We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“should do better”
Review of The Liner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Liner Hotel
Ranked #23 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Central hotel to both Lime Street Station and the action but very disappointing standard. Thbe staff are very welcoming and their service is very good indeed but it's a shame the standard of the rooms let the hotel down. They have made "cosmetic" changes with the decore but the state of the bathroom was disgraceful, lots of black mould - YUK!!
The bed was soft and the pillows lumpy, so could should take a leaf out of Premier Lodge's book for these.
Overall, the food was good, the staff were very friendly and helpful and knowledgable but the pafrent company needs to spend a bit more.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room away from the front courtyard as this is a party city and you will get woken u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spye62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear bennie10,
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay with us. We was very disappointed to read some of your comments regarding the bathroom and the pillows, I will pass these comments on to the housekeeping department to look into. Despite these issues we was pleased to hear that the staff and the food were to your liking. We hope that this will not dissuade you from staying with us in the future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,850)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,059 - 3,065 of 4,851 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed here recently for a family wedding and we thought the Liner offered very good value for money. Excellent location, very friendly staff and a superb buffet breakfast. Was a little noisy as our room overlooked Lime St station but once we closed the window it was not really a problem. Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Maybe try a room at the front rather than the back which overlooks Lime St Station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schumi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear schumi12,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Liner Hotel. It was nice to read that you found the hotel to value for money, and that the hotel was to your liking. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next trip to Liverpool.
Kind Regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The Liner Hotel was clean and tidy and the reception staff very efficient and polite, although, two things that really let our stay down were:

1) We ate at the Seven Seas Brasserie. My husband and I were seated next to the open plan kitchen. My husband was sat with his back to the kitchen and I was sat facing the kitchen. To my absolute disgust I witnessed the chef dishing up the food with his hands, onion rings, garlic bread, fries, salad you name it and he used his hands. Not only that but in between dishing the food up he was helping himself to the fries and then licking his fingers whilst continuing to use his hands to handle the food. My husband and I were grateful that we had ordered the lamb steaks as they were too hot to handle and tongs were used. The lamb came with bubble and squeak which was served using a spoon. I was extremely shocked by this as this is basic hygiene! We did not like to complain as we felt intimidated by the chef and the other restaurant staff.

2) The Pacific Lounge and Cocktail Bar was closed. The website says "Enjoy the relaxing atmosphere of Pacific Lounge at any time of day of evening, perfectly suited for those seeking a quiet area for reading, relaxing or simply enjoying a glass of wine or signature cocktail." My husband and I were looking forward to chilling out in this bar away from the noisy bars in town. However, when we asked reception when this bar would be open we were told it was only used for private functions. If this is the case then the hotel should have publicised this on the website.

Although we were disappointed that the cocktail bar was not open the hygiene problem in the restaurant concerned us far greater and we had hope that the hotel took this seriously enough to give their kitchen staff some basic training in food hygiene! Obviously not! On returning from our stay we were sent an email asking for feedback. I advised the Sales Manger of our complaints and she said she would arrange for the Manager to contact us directly. Have we heard anything? Have we hell! For that very reason I will not be returning or recommending this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Find somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyDBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed for one night when on visit to the Lion King at Empire Theatre. Reception was very friendly on check in. We were on the 6th floor, room was comfortable well equipped with tea and coffee facilities our only problem was a loud noise going on and off when we returned from the theatre. After a while we rang reception to be told it was probably the boiler unit above our room but this stopped at midnight, which was the case, however, it started again at 6:15am. On check out we advised them of this, an apology was forth coming with the promise of an upgrade on our next visit, this was acceptable as we are going back to the theatre in August. Hopefully on our next visit the problem will have been sorted as sleep was impossible with the noise. Having said all that the hotel was lovely staff very accommodating, breakfast was well cooked and everywhere was clean. Would recommend this hotel to friends but would make them aware of the problem we had.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Beverley T,
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities. It was great to read you found the staff to be welcoming and helpful. We are disappointed to learn you had a noise issue, I will pass this on to the maintenance team to look into. We hope we can welcome you back to The Liner when you next come back to Liverpool.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed here for one night for a stag do as it was next to the train station and really central in the city and with easy access to Liverpool one and concert square. The hotels staff was faultless at both check in and check out. The only slight issue is the noise from the train station in a morning (ask for a front facing room) but to be expected as booking this hotel with it been next to the train station. As none of us had been to Liverpool before the girls on reception where quick to give us a map and right directions for places we wanted to go. Will certainly recommend this place to anyone and will certainly be coming back when we come back to Liverpool .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbydazzler2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear bobbydazzler2007,
Thank you for your kind review, we are so pleased you had an enjoyable one night stay with us. It was great to read the location was ideal for your Stag trip to Liverpool. Thank your for your kind words regarding the staff, we are so pleased that you found them to be polite and helpful. Thank you for recommending us and we hope that if you come back to Liverpool we can welcome you back to The Liner Hotel again.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is the place to sail away on an adventure in Liverpool. Just round the corner from Lime St Station, so no distance to pull luggage. Food in restaurant a delight, plus a glass of wine for staying in the hotel! Bedroom s had all we needed, enjoyeed the shortcake thanks. Staff really helpful, specially in the breakfast room. One found the pub for us we wanted to visit.

Room Tip: Top floor, facing cathedral, lovely nightline and sunrise. Room 660
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Stephen392013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Stephen392013,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, and for awarding us a 5* rating. It was great to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and the location was in a handy location from Limestreet Train Station. Thank you for your kind words regarding your meal in our Seven Seas Brasserie, I will pass on your kind comments to the chefs. We hope we can welcome you back to The Liner Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Booked at the liner because of the central location and looked very nice on the photos, was hoping it would live up to expectations as was quite pricy. Reception staff were fairly friendly, and as most hotels asked to swipe credit/debit card to secure booking and also for any extras added to room (minibar/room services etc) was reassured no money will be taken from card until checkout. Room was on the 4th floor which thought would be ok, had booked a twin room. When we reached the room was hit by the heat coming from the room as soon as we opened the door, apparently no air con in any of the rooms (never heard of a hotel with out air con) only 1 window that opened about an inch. Quickly realised lime street train station was right outside the only window that opened. (Very noisy, it's a train station) they brought us a very noisy fan up to try & cool the room. No extractor in the bathroom either so hence damp patches on ceiling. Hopefully we thought would come back to a cooler room to sleep in.
Proceeded out into Liverpool (which is amazing) only to find out that the hotel had taken the funds from my account for the room... After saying that it was just to secure the booking. Very embarrassing when my card got declined when I went to pay for dinner in a restaurant. The hotel said that I was told this would happen and they have to secure funds. Absolute rubbish, I've stayed in many hotels (a lot cheaper) and none have ever done this. Fuming!!
We then returned to our very hot and sweaty small room. Struggled to sleep because of the noise and the heat.
Breakfast was average. So all in all for £145 it was awful, the only positive thing I can say is the security guys that were on the doors that night were lovely.
I don't understand how a poor hotel can get so many great reviews.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sjmacey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Sjmacey12,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at the Liner Hotel. It was a disappointing to read you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We are sorry you felt our pre authorisation procedure was not explained fully on check in, as a hotel policy we take a £50.00 pre authorisation of a credit or debit card on check in, this freezes this amount of money until you check out and pay your full hotel bill. We are disappointed that you found the bedroom to be too warm over the heat wave on the weekend, we have a large selection of fans at the reception and was sorry to hear the one we provided you found to be insufficient. Unfortunately due to health and safety regulations the windows in the bedrooms cannot open fully. Further to your comments regarding the broken extractor fan in the bathroom, we do have an onsite maintenance team who when alerted can address these type of maintenance issues. We are very sorry for any inconvenience caused and we hope that you consider staying with us again.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,190 reviews
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#22 of 98 in Liverpool
1,839 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#56 of 98 in Liverpool
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Address: Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £54 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the City Centre next to Lime Street Station The Liner Hotel is a perfect base to explore the City. Located just two minutes from The Empire Theatre, St. Georges Hall and the World Museum the hotel is in an enviable location. Liverpool One Shopping, Liverpool Echo Arena & Convention Centre are just minutes away. Liverpool Football Club can be reached in just 15 minutes. All bedrooms and public areas are furnished to a high standard with the most recent room refurbishments taking place in January 2017. We offer exceptional value for money with Free WIFI and car parking (subject to availability) included in the rate. The Seven Seas Brasserie & Castaway Bar is open daily with 3 course Pre Theatre Dining available from just £16.50. We hope to see you with us in the near future and don't forget to leave your review! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing