We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Stars for this Three Star!”
Review of The Liner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Liner Hotel
Ranked #23 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Liner for three nights from the 21st April as an Anniversary break in order to visit the city of Liverpool and all it has to offer. I chose this hotel based on the consistently good Tripadvisor reviews and the budget which we had available. I booked it through one of the companies advertised on the Tripadvisor Hotel page and got an excellent rate for a standard room with breakfast included. I was also attracted by the fact that our hotel offered free car parking and wi-fi facilities.

I have to say that despite my reservations that this is listed as a 3 Star hotel it far and away exceeded my expectations delivering the kind of service and hospitality that I've found lacking in many higher graded hotels I've stayed at over the years.

Despite it's rather bland outer appearance (it looks just like an office block) the interior is well presented and welcoming. It has a nautical theme throughout from the impressive marine fish tank in Reception to the decor of all the rooms on each of the six floors.

On Check-In we were told that we'd received a complimentary upgrade to a King Room complete with bathrobes, bottled water and cupcakes. A very pleasant bonus indeed.
Our room (404) had a very similar layout to a Premier Inn, dominated by the biggest bed I've ever seen easily some 7 feet wide! The room decor was very pleasant and well presented although it did feel like it was due a little bit of 'sprucing up' but nothing major enough to be over critical. The bathroom was a good size and the room offered everything you need as a base for any visit: Flat Screen TV, Tea/Coffee facilities, Hairdryer, Mini Bar Fridge (if you needed it although the contents are very expensive!), plenty of wardrobe space, chairs and table, very clean bed linen, soft towels and complimentary toiletries.
The bed was very comfortable and, being at the front of the hotel, it was reasonably quiet. The sound of cars in the morning would wake me but then we slept with the window open and it was no more noisy than anywhere else you'd stay with a road outside. The only niggle I had with the bed was that the pillows were a tad too small and soft for my liking but that's a personal preference.

Having travelled a long distance to get there we remained in the hotel on the Monday evening and used the Castaway Bar in the hotel. Decorated with a 'beach' theme the bar offered Sky Sports TV, a pool table, jukebox and a range of comfortable seating with which to enjoy your drinks. we took the opportunity to eat from the bar menu and had a couple of burgers which I have to say were probably the best tasting burgers I've had (the blue cheese & mushroom burger was delicious!).

The following morning we went down for breakfast about 8am. I'd read previously about it being cramped and busy and true enough around 8.45 it does get busy but on every occasion we ate breakfast as soon as the breakfast room became busy the doors were opened into the overspill room to accomodate extra guests. Breakfast is served Buffet style. There is ample tea, coffee and juice as well as cereals, yoghurts, fruit, pastries, continental breakfast fayre and the usual English breakfast components. Nothing was ever left to run out. As soon as food was low it was topped up straight away and, once again, I cannot fault the quality of what was on offer. I also have to give credit to the Supervisor and her staff who ensured that all guests were made to feel welcome and catered for and it didn't go unnoticed how they kept the breakfast room tidy at all times. Again this was the kind of service and attention that some 4 star establishments I've stayed in have sadly lacked.

In terms of location this hotel is ideal. looking at maps before we left home it did appear to be well away from Liverpool centre but we actually discovered that a walk from the hotel to the Liver building only took about 20 minutes at a steady pace. The hotel is situated right beside Lime Street station and, coupled with the free car park, it's very easy to access by road or rail.

As I said at the beginning we were looking for a decent place to stay in order to explore Liverpool and we weren't disappointed with this choice. I could have paid more at other hotels but I doubt we'd have had a better experience. If we were to return to Liverpool then this hotel would be my first choice. If you can achieve a good rate to stay here that's all the better but even at normal price it's still excellent value for money. If you want a super dooper 4 star hotel then don't stay here and then whinge about it BUT if you take this as a 3 star hotel you should go away being more than pleasantly surprised with what you paid for.

Room Tip: Front of hotel is on the opposite side to Lime Street Station. King size rooms have huge beds! Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Orchman,
Thank you for your very kind review and rewarding us a five star rating. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the hotel met your needs and requirements. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Once again thank you for your kind review.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,099 - 3,105 of 4,851 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Miguel Angel G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed here over the Easter weekend with my other half and parents and had a great time. The location of the hotel was excellent and not to far from anywhere and car park included which was a bonus!

The breakfast was good but busy, this was to be expected for Easter and the hotel bar was brilliant, never too busy, very reasonably priced and staff really friendly!

The only downside for us was we were at the back of the hotel overlooking Lime Street and heard every announcement through the night...we could have asked to move rooms but possibly worth requesting a front facing room when you check in.
The room itself was a bit dirty and needed updated, bed was very hard and uncomfortable.

All in all, good stay though :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCC72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear KCC72,
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent Easter weekend break at The Liner Hotel. We was pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us and you found the hotel to be in a convenient location. We are sorry to hear you was disturbed by the tannoy system at Limestreet Train station, we are working with the station to come to an agreement regards to the volume levels. We hope that this will not dissuade you from staying with us in the future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

The restaurant is situated 2 minutes' walk from the Empire theatre and parking is complimentary when you dine. 2 course or 3 course pre theatre menu is great value at £12.95/£14.95, good range of dishes on offer (four options for each course) and a nice clean setting. Will definitely return here again when going to the Empire, 3 course meal with a drink and parking for less than £20. The A la carte menu also looked very reasonable and varied.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank michelle09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear michelle09,
Thank you for your very kind review regarding your recent meal in our Seven Seas Brasserie. We are very pleased to hear that you found the meal to be enjoyable and value for money. We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here for one night over Easter weekend. Our main reason for booking was for the car parking which is included in your stay and meant that we could leave the car the next day after we had checked out so that is a plus.
The hotel is in a good location for the city centre but could do with a bit of work, it's a bit old looking now. The first room we got looked onto Liverpool Lime Street which was very noisy, we could hear the trains and announcements, and so we asked if we could move rooms, which was no problem and we got a room at the front of the building, very happy with that. The rooms are clean but as I have said could do with a bit of upgrading. Breakfast was great but I'm glad we were only staying one night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the building to avoid noise from the train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Marissa C,
Thank you fro taking the time to reflect on your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear you felt the two rooms you was allocated needed upgrading, we are currently in the middle of a refurbishment which should be completed by the summer. We was pleased to read however that you had a comfortable stay and that our car parking facility was useful. We hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

the location is vey good, the staff very helpful and the room was vey comfortable . There was a good choice of food at breakfast.
We would stay again without hesertation. Excellant value with free parking included

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear robert o,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, and for awarding us a 5* rating. I am very pleased you enjoyed your time with us, and that the hotel and facilities were all to your liking. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,197 reviews
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#22 of 98 in Liverpool
1,842 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#56 of 98 in Liverpool
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Address: Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £55 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the City Centre next to Lime Street Station The Liner Hotel is a perfect base to explore the City. Located just two minutes from The Empire Theatre, St. Georges Hall and the World Museum the hotel is in an enviable location. Liverpool One Shopping, Liverpool Echo Arena & Convention Centre are just minutes away. Liverpool Football Club can be reached in just 15 minutes. All bedrooms and public areas are furnished to a high standard with the most recent room refurbishments taking place in January 2017. We offer exceptional value for money with Free WIFI and car parking (subject to availability) included in the rate. The Seven Seas Brasserie & Castaway Bar is open daily with 3 course Pre Theatre Dining available from just £16.50. We hope to see you with us in the near future and don't forget to leave your review! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Hotelopia, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing