We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,677)
Filter reviews
5,677 results
Traveller rating
2,739
2,051
589
166
132
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,739
2,051
589
166
132
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslime street stationcastaway bartrain stationempire theatrenautical themefree car parkcity centremini barlovely hotelself servicefull englishbuffet breakfasttwin roomexcellent locationwould stay againexcellent value for moneyvisiting liverpool
Filter
Updating list...
3,812 - 3,817 of 5,677 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel is set on Lord Nelson street right next door to Lime street station, i had read from other reviews that the stations announcements were a problem when trying to sleep however I did not find this to be the case, as the hotel has a nautical theme the floors are refered to as decks and the rooms as cabins, the room was quite big and the bed was nice and comfy with two pillows which is so often not the case in hotels, as you would expect there is tea and coffee and hot chocolate making facilities and some shortbread biscuits there is also a mini bar and safe, the bathroom was of ample size with quite a hot shower but is showing signs of getting old, the place was clean and tidy but we did notice that someone had left a tray containing their evening meal outside there room for collection early one morning and it was still there in the afternoon which I thought was very poor, the hotel is about a ten mins walk from the city centre all staff were friendly and polite but im not sure I would xtay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear graham c,
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments regarding the hotel. We are disappointed to hear your feedback regarding the shower and the tray that was left outside the bedroom all day. I will discuss your comments with the team and address where it is needed. We hope we can welcome you back to The Liner Hotel on your next visit to Liverpool.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed here weekend july 2014 very clean hotel nice bar,bedroom,breakfast,location..unfortunate that lime st train station next door decided to do a fire alarm check that lasted for hours early sunday morning that woke everyone up on that side of hotel.

Room Tip: dont get room facing train station
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 00paul00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear 00paul00,
Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review. Thank you for your kind words regarding cleanliness of the hotel and the hotel bar facilities. We are disappointed to read you was disturbed by the Lime Street Train stations fire alarm, we are currently liaising with the train station in regards to this and hoping we can have an explanation for our guests. We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel and we are sorry for any inconvenience caused.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights,very nice room,really good breakfast,comfy beds,great location,free wi-fi & helpful staff.You can hear some noise from the railway station but it is barely noticeable and certainly wouldn't spoil your stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank johnodonnell_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear johnodonnell_62,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent 2 night stay at The Liner Hotel. We are so pleased to hear you had a comfortable stay. Thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel facilities and the location.
We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel on your next trip to Liverpool.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great hotel in a fantastic location right at the top of town.Easy to find free car park it's true what they say it doesn't look much from outside but inside it was great.Fast check in went to the room was on the lime street station side so ask to be moved because im a light sleeper no trouble moved to a room above the main entrance room 512 the room was clean and so was the bathroom.The breakfast was fantastic a lot of choice always replaced straight away when running out and the staff was polite and friendly nothing to much trouble. We check out of how room and still could keep how car in the car park to we left liverpool would definitely stay here again the hotel was fantastic had a great nights sleep and for what we paid one of the best thanks

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tanya Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Tanya Y,
Thank you for such a positive review of your stay with us, and for awarding us a 5* rating. Congratulations on your anniversary, we are pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable and you was pleased with the hotel. We are pleased to read you would come back and stay with us again on your next trip to Liverpool.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Liner Hotel, Liverpool is located on Lord Nelson St immediately adjacent to Liverpool Lime St railway station - as a result, it is an ideal choice for both rail commuters and those that want good road access across the city whilst being close enough to the city centre to enjoy Liverpool's best.

The nautical theme to the hotel was a bit 'odd' but I guess that it added a degree of charm that some of the more-mainstream hotel chains lack. However, in almost every other respect the hotel was what you would expect from a Premier Inn or Travelodge (both of which I like) with one significant exception - the Liner does not have air-conditioned room. I had an easterly-facing room high-up in the hotel which provided great views across the city and meant that I got the early-morning Liverpool dawn straight into the room's huge windows - blimey was it hot, but at least I sweated-off the 'fluids' consumed the evening before, some of which was in the very nice pub attached to the Liner. Sadly, the small fan provided in the room was not man-enough for the task, but did a sterling job moving the roasting-hot air around the room to ensure I was evenly 'cooked'!! Speaking of cooked, the buffet breakfast was good, plentiful and also hot!!.

Highlights were the staff's approach and welcome; the comfortable beds; cleanliness of the rooms and value for money. The low point was definitely the temperature, although I find it difficult to criticize too much for the 4 weeks of the year when the UK summer occurs and it really makes a difference to your stay!! So would I stay again?..yep - this winter!!

Room Tip: The lack of air-conditioning makes this an important factor - try to get a room that doesn't get either early morning sun (ie looking up the hill) or evening sun (ie looking down the hill) - essentially try and face away from Lime St station.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank PinkyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear PinkyR,
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay at The Liner Hotel. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I am sorry to hear you did not find the fan we provided to offer enough circulation of the air, I will pass this feedback on and address this fan issue where it is needed. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the cooked breakfast, I will pass this kind feedback on to the chefs. We are pleased to hear that you was satisfied with the cleanliness standards of the hotel and you found your stay to be value for money.
Thank you for your kind comments, we hope we can welcome you back to the hotel on your next trip to Liverpool.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews