We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of The Liner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Liner Hotel
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

we stayed in the liner on the sunday night and only payed 45 pound through alpha rooms,the receptionists were very helpful when we booked in, the rooms are to a 3 star standard but for some reason were very hot even with the heating off,the breakfast was very good but we could not believe how busy and noisy it got in there it did resemble a canteen.The hotel has got a restaurant and a bar which we didnt use but looked excellent facilities, and there was also tables and chairs in the front of the hotel for you to relax in,on the whole we enjoyed our stay in the liner its locality to liverpool centre is excellent for its only a short walk through lime street station,we look forward to our next stay at the liner

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear david l,
Thank you for your recent review, I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It was great to hear that you found our location to the city centre and Limestreet train station convenient. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,169
    1,676
    499
    143
    111
See reviews for
618
2,275
176
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed for 5 days while attending a meeting in LIverpool. I was extremely happy with the choice. The hotel is very conveniently located and the price is surprisingly good. The nautical theme does wear a little thin at times. The wifi was weak and somewhat challenging, but it did function and was free. The breakfasts included with the meal were excellent, I was very impressed with the choices available.

My room overall was excellent, but the sink in my bathroom drained much too slowly, it was clear there was a serious blockage somewhere. I'd have given the hotel top marks if that had been dealt with during my stay. I had complained two or three times about it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HowardFreeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear HowardFreeland,
Thank you for your comments following your 5 night stay at The Liner, we are so pleased to hear you was happy with your choice of hotel. It was great to hear that you found the location and the price to be good. Thank you for your feedback on the WIFI and problem with the sink in your bedroom, I will pass these on to the relevant departments to look into. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel In the near future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level Contributor
295 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

--- in the ideal loc.for shops buses .trains, but esp. footie the main purpose of our visit. the hotel is super clean, decent size rooms--- ous shower could have been more powerful though. and an iron in room would have been handy.Check in was easy, staff very nice and helpful. lovely decorated room with comfy bed--- very warm though but little fans were provided along with a safe in our room. Breakfast was super freshly cooked and a great start to the day. Car park free for residents-- if your lucky to get a space!. Only downside-- lifts are quite small and seem to go wherever they like, especially after breakfast when lots of people checking out want to use them!.
A great stay in a great hotel, we will stay again ane rec. it to others.

Room Tip: no preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janiceHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear janiceHome,
Thank you for your kind review, I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great to read that you found the hotel to be in a convenient location to the football ground and shops. Thank you for taking your time to reflect on your recent stay and we are so pleased to hear that you will stay again and have recommended us to others
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

four of us stayed at the liner hotel we all have different viewpoints but all of us found this hotel really excellent the check in staff were fine.Rooms comfortable we ate in the hotel mainly because
the weather was'ent good and found the restaurant to be excellent value.we all thouroughly recommend this hotel
and hope you enjoy it as much as we did

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike139991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear mike139991,
Thank you for your recent review it was great to hear that you found the hotel comfortable and enjoyed our food. We are so pleased that you have recommend our hotel to others, we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed here for four nights in October 2013. The hotel has a central location with a 5 minute walk to the city centre.
It has a free car park for residents with plenty of spaces. Although the car park is open for non residents, for a charge, they appear to try and keep spaces for residents.
The staff are efficient, friendly and helpful. Breakfast is fully self service and it is well resourced by staff so didn't have to wait for a table.
We ate in the ground floor restaurant and bar. On both occasions the food was good with the exception of over cooked salmon in the restaurant. When we pointed this out to our server she quickly apologised and reduced the price of the bill.
Overall: great place, friendly staff and close to all Liverpool has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh5160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Hugh5160,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at the Liner Hotel. We are pleased to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us. It was great to see that our location was useful for you, and that our rooms and our staff were all to your liking. I hope that you will consider us again next time you are in Liverpool.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated by the Liverpool line street (very close). The checking in time was good and staff were very polite! The rooms were comfortable and had good decor! My only negative is the breakfast as I felt it was too greasy and rushed to serve to waiting guests. Overall I would definitely recommend a stay!

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tyrone F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Tyrone F,
Thank you for such a positive review of your time with us at the Liner Hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and that our proximity to Limestreet Train station and the checking in time was good. Thank you for your kind comment regarding the staff being polite, I will pass this on. We are sorry to hear that your only negative was regarding breakfast, I will make sure I pass this comment on to the breakfast department to see if we can improve anything in the future. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Compliments to the chef our evening meal was gorgeous. We had chicken on a bed of crushed new potatoes with a wonderful tasty sauce really surprised of the flavour and presentation the description didn't do it any justice. It was a lovely clean hotel and the staff very friendly. It is ideal if your travelling by train into Lime Street Station as we did, as it was just up the side in between the Empire theatre and the station. Breakfast was included in the price which was very reasonable. We spent the evening in at the hotel attending a wonderful showcase of various entertainers they where top class. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvs2cruise2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear luvs2cruise2013,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, and for awarding us a 5* rating. I am very pleased you enjoyed your time with us, and that the hotel lived up to your standards. It was great to hear you enjoyed your meal in our Seven Seas Brasserie, I will share this lovely review with the chefs. We hope you will consider us again next time you are in Liverpool.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 97 in Liverpool
3,948 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
1,360 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 97 in Liverpool
579 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#22 of 97 in Liverpool
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Property: The Liner Hotel
Address: Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the City Centre next to Lime Street Station The Liner Hotel is a perfect base to explore the City. Located just two minutes from The Empire Theatre, St. Georges Hall and the World Museum the hotel is in an enviable location. Liverpool One Shopping, Liverpool Echo Arena & Convention Centre are just minutes away. Liverpool Football Club can be reached in just 15 minutes. All bedrooms and public areas are furnished to a high standard with the most recent room refurbishments taking place in January 2017. We offer exceptional value for money with Free WIFI and car parking (subject to availability) included in the rate. The Seven Seas Brasserie & Castaway Bar is open daily with 3 course Pre Theatre Dining available from just £16.50. We hope to see you with us in the near future and don't forget to leave your review! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing