We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice,convenient for Liverpool and Empire theatre.”
Review of The Liner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Liner Hotel
Ranked #23 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
LIVERPOOL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice,convenient for Liverpool and Empire theatre.”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This is a lovely hotel, well placed and a nice atmosphere within.
Staff were pleasant and helpful on the front desk.
Free car parking a good plus ++
Room immaculate and nice bathroom.
Room Service was very quick.
Food was also good.
Will stay here again.
Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EX-KEYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,220
    1,716
    502
    143
    112
See reviews for
634
2,319
183
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I stayed at the Liner Hotel for two nights in September.

On the plus side it has a great location, helpful reception, good rooms and facilities and effortlessly free wi-fi.

On the minus, I don't think the breakfast is worth the additional cost (if you're thinking of paying extra for it) and the hotel dealt very badly with a large party of school children who constantly shouted banged doors, and clogged up the lifts and reception area. I'm well aware that hotels need school trips as a source of income, but as someone who's very used to being on the receiving end of them throughout Europe, I've never seen one so badly handled as here.

So I'd recommend it with the reservation that it's worth checking in advance whether you're going to have to share it with large numbers of noisy and excited teenagers.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franck12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Above average without being over the top. Close to Lime Street (too close sometimes) and the Centre. Breakfast was a bit of a scrum but all well cooked and lots available. Rooms and staff great. Nice little bar on the side.

Room Tip: All similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDavRDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Just back from a great trip in Liverpool. Stayed 2 nights in The Liner and would definitely book it again. We arrived hours before check in and we were able to leave our bags so we could head off into the city and then after we checked out, we were able to leave them for a while. Nice touch.
The room itself was very clean and comfortable and despite overlooking Lime Street Station - it was very quiet. The staff we dealt with were very friendly and helpful. Although we didn't have breakfast there, we did have lunch in The Brasserie one of the days and the food was delicious and great value. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpudShin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHLManager, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear SpudShin,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.
We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service to all of our guests and I am pleased you were able to experience this and our high standards during your stay.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I had booked The Liner upon a recommendation through a colleague; I have told her not to recommend it again. I live 305 miles away from Liverpool and was travelling up on business. 5 minutes before I was due to set off, I received a phone call from the hotel advising they had overbooked the hotel and although they had "spent all day” trying to find me another hotel to stay in, they had failed, so they were moving me to an apartment about 20 minutes away and would pay for my taxi's to and from the hotel - not convenient at all. 20 minutes into my journey, I get a call saying it had all been sorted and I had my room back... I was mortified - I had delayed my journey so that I could print off all the new details, change the evening plans etc, for them to say it was all sorted... upon arrival they were apologetic but they acted as if it happened all the time. The room was very clean but you couldn't get into the mini bar, which was disappointing after my long drive. After a good night sleep, I was in need of breakfast as I had a very long day ahead... No chance, there was a cue of people waiting in front of me and had been for 20-30 minutes and was told, if I wanted breakfast, I would have to wait unless there was someone I knew to sit with. After waiting about 10 minutes, I gave up as had to get to our conference venue. The hotel did take off the room service I had ordered the previous night but again, a half-hearted apology was given. On the flip side, the parking was free and could keep the car there all day which was helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterlee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

A disappointing end to an average stay. When a receptionists made a mistake by taking my money and forgetting she had done so, the other receptionist was quite insulting by questioning my honesty. Her attitude also made another guest feel embarrassed, Unfortunately when the manageress was called, she also showed no respect by brushing over the stress this was causing both my wife and I. No apology was offered when a count of the money in the till proved the receptionist had made a mistake. I accept that people make mistakes, but the attitude of the other receptionist was disgraceful.
The room was ok, but the tv was too samall, and the breakfast consisted of poor quality ingredients.
The room we had was very warm, requiring the window to be kept open, but the room was above the smoking area and when the smokers from a wedding party were using the area, their noisy talk and laughter kept waking us up.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel - so it isn't above the smoking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sensayuma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHLManager, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear sensayuma2,
Many thanks for your feedback, i have been made aware of this and that this situation was resolved quickly.I am saddened to hear you felt that the staff were unhelpful on this occasion.
We appreciate your feedback, and once again we apologise for your inconvenience.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

The hotel and the staff are absolutely brilliant can't fault them at all, but was woken up at about 3am by the next room playing extremely loud music, screaming,shouting n knocking things over.
I know there was a wedding here n people had a lot to drink but when u pay good money for a room to sleep in u hope to at least get some sleep

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missm2473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHLManager, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Missm2473,
Thank you for staying at our hotel. We are very sorry for any inconvenience caused to you due to the noise issues.
We appreciate your feedback, which will help us to improve our services for all our future guests.
Once again we are very sorry for your inconvenience.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,012 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
1,378 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 97 in Liverpool
582 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 97 in Liverpool
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Property: The Liner Hotel
Address: Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the City Centre next to Lime Street Station The Liner Hotel is a perfect base to explore the City. Located just two minutes from The Empire Theatre, St. Georges Hall and the World Museum the hotel is in an enviable location. Liverpool One Shopping, Liverpool Echo Arena & Convention Centre are just minutes away. Liverpool Football Club can be reached in just 15 minutes. All bedrooms and public areas are furnished to a high standard with the most recent room refurbishments taking place in January 2017. We offer exceptional value for money with Free WIFI and car parking (subject to availability) included in the rate. The Seven Seas Brasserie & Castaway Bar is open daily with 3 course Pre Theatre Dining available from just £16.50. We hope to see you with us in the near future and don't forget to leave your review! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing