We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“After seeing the outside, very suprised” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Liner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Liner Hotel
Ranked #25 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
“After seeing the outside, very suprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

first plus point on arrival was the car park which a lot of city centre hotels lack, however we were concerned with the exterior of the building. Once inside though, wow! Like a completely different hotel.

Receptionist was very helpful and welcoming, as were all staff we encountered. The room was basic but clean and tidy and nicely done.

Only a short walk into the city centre which was great.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We weren't affected but it is next to the train station so something to bare in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freqtraveller90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear freqtraveller90,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay – I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and facilities these are greatly appreciated. I hope you will consider us again next time you are in Liverpool.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,037
    1,587
    468
    128
    109
See reviews for
574
2,160
163
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,066)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Spent one night on my wife's birthday. We had an early check in and found our room to be very clean & comfortable. There is free parking adjacent to the hotel. The location was ideal as we were going to a show at the Empire Theatre which was approx 200m away. We had a few drinks [reasonably priced] at the Castaway Bar, which is part of the hotel. The breakfast was very nice with plenty of choices. We've stayed before and will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Gerald G,
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased that your wife had an enjoyable birthday with us. It was great to read that you found the car park and location useful for your recent trip to Liverpool. We are very pleased to hear that you would return to the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Having stayed recently with mum at the hotel we had a fantstastic time.The food is second to non would recommend the theatre menu good value for money lots of choice.The staff were very friendly nothing was too much trouble our waitress rachael was lovely.Our room on the fourth floor had fantastic views of the area a vey quiet room soft pillows what a treat would highly recommend to anyone worth a visit you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear ellen h,
Thank you for awarding us a 5 star rating, that is very kind. We are so pleased to read how you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great to read that you chose to eat in our Seven Seas Brasserie and felt our pre theatre menu was great value for money. Thank you for your very kind comments regarding the hotel its facilities and staff. We hope we can welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the liner while visiting the football. Compared to other hotels, the price was slightly cheaper. Parking on site was a major plus!! We were upgraded to a suite for free, which was really nice! The room was comfortable. However, be warned it is right next to the train station - not so bad waking up on a Sunday but if its a mid week break then you might be in for some early starts! Maybe check where in the hotel your room is. All in all, a nice hotel with clean, comfortable rooms, well located. We visited the bar later on in the evening and the cocktails were yummy! I am sure ill visit again :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank toffeegirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear toffeegirlie,
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay with us. It was great to hear that you was happy with the location, value and standard of room at The Liner Hotel. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed some cocktails in our Castaway bar. I will pass on your kind comments to the staff and we hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

6 of us went to The Liner on the 21st March for a boys night out and an overnight at The Liner. We'd booked 10 days before and we all sorted. On the afternoon before we arrived I received a call to say we were double-booked and would have to be split up as a party. 2 at The Liner and 4 at Jurys Inn on the dock. I was not impressed at all.
However, when we arrived at The Liner to sort this out the staff were so helpful, nothing was too much trouble, and they even got us all a free beer while we checked in. They took care of all the taxis too and from the two different hotels and gave us our breakfast on them the following morning.
When we were checking out I was asked if the manager could speak to me. I said yes and 5mins later a chap called Graham Howells turned up and was very apologetic and asked if there was anything else he and his team could do. By this point we were all super pleased with how we'd been treated so I said no.
All in all a superb example of customer service as it used to be - well done The Liner!
I can thoroughly recommend this hotel and the staff are there to help you have a great stay. We'll definitely be back to Liverpool and we'll be staying at The Liner for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHLManager, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Many thanks for rewarding The Liner Hotel with a 5* Review.

We pride ourselves with excellent customer service at The Liner Hotel and strive to exceed guest expectations at all times. Were possible we always try our best to avoid out booking situations and ensure we accommodate our guests at The Liner Hotel. I apologise this was a situation out of our control. On a highly positive note it is great to hear that you found that the out booking handled well by the team and we hope to see you back at The Liner Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Just spent 3 nights at the Liner and found the hotel well presented, the staff were very friendly and helpful and a big plus was the free parking. The breakfast choice was good.it's in a great location, close to all attractions..thanks to all for making our stay very nice.. Will definitely return.....

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Michael J,
Thank you for your kind review and rewarding us a five star rating. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your 3 night stay with us. I am very pleased you enjoyed your time with us, and that the hotel met all your needs with regards to location, budget and standards. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

The Liner is clean, friendly and brilliantly located just a minute or so walk from Lime Streer station. The staff were helpful and the hotel is great value. I would definitely stay here again. It's the ideal budget hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHLManager, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Many thanks for rewarding The Liner Hotel with a 4* review.

We agree that we are in a fantastic location to Lime Street Station making The Liner Hotel a convenient choice for those traveling by train. Please don't forget we also offer free car parking to guests travelling by car!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,776 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Property: The Liner Hotel
Address: Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Liner is quite simply a hotel like no other. Step inside and you will be transported back to the golden age of ocean travel, when only the highest standards of comfort, quality and service would suffice. From the brass portholes to the welcoming and dedicated crew, The Liner bears all the authentic hallmarks of the world's finest cruise ships. 152 Superbly appointed cabins on four decks await guests with a desire for something entirely out of the ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda and Hotelopia so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing