the glass was frosted but as the room was on the ground floor, I think blinds would be a welcome addition.

Lastly (and this is a minor point) the TV screen had a scratch across it.

Having said all the above, the lady on reception was very friendly and helpful, the room was quite quiet and we did get a good night’s sleep (apart from the torrential rain thundering on the flat roof of the room!). We didn't have the breakfast so I can't comment on that.

If you’re looking for a reasonably priced room fairly close to the city centre, with parking, and you’re not too fussy, I would rate the Green Park Hotel as adequate, but it needs attention.

Room Tip: I think the rooms in the main part of the hotel are probably the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nemish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We have stayed at Green Park on many occasions. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. The rooms are a good size and very clean. There are lots of choices on the breakfast menu to suit all appetites! The hotel is in a quiet location and ideal if you want to escape the hustle and bustle of the city centre! We will be staying here again during Beatles Week. Can't wait!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiangmai
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

A group of 7 of us travelled from York for a 21st. The first thing we noticed was the horrible foisty smell! No smile from the receptionist. The rooms are dated and the walls and ceilings are cracked and look damp in places.
We went out for a night in Liverpool and due to a long day we were back in the hotel at 1am! During the night there were bangs doors slamming people shouting. We woke in the morning and went down stairs to then me accused of making all the noise!! The female receptionist was absolutely awful. She looked at us and spoke to us like muck and for a hotel manager her people skills where appalling!!! The guy who worked there was much more friendly but clearly overruled by the witch. Oh and as I'm writing this before I've even left the hotel just been told my friend had a stain in her bed from the people before......nice.
Word of advice if you are gonna stay here bring your bedding and your cleaning equipment. Better yet just sleep in your car.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greid10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2012

when i read the good reviews on this hotel it makes me wonder where on earth have thease people stayed before its a dreadfull hotel scruffy smelly every window in all five rooms we had were broken or shattered in some place.we had to leave 25 pounds in cash per person at the reception which came to 375 ponds in total and was not returned to us untill every key had been returned and the rooms checked we are a group of grown women on a 40th birthday celebration and have stayed in many hotels in many cities and never been treated like we were going to steal or cause damage to property not that there was anything in the whole hotel worth stealing or damaging the drive had massive pot holes the towels had stains on them and hairs were found on the sink there were holes in walls and ceilings lights not working the cable fell out of the phone when tried to use it and breakfast well one poor girl serving and running round like a headless chicken having to apologise to everyone.this kind of service is appalling and should not be allowed all my group were very disappointed and as i am the person who organised this weekend feel very let down and very angry that myself and my friends were subject to such poor quality and such low standards .

Room Tip: only one tip dont go there .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viv d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2012

By far the worst place i have ever stayed , we dont mind basic but i dont think this place would win any awards ! very dirty its smells and there wasnt a window that didnt have a crack in it . We were a party of ladies all over 30 and they wanted each of us to leave a £25 deposit in cash they said this was company policy but a few guests who checked in after us were not even asked for any kind of deposit .The waitress on breakfast duty was very nice but on her own !! and the place was full. I would not recommend this place to anybody .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 283sharon283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2012

My girlfriend and I booked this hotel as it was recommended by a friend who had been previously. The hotel offers easy access to public transport and is just a couple miles outside the city centre.
Just a 10 minute walk from Penny lane and the allerton road area, beautiful restaurants and bars a plenty all in walking Distance. We enjoyed fabulous meal and live music / entertainment in the nearby Jalons restaurant, we enjoyed it so much we returned on Sunday for lunch ... Beautiful.

We spent our days in the city centre two cathedrals a good few theatres with most bars having live music for entertainment. Liverpool one and the docks areas also have a lot to offer and we felt that we couldhave spent more time here.

Will be visiting Melanie and her staff again shortly as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misterthrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#29 of 97 in Liverpool
497 reviews
Sefton Park
Sefton Park Hotel
Sefton Park Hotel
#65 of 97 in Liverpool
391 reviews
Park Hotel
#57 of 97 in Liverpool
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sefton Park
Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South
Beech Mount Hotel
#71 of 97 in Liverpool
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Park Hotel

Property: Green Park Hotel
Address: 4-6 Greenbank Drive, Liverpool L17 1AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Sefton Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Green Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Park Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing