We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beside lime street station”
Review of The Liner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Liner Hotel
Ranked #23 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel is in a great location beside lime st train station.we were told at reception that the wifi was slow but in fact the wifi didnt work at all! I ate in the hotel bar and had the burger which was poor.breakfast was very good and staff were very friendly

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank brendan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear brendan c,
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent trip to The Liner Hotel. We are sorry to hear you was disappointed with your burger and the WIFI, I will pass this feedback on to the relevant departments. We hope that this will not dissuade you from staying with us again.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,311 - 3,317 of 4,976 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Had a fantastic stay at this hotel, pity we were only here for one night. We were upgraded to a family cabin, free of charge. Loved the Castaway bar at night. Staff were helpful and friendly. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claireei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Claireei,
Thank you for your kind review, it was lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so pleased to hear that you felt the hotel should be awarded more than 3 stars. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff, I will be sure to pass this on to them. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Great hotel I’ve in 5 star hotels and the service hasn’t been as good.
Friendly staff, Tasty food.Great value hotel, in an excellent location close to lime st station and a 10 walk to albert dock. Room was spotless and a great bathroom and shower

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmy096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear jimmy096,
Thank you for your kind review and rewarding us a five star rating. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great to hear that you found the hotel to meet all your needs with regards to location, budget and standards. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards.
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel very clean and staff friendly Room good size for a couple of Days stop However the Extractor in the bathroom would not switch off and if you are at the back of the hotel you can hear the some noise from the Train Station Food great and good prices

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lfhkro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Lfhkro,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, I am pleased to hear you had a comfortable stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you had a couple of issues with the train station noise and the extractor fan, I will pass these on to the relevant departments to look into and address where they can. I hope you will consider us again next time you are in Liverpool.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Just stayed for 2 nights and really rate this hotel. The accommodation and food were excellent - the room was bigger than expected considering the 'cabin' theme - bed was very comfortable, marble bathroom was lovely. Breakfast was great and we ended up eating in the hotel for several lunches and an evening meal due to bad weather and great value deals at the hotel (we are not young anymore) - food was really good quality as well as good value. And there was a brilliant deal on the wine....Location is excellent, only minutes from Lime St station and not much further to the town. The free parking was an bonus but also a potential problem- when we arrived there were one or two spaces left, but car park was full by the time we parked up, and during the time we were there it was pretty much full throughout - would much prefer to have been able to pay for reserved parking rather than taking our chances with non residents taking advantage of the cheap parking offers.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happycoastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear happycoastie,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, and for awarding us a 5* rating. I am very pleased you enjoyed your time with us, and that the hotel and facilities were all to your liking. I hope you will consider us again next time you are in Liverpool.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights only a 5 minute walk through the railway station to the city centre staff friendly and polite, rooms decorated to a high standard, and spotless clean hairdryer and tea n coffee in room also mini bar, the breakfast was a buffet style with orange juice cereals and full english eat as much as you want definitely stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Michael G ,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Liner Hotel. It was nice to read you enjoyed your time with us, and that the hotel and facilities were all to your liking. I hope you will consider us again next time you are in Liverpool.
Kind Regards
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Good room (5th floor front of hotel - we phoned ahead and asked for a quiet room), very clean, good staff, very good location, decent breakfast, amazing value (we got a deal with an agent). But, pounding disco music until quarter past one in the morning on a Sunday night so little sleep (ear plugs did not help). The young man on duty did his very best but there was only so much he could do.
If the function room was soundproofed this hotel would be pretty unbeatable for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pippinpoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Pippinpoll ,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us at The Liner Hotel. I am sorry that you was disturbed by the noise from the train station we are currently liaising with the station to come to an agreement on the volume levels of the tannoy system. We hope you will consider us again next time you are in Liverpool.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
4,300 reviews
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#26 of 99 in Liverpool
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Address: Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £49 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the City Centre next to Lime Street Station The Liner Hotel is a perfect base to explore the City. Located just two minutes from The Empire Theatre, St. Georges Hall and the World Museum the hotel is in an enviable location. Liverpool One Shopping, Liverpool Echo Arena & Convention Centre are just minutes away. Liverpool Football Club can be reached in just 15 minutes. All bedrooms and public areas are furnished to a high standard with the most recent room refurbishments taking place in January 2017. We offer exceptional value for money with Free WIFI and car parking (subject to availability) included in the rate. The Seven Seas Brasserie & Castaway Bar is open daily with 3 course Pre Theatre Dining available from just £16.50. We hope to see you with us in the near future and don't forget to leave your review! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing