We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Liner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Liner Hotel
Ranked #25 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We came to Liverpool for a hen do and expected to just check in to a standard hotel.
It was a great surprise when we arrived at a themed hotel, it was a nice change,
The décor throughout was amazing and made the stay interesting. The Bar was especially good for a hotel bar. The drinks and food were good value for money and there was a good atmosphere.
The staff we really welcoming and friendly, with a 'nothings too much trouble' attitude.

I will certainly be visiting Liverpool again and certainly be booking this Hotel.

I would recommend this for any age, group and occasion.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucykgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Lucykgreen,
Thank you for leaving such a positive review on your recent stay at The Liner Hotel.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, if you come back to Liverpool.
Kind Regards,
The Liner Hotels Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,042
    1,588
    468
    128
    109
See reviews for
574
2,163
163
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,066)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Have stayed at this hotel on 3 ocassions before. It has always been very welcoming on every ocassion. Great value for money. very good location just round the corner from the train station, just up abit of a hill. The bar and the restaurant in the hotel are excellent food and drinks great.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beckybling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear beckybling,
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment and provide such positive feedback on The Liner Hotel. We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service to our guests and I am pleased you were able to experience our high standards during your stay.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Great Hotel and really nice staff... Stayed 1 night and no complaints what so ever... even a wake up call from the fire alarm couldn't spoil it... fellow guest tried to smoke in an non smoking room much to the joy of us all...

All in all great hotel, fab facilities and would definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackiepate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear ackiepate,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.
We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service to all of our guests and I am pleased you were able to experience this and our high standards during your stay.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We booked The Liner hotel for our wedding party (due to getting married abroad) 20 months in advance. We had an initial meeting in August 2011 when we booked along with a final meeting in March 2013 with numerous emails back and forth in between.

GOOD POINTS:
1) We chose to have cocktails on arrival in Martini glasses. The Liner hotel didn't have enough so hired these in at no extra charge for us which was great.
2) We got the Penthouse Suite in with hiring the Britannic suite for the wedding party, which is a lovely room. However this comes with a negative itself- after getting to bed at 3am we were woken up around 7am by the sound of the tannoy from Lime Street Station below us!

BAD POINTS:
1) The wedding coordinator wasn't there on the day and no-one came to introduce themselves as a 'go-to' person in case of any problems, and no-one came to ask if we wanted/needed any help setting up the room.
2) We had family travelling from all over Britain who had booked to stay in The Liner that night. As a result we booked enough tables for 40-odd guests to have tea with us in the hotel's restaurant before the party. At our final meeting we told the wedding coordinator there would be no table decorations, and no place settings and no seating plan as it was just an informal evening meal. When we arrived the tables were set up in a formal wedding set up with a top table and I was hassled to provide a seating plan and table settings whilst trying to have my hair and make up done.
3) We found a member of staff and asked him to make the dance floor bigger. He said he would but he didn't- in fact the dance floor tiles broke away from eachother as our guests danced on them during the night, and no-one came to fix them!
4) At the final meeting we were asked what time bar we wanted. We asked for last orders 1:30am and closed bar 2am which was the latest option. On the night, last orders were called at midnight. When my husband tried to explain we'd agreed on a 2am bar he was greeted with an attitude from a female member of bar staff.
5) A list of 'must play' songs was sent to the wedding co-ordinator on 8th March which she told me she would forward on to the DJ. A week before the party I had a call from the DJ asking if we still wanted him as he hadn’t heard from us. He also asked if we had a list of songs we wanted him to play. I explained that I emailed all of this info to the coordinator on 8th March to pass on to him, but he said he never received anything. I had to tell him there would be a band, which he’d need to share the stage with as he wasn’t informed of this, either.
6) Generally throughout the evening a few different members of staff kept asking us questions such as 'are you doing a first dance', 'are you cutting the cake' etc. All of which we had agreed with the wedding coordinator, again at the final meeting.
7) When we originally booked we were told the DJ was included in the hire of the Britannic Suite. When we had our final meeting and came to pay the balance they tried to charge us £250 for the DJ!
7) Worst thing- our party was on 27th April. I emailed some feedback to the wedding coordinator on 29th April. Today is the 23rd June and Im still awaiting a response!

ADVICE IF YOU HAVE PLANNED A CELEBRATION HERE:
1) Make sure you get everything you have agreed on in writing, preferably emails.
2) Make sure you are aware whether the event organiser will be at your event on the day and if not, who do you go to.
3) Agree on what will happen if your event doesn't go as you have planned and agreed!

The best thing is, trip advisor is advertised in The Liner Hotel lift, which is what prompted me to leave a review in the first place!

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay here again because I live in Liverpool, however I would advise choosing a room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gina130284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

This hotel is in a good location , there is an exit from the train station that leads out onto Lord Nelson Street. Turn right and you can see The Liner hotel ! Walking from the hotel takes about 10 minutes to Liverpool One and slightly longer to the University on Brownlow Hill. It takes about the same time to walk to The Egg Café, a great vegetarian and vegan eatery,the walk back means you can walk off the delicious home made cake !
The staff at the hotel were all friendly and helpful, even at 1 o'clock in the morning when the fire alarm sounded and all the guests had to evacuate the hotel, the staff calmly handed out blankets and got us all back inside and up to our rooms as soon as the fire brigade gave the all clear. The room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was average. When you check out, the hotel will store your luggage for you, which means you can go shopping or the cinema and pick your bag up on the way to your train. Overall, good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Jo W,
We love to hear back from guests to hear how their stay was. I will pass on your comments to the whole of our team. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we are grateful you took the time to review our hotel.
We hope to welcome you back to The Liner Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent if wanting to access the Lime St railway station. Rooms good, staff friendly and bar and restaurant good. My only suggestion would be to get a room away from the fire doors as they crash loudly every time someone comes through, which is often. Did not have a problem with any noise from the railway or from the street.

Room Tip: Try for a room well away from the fire doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Carolyn A,
Thank you very much for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Feedback is very important to the hotel and we appreciate guest comments. Thank you again and we look forward to your return visit
Kind Regards,
The Liner Hotels Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Four of us stayed here for 2 nights with excellent rates via expedia. It is a 10-15 minute walk from albert dock, right next to Lime st station. Staff were very friendly , rooms were clean and most importantly of all, we could park next to the hotel securely and for free. I did not find breakfast particularly appealing but for the money we paid I have no complaints. Would use again when in Liverpool.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SledgeHammer955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear SledgeHammer955,
Thank you for ltaking the time to reveiw your recent stay with us.We are very fortunate on the location of the hotel and the fact we have our own car park, something that is very rare in the Liverpool city centre area.Please know that feedback like yours is used to help and improve the service we provide.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,779 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Property: The Liner Hotel
Address: Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Liner is quite simply a hotel like no other. Step inside and you will be transported back to the golden age of ocean travel, when only the highest standards of comfort, quality and service would suffice. From the brass portholes to the welcoming and dedicated crew, The Liner bears all the authentic hallmarks of the world's finest cruise ships. 152 Superbly appointed cabins on four decks await guests with a desire for something entirely out of the ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Hotelopia and TravelUp so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing