We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Liner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Liner Hotel
Ranked #23 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Totally would recommend. every part of our stay was perfect. great room, great staff, great location. book now....!!!!!!!!!!!! We have stayed there in a family room which was spacious and well designed, the breakfast was very tasty, and the sleep was brilliant.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear keannon S ,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, and for awarding us a 5* rating. I am very pleased you enjoyed your time with us, and that the hotels facilities and location were all to your liking. Once again thank you and we hope that you will come and stay with us again soon.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,081)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,462 - 3,468 of 5,081 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Situated next to and overlooking a busy, noisy train station. Exterior looks like a dirty block of council flats. Step inside and you instantly get transported back in time by about 50 years. Very old and grim, don't think it's been updated since it was formally known as "The Gladstone" . HUGE queue out the door at check-in and only one receptionist. asked for my card details again even though I'd already paid. They said it was for any "extra charges" I might incur whilst staying there, and even though I made it clear that there was not going to be any, I still got forced to hand over all my details. "Cabins" tired looking, expensive and overpriced for what's in them - some shabby wooden furnature and 15" TV which doesn't even work. Stayed well away from the mini-bar. Majority of rooms overlook the train station and the noise is goddamn awful. Whistling, shouting, banging, building work going on constantly. Just wanted some quiet relaxation time and was not able to get a minutes peace. And Let's not mention the ARMY of damn seaguls which have taken over the roofs of surrounding buildings and swoop down to attack any innocent human walking past for no reason!!! Absolutely terrible hotel. There are much better, modern ones in surrounding area for a LOT cheaper. I would not reccommend anyone stay in this hotel unless you are old and hard of hearing. Will not be back and advising others to stay clear. Staff need to jump ship before the captain goes down with it.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TruthieTrutherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear SuperSilverHaze,
We are very sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed your recent stay with us. The Hotel underwent full Refurbishment in 2004 and we are currently undergoing further refurbishment with 75% of the Hotel now complete. I do apologise you were not allocated one of our newly refurbished cabins which you would have found to be more modern and luxurious with a 26” TV. The remaining 25% of our cabins will be complete by April 2014. If you return to Liverpool I do hope you will consider staying with us again and we would happily offer you one of our newly refurbished cabins at a discounted rate.
Kind Regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Booked this hotel for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. We checked in about 2.30 Christmas Eve. On arrival we were given literature showing what was open or closed in the hotel and surrounding area plus a menu for The Seven Seas Brasserie showing a Christmas menu for the 25th December and the following week and the opening times. After a good breakfast went for a walk and came back looking forward to a nice meal. When we noticed the Brasserie was not open we asked at reception for the opening time.We were told it does not open Christmas Day for meals but a complimentary free buffet would be available from 6.30. We were also told no alcohol could be bought only soft drinks were available. Who has ever heard of a hotel this size closing their restaurants and bars on Christmas Day. We picked this hotel because of the amenities available to guests. We were not told when we checked in that no food or alcohol were available Christmas Day, The whole idea of a mini break at Christmas is being wined and dined by somebody else. I have never been so disgusted in my life. So we checked out and came home. So if anyone is thinking of booking this hotel I advise you to check what is open or closed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The hotel was very good value for the price we paid. It was situated next to the rail station and convenient for the shops and open top bus tour. We visited the Albert Dock and Maritime Museum which were both very interesting. All the hotel staff were very friendly. The breakfast buffet was excellent with good quality food. One drawback I could see to visiting this hotel is the lack of air conditioning in the rooms. We visited in December and had to turn the heating off and open the windows. I would imagine it could become stiflingly hot in the summer. We stayed on the 4th floor and were awoken ever morning by loud noises from the heating system starting up early in the morning.

Room Tip: Floors 4 and above suffer from early morning noise from the heating system.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staffsgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My husband and I stayed for 1 night at this well-located hotel while meeting friends for shopping, drinking, eating and general festive cheer. Our room was modern, clean and comfortable although the shower left something to be desired as it had little power. The staff were warm and welcoming and the reception area was pleasant and inviting. Breakfast was fine and when I asked for fresh lemon slices to accompany hot water it was provided quickly. One of the reasons we chose this hotel was the free parking as that is a real bonus in the centre of a city. On our second day we walked to the Liverpool Life museum which was well worth a visit. Would certainly return and would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and it was apart from people disturbing us at 3.30 by partying in their ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Stayed for an overnight and it was a great stay.
The Hotel was lovely, very warm and friendly, the staff were all very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
The room was very nice, warm and the bed very comfortable. the bathroom was very clean and smart, with wonderful fluffy towels.
Lunch in the restaurant was very nice, well presented and served.
The breakfast buffet was excellent.
I will most definitely stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellsbells57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This is a gem of a place, we arrived in Lime Street and it is a short walk to the Liner Hotel. We had an early lunch before going to the pantomime and we were not disappointed. It was not busy but our waitress Rachel was very attentive and made various suggestions to us. For someone so young she made us feel very welcome. I had the veggie burger and seasoned fries and it was very nice, Mum had a sandwich and she enjoyed that too it came with side salad and crisps and came to £15 all in all with our coffee, very good value and will definitely use again but will look to stay over next time. Thanks for a lovely start to our day.

Room Tip: This is a short walk from lime street station so is ideal to unload your bags and paint the town red...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank CrummyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
4,324 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#58 of 99 in Liverpool
606 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Address: Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#7 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £48 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the City Centre next to Lime Street Station The Liner Hotel is a perfect base to explore the City. Located just two minutes from The Empire Theatre, St. Georges Hall and the World Museum the hotel is in an enviable location. Liverpool One Shopping, Liverpool Echo Arena & Convention Centre are just minutes away. Liverpool Football Club can be reached in just 15 minutes. All bedrooms and public areas are furnished to a high standard with the most recent room refurbishments taking place in January 2017. We offer exceptional value for money with Free WIFI and car parking (subject to availability) included in the rate. The Seven Seas Brasserie & Castaway Bar is open daily with 3 course Pre Theatre Dining available from just £16.50. We hope to see you with us in the near future and don't forget to leave your review! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing