We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab location and price ”
Review of The Liner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Liner Hotel
Ranked #23 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Brilliant hotel with great staff, great room and location. Perfect for shopping or theatre breaks as so central to everything. Breakfast had loads of choice but we found the hot food was only just warm. Wouldn't stop us from going again though. Great value for money.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank HR3D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear HR3D,
Thank you for your kind review and rewarding us a five star rating. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great to hear that the location was ideal for your visit to Liverpool and you found it close to both the shops and the Theatre. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards.
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,056 - 3,062 of 4,855 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had a very comfortable stay here, room was very nice with tea, coffee and biscuits. Lovely complimentary toiletries. It had a lovely warm feel to it. It was very well placed for seeing the sights of Liverpool. Breakfast was excellent a very good choice of hot and cold food. We had an evening meal which was delicious. What more can I say, would recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Paula A,
Thank you for your very kind review, we are so pleased you had a comfortable stay with us. It was great to read that the you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities. We love hearing from our previous guests and their feedback on the hotel. We hope to welcome you back to stay at The Liner Hotel on your next trip to Liverpool.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Spent a week end away enjoying the sights of Liverpool, Eleanour Rigbys resting place etc,

Very good the Hotel was full but the staff were friendly te room was large and clean and served your every need with 24/7 room service and mini bar optional. Enjoyed my stay handy for the city centre and next to Liverpool Lime Street so easy for transport Taxis and such.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone lone traveller ot families.

Breakfast was substantial and with wide variety of choice.

Room Tip: higher up room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear stephen c,
Thank you for your very kind review regarding your recent stay at The Liner Hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay and found the hotels location convenient for exploring the city. Thank you for your kind words, we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the liner on the bank holiday Sunday and couldn't have been happier with it, less than £70 with breakfast and free parking. Great location for discovering Liverpool on our first visit to the city, the room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean.we were given a free upgrade on arrival to a kingsize room and even allowed to use the carpark free of charge for the remainder of the day after our checkout. Will defiantly use the liner again!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Lee D,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable bank holiday stay with us. We are so pleased to hear you found the hotel to be value for money and the location ideal for exploring Liverpool. It was great to read that you found the complimentary onsite car parking useful. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Liner in the future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed here overnight one Saturday evening with a friend. Room was spotlessly clean, quite roomy and nice bathroom with toiletries included. Check in was very easy and car park was included which was great for a city centre location. When we checked out the following morning they even let us stay and use the car park for as long as we needed for no extra charge.
Breakfast was buffet style and very fresh. We were one of the last to go for breakfast at the last minute and they were still putting out fresh hot food. We were well impressed.
The hotel is close to lime street station and our room overlooked the actual train lines so yes you can here them when the windows are open, but fine when closed.
Great place to stay, I would return

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Slincalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Slincalex,
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay at The Liner Hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you found the hotel bedroom to be spotlessly clean, I will pass these kind words on to the housekeeping team who will be so happy to hear. We are also pleased that our onsite car parking facility was useful for you, we are very fortunate to have this facility being in the city centre. Thank you for your kind comments regarding breakfast, we was pleased to hear that you was impressed with the fresh food still being available despite being one of the last guests down. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in Liverpool.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed for 1 night and am glad to say that the Hotel is nicer inside than outside. It is an ugly building from the outside, but in a great location behind Lime Street station and also has a car park which is free for residents. (You are not guaranteed a space and it is not a huge car park). The hotel allows non residents to park for £6 per day, but Lime Street car park is opposite if the Hotel Car Park is full. Our room was on the 5th floor and facing the Station but we never heard any noise. The room and bathroom were nice and clean. The Hotel has a nautical theme so the rooms are cabins rather than rooms. The hair dryer is not powerful so unless you have ages to dry your hair, I would recommend taking your own. The breakfast is buffet style and was tasty and had lots of choice. The staff were friendly and helpful too. The only niggle I had was that if you want to use an iron, you have to go to the ironing room on the second floor which didn't have any water for the irons, so you need to remember to take your own down. I would just prefer to have an iron in my room or be able to borrow one.
Apart from this, our stay was great and I would stay here again.
If you are going to see a show at the Empire theatre, this is the closest Hotel as it is directly behind it and 2 minutes walk from the stage door.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alison b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear alison b,
Thank you for such a positive review regarding your stay at the Liner Hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that our proximity to The Empire Theatre was convenient for you. It was great to read that the hotels complimentary car parking was useful for you and our facilities were t your liking. Thank you for your feedback regarding the hair dryer and iron, ill pass these comments on to discuss with our management team. Once again thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Central hotel to both Lime Street Station and the action but very disappointing standard. Thbe staff are very welcoming and their service is very good indeed but it's a shame the standard of the rooms let the hotel down. They have made "cosmetic" changes with the decore but the state of the bathroom was disgraceful, lots of black mould - YUK!!
The bed was soft and the pillows lumpy, so could should take a leaf out of Premier Lodge's book for these.
Overall, the food was good, the staff were very friendly and helpful and knowledgable but the pafrent company needs to spend a bit more.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room away from the front courtyard as this is a party city and you will get woken u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spye62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear bennie10,
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay with us. We was very disappointed to read some of your comments regarding the bathroom and the pillows, I will pass these comments on to the housekeeping department to look into. Despite these issues we was pleased to hear that the staff and the food were to your liking. We hope that this will not dissuade you from staying with us in the future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,197 reviews
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#22 of 98 in Liverpool
1,842 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#56 of 98 in Liverpool
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Address: Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £55 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the City Centre next to Lime Street Station The Liner Hotel is a perfect base to explore the City. Located just two minutes from The Empire Theatre, St. Georges Hall and the World Museum the hotel is in an enviable location. Liverpool One Shopping, Liverpool Echo Arena & Convention Centre are just minutes away. Liverpool Football Club can be reached in just 15 minutes. All bedrooms and public areas are furnished to a high standard with the most recent room refurbishments taking place in January 2017. We offer exceptional value for money with Free WIFI and car parking (subject to availability) included in the rate. The Seven Seas Brasserie & Castaway Bar is open daily with 3 course Pre Theatre Dining available from just £16.50. We hope to see you with us in the near future and don't forget to leave your review! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing