We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business and pleasure trip”
Review of The Liner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Liner Hotel
Ranked #23 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I visit/work at Liverpool University several times a year and having tried several other hotels, I have settled on the Liner.It is good value, next-door to the main-line station and close to the main shopping centre.

I have eaten in both the bar and the restaurant, and the food is well-cooked with a reasonable choice.Nothing particularly special but I generally arrive mid-late evening and just need somewhere comfortable to eat. Rooms are OK - again, nothing special - but fine for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJMLynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear RJMLynch,
Thank you for your kind review regarding your trip to Liverpool. We are pleased to hear that the hotel suits both your business and leisure needs. It was great to read that you are satisfied with the facilities at the hotel and plan on using us next time you are in Liverpool. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,774)
There are newer reviews for The Liner Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,017 - 3,023 of 4,774 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

This was my fifth stay at The LIner and I would not consider staying in any other Hotel in Liverpool. It is very convenient, situated behind Lime Street Train Station and The Empire Theatre. It is within 5 mins walking distance to the City Centre and for me personally,within 15 minutes walking distance to The Royal Liverpool Hospital. It has free parking whilst you are there. The staff are all very polite and helpful. The rooms are comfortable (apart from the single bed leaving my back a little bit stiff by the morning - tiny negative). The mini bar contents were not cold (even though I did not take anything from it, but could imagine a warm Coke not being very nice on the pallet). The breakfast was wonderful with choice for everyone and the meal at the restaurant in the evening was delicious with the staff there again incredibly nice and cheerful. I think one waiter there was called James, he is a gem and nothing was too much hassle for him. Me parents are returning there to stay today and they are returning for the fourth time (they are very fussy and would not stay in just any Hotel). Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Awen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Awen O,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Liner Hotel. It was nice to read you enjoyed your time with us, and that the hotel and facilities were all to your liking. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff I will be sure to pass these on. It was great to hear that you found the hotels location to be convenient for your trip to Liverpool. We look forward to welcoming you and your parents back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in April ,we emailed them to get a view not overlooking the train station which we got it was 2 mins walk to the Liverpool empire where we were watching "let it be " and only 10 mins walk into Liverpool one area of town ,loved the hotel ,very helpful ,great food ,would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bucketsboy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear bucketsboy74,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of your recent 2 night stay with us. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and that our proximity to the Empire Theatre and the city centre was convenient for you. Once again thank you for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed here last December to celebrate my partner's birthday. I really loved the style, every piece of furniture perfectly matched the nautical theme of this hotel. The rooms looked lovely, clean and well equipped. Breakfast was nice with a good selection of choice.
The staff was nice and helpful in the reception, bar and dining area as well.
The location might be advantageous if you want to catch a train, Liverpool Lime Street station is just next to the hotel, on the other side the sound of trains might be disturbing .
Overall we didn't care too much about the noise as the design(that I really loved) and the nice service were the most important for us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cs-0727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear cs-0727,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us and you was impressed with the theme and décor of the hotel. We love hearing from guests and hearing how they found their stay with us. We hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is a well presented hotel in a good location, right next to Lime st. Station. Unfortunately, my room overlooked the platforms of the station, which due to maintenance was very noisy through the night. I also got to know which trains were coming when as the tannoy could be clearly heard.

The room itself was clean and well presented as was the rest of the hotel. The view from my window encompassed a lot of the famous sights of the city too. A mini bar and tea making facilities were in the room. The bed was comfortable and the tv had a good chice of channels.

The hotel has a bar and restaurant, which looked good but I didn't get to try.

The breakfast was a highlight for me. A great selection of cold meats, cereals, fruits, croissants etc. A good fresh selection of hot foods. A full english of good quality produce and all on a help yourself buffet.

All the staff I encountered were friendly, polite and offered a warm welcome.

even with the trains ill definately stay again. With free parking, a bonus in the city.

For me the breakfast was a highlight

Room Tip: If you want peace, try for a room away from the station side of the hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Sheermadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear 1Sheermadness,
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to read you was disturbed by the train station tannoy system at Lime St, our Management team are currently liaising with Lime St Management to try and resolve to everyone’s satisfaction. It was great however to read that the hotel and its facilities were to your liking. I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in April, booked this hotel based on the reviews and the excellent deal found online.
The hotel had car parking included in the price which was a big bonus right in the centre of Liverpool. The location was brilliant just round the corner from Lime Street Station and minutes from the docks, Liverpool One and many attractions.
The rooms were tastefully decorated, decent size and really clean. Breakfast was good, even though hotel was full we didn't have to wait for a seat. It was a buffet style breakfast with plenty of choice. Food was very fresh and replenished regularly, great to see not left on the hotplate for ages to dry out.
On our last day we were able to leave our car in the carpark even after check, ands spend the day in the city.
Great deal, great hotel, great staff would definitely recommend and use again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpeg25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear lpeg25,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Liner Hotel and awarding us a 5* rating. It was great to read you enjoyed your time with us, and that the hotel and facilities were all to your liking. We really appreciate your kind words and we hope you will consider us again next time you are in Liverpool.
Kind Regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here for one night Friday 25th April, unfortunately we left our phone charger in the room, we telephoned the hotel when we got home we were told 'its not there'.
We are still waiting for a reply to our email sent Saturday 26th April as we are taking this further.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank happyinthehaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear happyinthehaze,
I am very sorry to hear you are disappointed with the customer service you have received. We are in the process of looking into this further for you with regards to your missing phone charger. We hope that this will not dissuade you from staying with us on your next trip to Liverpool. Once again sorry for any inconvenience caused and we will be contacting you soon regarding this.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,142 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 98 in Liverpool
1,766 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#56 of 98 in Liverpool
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Address: Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £53 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the City Centre next to Lime Street Station The Liner Hotel is a perfect base to explore the City. Located just two minutes from The Empire Theatre, St. Georges Hall and the World Museum the hotel is in an enviable location. Liverpool One Shopping, Liverpool Echo Arena & Convention Centre are just minutes away. Liverpool Football Club can be reached in just 15 minutes. All bedrooms and public areas are furnished to a high standard with the most recent room refurbishments taking place in January 2017. We offer exceptional value for money with Free WIFI and car parking (subject to availability) included in the rate. The Seven Seas Brasserie & Castaway Bar is open daily with 3 course Pre Theatre Dining available from just £16.50. We hope to see you with us in the near future and don't forget to leave your review! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing