We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel & great location”
Review of The Liner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Liner Hotel
Ranked #23 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel & great location”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed one night with a friend as we had an evening event in St George's Hall. Staff on reception were very friendly and helpful. Our room was a good size, clean and well-equipped with tea/coffee & biscuits, hairdryer and toiletries in the bathroom. The only thing missing was a safety deposit box. We enjoyed a very reasonably-priced bottle of house wine in the bar and breakfast was self-service with a wide selection and very friendly staff. There is free parking if you need it and it's location is great for central Liverpool events and shopping etc. It is also very close to Lime Street Station if you are travelling by train. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenerfingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,220
    1,717
    502
    143
    112
See reviews for
634
2,320
183
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Ideally located for the city centre. Breakfast reasonable choice,can't comment on dinner as we ate out both nights. Room fairly bog standard but clean & decent sized bed. Would stay here again if we returned to Liverpool.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinem076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

14 woman on a christmas weekend, fantastic base, around the corner from lime street, granted if your facing the station its noisy...shut your window at night!!
Rooms very clean and comfortable, tea, coffee, biscuits etc in the room. Shampoo, conditioner etc in the bathrooms.
staff were very helpful, in anything asked of them, very polite, even drew the route to our destinaton. Gave us extra milk for our rooms when asked. The breakfast was very good, plenty of choice and you could help yourself as many times as you wished..
We never sampled the bar :-(
We never went in the restaurant, but wish we had, it seemed very good value for money, unlike the red hot buffet we visited.
we would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howfener20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of friends. Staff were friendly and efficient. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Buffet breakfast was very good. We liked the fact that the bar was more like a pub than a hotel bar and stayed open late. Free parking was a bonus. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Joanne264 ,
Thank you for your kind review and rewarding us a five star rating. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great to hear that you would recommend us and you found the hotel to meet all your needs with regards to location and standards. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Very convenient for shopping and Theatre, rooms lovely (if a bit warm), great buffet breakfast, freshly cooked and good variety, beds so comfy. Only problem was that this visit we were facing Lime Street station and they were working all night so very noisy (we were told that they were not supposed to work between 10pm - 6am) but not Hotels fault. Will definately go back but will ask for room on other side

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank wallete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear wallete,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am very pleased you enjoyed your time with us, and that the hotel and facilities were all to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed here over the weekend 6-8 dec 13, and can only say what a great hotel it was ........the location was perfect for all the delights the city had to offer.
our room was v comfortable , staff friendly and helpful........the breakfast was out of this world, all in all worth every penny we paid

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Dave L ,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay – I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us.Your kind words regarding our staff and facilities are much appreciated, and I hope you will consider us again next time you are in Liverpool.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Came this weekend with my wife and 2 daughters and we where more than impressed! Just off the train only a stone throw away from the station!

Rooms where nice, reception was lovely and the place is greatly themed throughout.

One thing I must mention is the service in The Seven Seas. We was greeted and looked after by a young lad who said his name was Ste. Himself and the other girls that where on where brilliant! He brought childrens menus for my daughters and even talked us into so chocolate fudge! Food was excellent but the waiting team made the night being friendly and having a great time with customers so thanks to Ste and the girls!

Will be coming back for sure early next year.

10 out of 10

Thank you Liverpool!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Paul H ,
Thank you for reflecting on your recent stay with us, and for awarding us a 5* rating. I am very pleased you enjoyed your time with us, and that the hotel and facilities were all to your liking. I hope you will consider us again next time you are in Liverpool. Once again thank you for your kind review.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,012 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
1,378 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 97 in Liverpool
582 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 97 in Liverpool
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Property: The Liner Hotel
Address: Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the City Centre next to Lime Street Station The Liner Hotel is a perfect base to explore the City. Located just two minutes from The Empire Theatre, St. Georges Hall and the World Museum the hotel is in an enviable location. Liverpool One Shopping, Liverpool Echo Arena & Convention Centre are just minutes away. Liverpool Football Club can be reached in just 15 minutes. All bedrooms and public areas are furnished to a high standard with the most recent room refurbishments taking place in January 2017. We offer exceptional value for money with Free WIFI and car parking (subject to availability) included in the rate. The Seven Seas Brasserie & Castaway Bar is open daily with 3 course Pre Theatre Dining available from just £16.50. We hope to see you with us in the near future and don't forget to leave your review! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing