We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definatly recommend”
Review of The Liner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Liner Hotel
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will definatly recommend”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the liner on the bank holiday Sunday and couldn't have been happier with it, less than £70 with breakfast and free parking. Great location for discovering Liverpool on our first visit to the city, the room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean.we were given a free upgrade on arrival to a kingsize room and even allowed to use the carpark free of charge for the remainder of the day after our checkout. Will defiantly use the liner again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Lee D,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable bank holiday stay with us. We are so pleased to hear you found the hotel to be value for money and the location ideal for exploring Liverpool. It was great to read that you found the complimentary onsite car parking useful. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Liner in the future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,169
    1,677
    499
    143
    111
See reviews for
618
2,275
176
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed here overnight one Saturday evening with a friend. Room was spotlessly clean, quite roomy and nice bathroom with toiletries included. Check in was very easy and car park was included which was great for a city centre location. When we checked out the following morning they even let us stay and use the car park for as long as we needed for no extra charge.
Breakfast was buffet style and very fresh. We were one of the last to go for breakfast at the last minute and they were still putting out fresh hot food. We were well impressed.
The hotel is close to lime street station and our room overlooked the actual train lines so yes you can here them when the windows are open, but fine when closed.
Great place to stay, I would return

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Slincalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Slincalex,
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay at The Liner Hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you found the hotel bedroom to be spotlessly clean, I will pass these kind words on to the housekeeping team who will be so happy to hear. We are also pleased that our onsite car parking facility was useful for you, we are very fortunate to have this facility being in the city centre. Thank you for your kind comments regarding breakfast, we was pleased to hear that you was impressed with the fresh food still being available despite being one of the last guests down. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in Liverpool.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed for 1 night and am glad to say that the Hotel is nicer inside than outside. It is an ugly building from the outside, but in a great location behind Lime Street station and also has a car park which is free for residents. (You are not guaranteed a space and it is not a huge car park). The hotel allows non residents to park for £6 per day, but Lime Street car park is opposite if the Hotel Car Park is full. Our room was on the 5th floor and facing the Station but we never heard any noise. The room and bathroom were nice and clean. The Hotel has a nautical theme so the rooms are cabins rather than rooms. The hair dryer is not powerful so unless you have ages to dry your hair, I would recommend taking your own. The breakfast is buffet style and was tasty and had lots of choice. The staff were friendly and helpful too. The only niggle I had was that if you want to use an iron, you have to go to the ironing room on the second floor which didn't have any water for the irons, so you need to remember to take your own down. I would just prefer to have an iron in my room or be able to borrow one.
Apart from this, our stay was great and I would stay here again.
If you are going to see a show at the Empire theatre, this is the closest Hotel as it is directly behind it and 2 minutes walk from the stage door.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear alison b,
Thank you for such a positive review regarding your stay at the Liner Hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that our proximity to The Empire Theatre was convenient for you. It was great to read that the hotels complimentary car parking was useful for you and our facilities were t your liking. Thank you for your feedback regarding the hair dryer and iron, ill pass these comments on to discuss with our management team. Once again thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Central hotel to both Lime Street Station and the action but very disappointing standard. Thbe staff are very welcoming and their service is very good indeed but it's a shame the standard of the rooms let the hotel down. They have made "cosmetic" changes with the decore but the state of the bathroom was disgraceful, lots of black mould - YUK!!
The bed was soft and the pillows lumpy, so could should take a leaf out of Premier Lodge's book for these.
Overall, the food was good, the staff were very friendly and helpful and knowledgable but the pafrent company needs to spend a bit more.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room away from the front courtyard as this is a party city and you will get woken u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spye62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear bennie10,
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay with us. We was very disappointed to read some of your comments regarding the bathroom and the pillows, I will pass these comments on to the housekeeping department to look into. Despite these issues we was pleased to hear that the staff and the food were to your liking. We hope that this will not dissuade you from staying with us in the future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed here recently for a family wedding and we thought the Liner offered very good value for money. Excellent location, very friendly staff and a superb buffet breakfast. Was a little noisy as our room overlooked Lime St station but once we closed the window it was not really a problem. Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Maybe try a room at the front rather than the back which overlooks Lime St Station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schumi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear schumi12,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Liner Hotel. It was nice to read that you found the hotel to value for money, and that the hotel was to your liking. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next trip to Liverpool.
Kind Regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The Liner Hotel was clean and tidy and the reception staff very efficient and polite, although, two things that really let our stay down were:

1) We ate at the Seven Seas Brasserie. My husband and I were seated next to the open plan kitchen. My husband was sat with his back to the kitchen and I was sat facing the kitchen. To my absolute disgust I witnessed the chef dishing up the food with his hands, onion rings, garlic bread, fries, salad you name it and he used his hands. Not only that but in between dishing the food up he was helping himself to the fries and then licking his fingers whilst continuing to use his hands to handle the food. My husband and I were grateful that we had ordered the lamb steaks as they were too hot to handle and tongs were used. The lamb came with bubble and squeak which was served using a spoon. I was extremely shocked by this as this is basic hygiene! We did not like to complain as we felt intimidated by the chef and the other restaurant staff.

2) The Pacific Lounge and Cocktail Bar was closed. The website says "Enjoy the relaxing atmosphere of Pacific Lounge at any time of day of evening, perfectly suited for those seeking a quiet area for reading, relaxing or simply enjoying a glass of wine or signature cocktail." My husband and I were looking forward to chilling out in this bar away from the noisy bars in town. However, when we asked reception when this bar would be open we were told it was only used for private functions. If this is the case then the hotel should have publicised this on the website.

Although we were disappointed that the cocktail bar was not open the hygiene problem in the restaurant concerned us far greater and we had hope that the hotel took this seriously enough to give their kitchen staff some basic training in food hygiene! Obviously not! On returning from our stay we were sent an email asking for feedback. I advised the Sales Manger of our complaints and she said she would arrange for the Manager to contact us directly. Have we heard anything? Have we hell! For that very reason I will not be returning or recommending this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Find somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyDBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodelwyddan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed for one night when on visit to the Lion King at Empire Theatre. Reception was very friendly on check in. We were on the 6th floor, room was comfortable well equipped with tea and coffee facilities our only problem was a loud noise going on and off when we returned from the theatre. After a while we rang reception to be told it was probably the boiler unit above our room but this stopped at midnight, which was the case, however, it started again at 6:15am. On check out we advised them of this, an apology was forth coming with the promise of an upgrade on our next visit, this was acceptable as we are going back to the theatre in August. Hopefully on our next visit the problem will have been sorted as sleep was impossible with the noise. Having said all that the hotel was lovely staff very accommodating, breakfast was well cooked and everywhere was clean. Would recommend this hotel to friends but would make them aware of the problem we had.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Beverley T,
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities. It was great to read you found the staff to be welcoming and helpful. We are disappointed to learn you had a noise issue, I will pass this on to the maintenance team to look into. We hope we can welcome you back to The Liner when you next come back to Liverpool.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 97 in Liverpool
3,949 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
1,360 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 97 in Liverpool
579 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#22 of 97 in Liverpool
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Property: The Liner Hotel
Address: Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the City Centre next to Lime Street Station The Liner Hotel is a perfect base to explore the City. Located just two minutes from The Empire Theatre, St. Georges Hall and the World Museum the hotel is in an enviable location. Liverpool One Shopping, Liverpool Echo Arena & Convention Centre are just minutes away. Liverpool Football Club can be reached in just 15 minutes. All bedrooms and public areas are furnished to a high standard with the most recent room refurbishments taking place in January 2017. We offer exceptional value for money with Free WIFI and car parking (subject to availability) included in the rate. The Seven Seas Brasserie & Castaway Bar is open daily with 3 course Pre Theatre Dining available from just £16.50. We hope to see you with us in the near future and don't forget to leave your review! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Superbreak UK, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing