We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will be back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Liner Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Liner Hotel
Ranked #24 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Anglesey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here here for one night before joining a cruise. Hotel is in an excellent spot just round the corner from Lime street station and a five to ten minute walk from the shops. All the staff were very friendly and efficient. A credit to the hotel. The hotel was spotless throughout and the room,though warm, was a reasonable size. I enjoyed the shortbread biscuits.
We met some friend a and had a meal in the restaurant. We all chose from the pre theatre menu which was tasty and good value for money. We then enjoyed a drink in the bar.
Although the room was hot we both managed to sleep well. Next time I stay I will probably use the air conditioning.
Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and one of the best buffet breakfasts I have eaten in UK hotels.
Check out was easy and we were able to leave our cases before joining the ship.
Very good value.
First on our list next time we are back in Liverpool.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwynethAnglesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear gwynethAnglesey,
Thank you for your very kind review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Liner Hotel. We are pleased to here that the hotels proximity to the City centre shops was convenient for your trip to Liverpool. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff, I will be sure to pass them on. It was lovely to read you have an enjoyable meal in our Seven Seas Brasserie and found this to be good value. Thank you once again for your kind words and we hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,044
    1,592
    469
    128
    109
See reviews for
575
2,166
163
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,070)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

What a lovely welcome from the front of house staff. We arrived for a 3 night stay and can happily say we were not disappointed. The room was spacious, clean with lots of facilities.
We ate in the seven seas brassiere on 2 occasions and the food was very good.
Initially I was worried as the hotel is situated next door to lime street station but we had no issues with noise at all. Hotel within in 2 minutes (if that) walk from the empire theatre, 10 minutes to the Albert docks & pier head. Excellent location!
The staff were very accommodating and polite.
Overall very pleased and would visit again.
Love Liverpool1

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Melanie B,
Thank you for your very kind review, we are very pleased to hear you had a comfortable 3 night stay with us. It was great to read that you was pleased with the 2 occasions you chose to dine with us in our Seven Seas Brasserie, I will pass this kind feedback on to the restaurant team and Chefs. We are pleased to hear that you found our location to be conveniently located to the Liverpool attractions.We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Spent two nights in the hotel. It was full.
Very god location and service. Good bar. Had a wide spread for breakfast.
Had a good warm feel to it.
Rooms were a little cramped up though.
Overall very good

Room Tip: Rooms are a bit cramped up
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sidhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear sidhp,
Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us. It was great to read that you found the location ideal for your trip to Liverpool. We hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Brilliant hotel with great staff, great room and location. Perfect for shopping or theatre breaks as so central to everything. Breakfast had loads of choice but we found the hot food was only just warm. Wouldn't stop us from going again though. Great value for money.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HR3D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear HR3D,
Thank you for your kind review and rewarding us a five star rating. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great to hear that the location was ideal for your visit to Liverpool and you found it close to both the shops and the Theatre. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards.
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had a very comfortable stay here, room was very nice with tea, coffee and biscuits. Lovely complimentary toiletries. It had a lovely warm feel to it. It was very well placed for seeing the sights of Liverpool. Breakfast was excellent a very good choice of hot and cold food. We had an evening meal which was delicious. What more can I say, would recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Paula A,
Thank you for your very kind review, we are so pleased you had a comfortable stay with us. It was great to read that the you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities. We love hearing from our previous guests and their feedback on the hotel. We hope to welcome you back to stay at The Liner Hotel on your next trip to Liverpool.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Spent a week end away enjoying the sights of Liverpool, Eleanour Rigbys resting place etc,

Very good the Hotel was full but the staff were friendly te room was large and clean and served your every need with 24/7 room service and mini bar optional. Enjoyed my stay handy for the city centre and next to Liverpool Lime Street so easy for transport Taxis and such.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone lone traveller ot families.

Breakfast was substantial and with wide variety of choice.

Room Tip: higher up room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear stephen c,
Thank you for your very kind review regarding your recent stay at The Liner Hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay and found the hotels location convenient for exploring the city. Thank you for your kind words, we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the liner on the bank holiday Sunday and couldn't have been happier with it, less than £70 with breakfast and free parking. Great location for discovering Liverpool on our first visit to the city, the room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean.we were given a free upgrade on arrival to a kingsize room and even allowed to use the carpark free of charge for the remainder of the day after our checkout. Will defiantly use the liner again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Lee D,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable bank holiday stay with us. We are so pleased to hear you found the hotel to be value for money and the location ideal for exploring Liverpool. It was great to read that you found the complimentary onsite car parking useful. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Liner in the future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,785 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Property: The Liner Hotel
Address: Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Liner is quite simply a hotel like no other. Step inside and you will be transported back to the golden age of ocean travel, when only the highest standards of comfort, quality and service would suffice. From the brass portholes to the welcoming and dedicated crew, The Liner bears all the authentic hallmarks of the world's finest cruise ships. 152 Superbly appointed cabins on four decks await guests with a desire for something entirely out of the ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Hotelopia and Odigeo so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing