We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay at the liner”
Review of The Liner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Liner Hotel
Ranked #23 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2012

stayed at the liner hotel for 2 nights (fri/sat) and thoroughly enjoyed it. it is centrally located next to the train and bus station, the empire theatre and a 5 minute walk into the city centre. The staff are helpful and friendly and the hotel bar has a great atmosphere offering tasty bar food. The restaurant is good value and service is quick and efficient. Rooms are spacious and very clean with lovely comfortable beds and they offer 24 hour room service. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a break for any reason business, leisure etc

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisaSLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,788)
There are newer reviews for The Liner Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,106 - 4,112 of 4,806 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed two nights at the Liner on the super sail away package which included breakfast an evening meal on your first night and afternoon tea on your second day. We thought this package was good value for money especially when the food was so nice. All the staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. We have stayed at this hotel before and will continue to do so as it had everything we needed for a great weekend break.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevmx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The liner, the room was very clean, the staff were friendly,the food excellent. We would definitely recommmend to our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We spent 4 nights at The Liner last week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay

The room was very clean, well presented and the bed was incredibly comfortable.... and big : ) Our only criticism is that it was really warm even with the window constantly open and with our room being at the back overlooking Lime St station, meant we had the pleasure of hearing the trains late at night and first thing : (

Perfect location for walking into town and to the docks to explore.

Breakfast was really nice and there was plenty to choose from and plenty of everything. We returned from our daily adventures at The Castaway bar which was comfortable and had a friendly atmosphere, albeit fairly quiet.

A great stay, we have already recommended to friends and we would most definitely stay here again ourselves.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SParki_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

Just returned, it's just a converted office block that looks a little tatty on approach, we booked a super king room thinking it would be super king but the only thing king was the bed and it was very comfy! The bath handles were broken the glasses were dirty and the cup for coffee was disgusting it looked like it had excrement on it and it had a pubic hair in it, i took it to reception and she agreed with my thinking but didn't even replace it! I would not go back because if they can't get the basics right then Om not sure about the rest! Some sort of apology would of been nice but no nothing but a promise to replace them, which the didn't.
Regards

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My son and I stayed one night at The Liner Hotel, Liverpool and were extremely satisfied with the hotel and it's staff. We arrived before our check in time and the receptionist was very polite and offered to look after our bags in the secure storage room while we explored the city. When we returned we found our room to be modern, clean, fully tiled bathroom with plenty of hot water immediately. Our room was above the reception and was quiet, we had a good nights sleep. The breakfast the following morning was buffet style offering cereal, fruit, yoghurts, cheese, hams, croissants, full english, toast and hot and cold beverages, something to suit everyone. As we had another day of activities planned we were able to leave our bags in the store room again until we left Liverpool in the early evening. Two minutes walk from Lime Street made it a great location and two minutes from the Empire Theatre where we went in the evening. I would hope to stay here again when I next visit Liverpool and would recommennd it to any of my friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I have stayed at the liner hotel on two separate occasions, one, in October 2010 for my friends hen weekend and two, for a family weekend away in June 2012. The liner was perfect for both very different occasions, the location is excellent, a short walk out from line street train station, 3 minutes max!!!
The staff are friendly and rooms are not overly fancy but are very comfortable and suitable for a city break in Liverpool and you make the most of this brilliant city you won't be in your room very much other than to wash and sleep! There is so much to do and see, my favourite uk city by far!
The breakfast is great and the hot food is refreshed regularly. We were not catching our train til late afternoon after checking out and the staff were very accommodating at allowing us to leave our bags and collect them as and when we needed, no time limit. Overall a brilliant, good value hotel suited to every occasion!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauraheartmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,152 reviews
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 98 in Liverpool
1,775 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#56 of 98 in Liverpool
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Address: Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £54 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the City Centre next to Lime Street Station The Liner Hotel is a perfect base to explore the City. Located just two minutes from The Empire Theatre, St. Georges Hall and the World Museum the hotel is in an enviable location. Liverpool One Shopping, Liverpool Echo Arena & Convention Centre are just minutes away. Liverpool Football Club can be reached in just 15 minutes. All bedrooms and public areas are furnished to a high standard with the most recent room refurbishments taking place in January 2017. We offer exceptional value for money with Free WIFI and car parking (subject to availability) included in the rate. The Seven Seas Brasserie & Castaway Bar is open daily with 3 course Pre Theatre Dining available from just £16.50. We hope to see you with us in the near future and don't forget to leave your review! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing