We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too hot, too noisy, poor reception, won't come again”
Review of The Liner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Liner Hotel
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Too hot, too noisy, poor reception, won't come again”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived here with great hopes. The location of The Liner Hotel is good and an easy walk into Liverpool. So far that's the only good thing I can say. We stayed on the 6th floor and arrived on a sunny July day, we went to our room and two things hit us instantly.... The oppressive heat in our room and the deafening tannoy messages every 2 minutes from the overlooked Liverpool Lime Street train station. It was so bad that my partner didn't even want to unpack. She went back to reception and explained what was wrong and asked for a different room....... NO came back the short reply, we then were prepared to try and find somewhere else so asked for a refund..... NO, you've booked with another company, your issue is with them. Not even any attempt to try and help us. In other words, like it or lump it. The room we had wasn't bad, clean but a bit dated. We had a great evening in Liverpool, I can definitely recommend Panoramic 34. On our return the room was still stifling and hot so closing the window wasn't an option. Had the worst night sleep ever in a hotel. You either closed the window and couldn't sleep because it was too hot or with the window open you can't sleep because of the noise from the train station and seagulls. Even though we were told the tannoy finished at 11pm I can tell you that even at 3.30am messages are still going over the tannoy, and that to the train noises and seagulls leads to no sleep. Breakfast the next day kept the theme going, it seemed to be cheap food. The stuff that was hot was swimming in grease and the food that wasn't swimming in grease was cold. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND HERE AND WILL NOT COMMENCED BACK. much better similar priced hotels in Liverpool and I wish I'd have gone to them.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Dean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Dean T,
Thank you for choosing to stay with The Liner Hotel, I can only apologise that this clearly wasn’t the stay that should have occurred. We are sorry to hear that you found the bedroom to be too warm, we do have a selection of fans at the Reception which are available for our guests on the warmer days. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused during your stay and we hope that despite this unfortunate stay we can have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,171
    1,678
    499
    143
    111
See reviews for
619
2,277
176
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

this the seventh hotel we have stayed in Liverpool it was in a good spot if traveling by train nice modern rooms good breakfast nice staff the only down side was there was no air conditioning .and with hot weather was hard to sleep even with the fan they provided ..we visit Liverpool a lot will defenatly stay again when cooler as was very good value for money

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Fionadids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Fionadids,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us at The Liner Hotel, We appreciate your kind comments regarding our accommodation, friendly staff and location. I hope you will consider us again next time you are in Liverpool.
Kind Regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

My daughter is living in Liverpool and we took ourselves over for a visit. The hotel is clean and very central but for us, it was found lacking. The reception staff are forgettable to say the least. Having conversations amongst one another whilst customers are checking in is not acceptable. The night staff were however excellent. Very helpful and accommodating. Morning 1 we came down at 9.30 to ask where breakfast was - the reception staff the previous day were too busy chatting to tell us - and were told breakfast was finished. So we missed breakfast. Notably in the rooms there was also no guest information to get this info from. We tend to enjoy a nightcap before bed. The bar, or should I say pub, closes at 11pm and there is no residents bar. It was also stifling hot and the lack of air con made sleeping uncomfortable. But that was bad luck really as we don't always have such fantastic weather. Will I stay again? Probably not.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katriona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Katriona D,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Liner Hotel. We are pleased that you found the hotel to be clean and to be central location to the local attractions. I am sorry to read about your experience on checking in, I will pass these comments on to the Reception team to look into and address where it is needed. We appreciate guest feedback and we are very sorry for any inconvenience caused. We do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed fri to sun 18-20july. Arrived early and they found us a room to be able to get changed. . So helpful on reception. Maid also v good and helped us with a wardrobe malfunction! Restaurant spot on. ..v well located for everything. ..would stay again. Thank you to all staff who's path I crossed you were a credit to the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank fsc1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear fsc1309,
Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay at The Liner Hotel. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay during your daughters graduation. I was pleased to hear that the Reception and Housekeeping Team were helpful, I will pass these kind comments on. It was great to read you found the location of the hotel to be perfectly located in the city to the local attractions and shops. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Attended a wedding here and stayed over recently, wedding went smoothly and both buffets (day & evening) was nice, the evening buffet was especially tasty! Good DJ, pleasant staff. The hotel is lovely and good if you like the nautical theme, the room was spacious, clean, big bed with a good view of the city fm tower. My only gripe was the heat! Having no air con with a baby in tow was a struggle.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MRANDMRSSMITH05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear MRANDMRSSMITh05,
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay at The Liner Hotel. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and had a great time at a Wedding that was held hear, I will pass on your kind comments to the team. I am sorry to hear you struggled with the heat we do offer a range of fans at the reception area to help ease the heat.
We hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel on your next trip to Liverpool.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

arrived Friday the 18th for a 3 night stay with a mate of mine were we had booked a twin room but when we arrived we were told there were no twin rooms available and we would have to share a double room we said it was not practical for two 62 yr old men to have to share the one bed and asked if a single bed could be put in the room we received a very curt no and the same answer when we asked for a mattress or a duvet to put on the floor we ended up putting the spare blanket on the floor for one of us to sleep on it at no stage during our conversation with her did she offer to help us in any way it was a disgrace the way we were treated.
we were allotted the proper room for the following 2 nights. I have been travelling for over 40 yrs and I have never met a more unhelpful and discourteous person at a reception desk.
It was not all bad in the hotel we ate in the restaurant the 3 nights we were there plus lunch on the day we checked out and the food and the staff were wonderful also the breakfasts were brilliant. The hotel is in a very central location near the train station very clean rooms and would be perfect it they had Air con as the heat was nearly un bearable.

Room Tip: look for a room with a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 616liam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear 616liam,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Liner Hotel. I am very disappointed to hear about your recent experience with being allocated a Double Bedroom instead of a Twin Bedded room as you had requested. I am very sorry to hear you felt the Receptionist was unhelpful, I will pass this on to the team to look into and address where it is needed. I am pleased that we was able to allocate you a Twin Bedded room for the remaining 2 days you had with us. We hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel and once again I am sorry for any inconvenience caused.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had three nights at The Liner in two different rooms - one "with a view" over the Lime Street Station and one overlooking the street next door. The rooms were clean and relatively nice. The beds were a bit too soft.

The rooms have no airconditioning so if you're here during summer, you probably won't get too much sleep. I don't thing I exaggerate when I say that we had at least 30 degrees in the room during the night. In addition to that, the seagulls and the pigeons had a party of a lifetime every night, and since we couldn't close the window, sleep was difficult.

The guy in the other room, next to the railway station, had to listen to the female loudspeaker voice from 5 every morning. Closing the window was not an option when the temperature in the room was close to 30C.

The hotel has got some potential (the concept is cool), but I probably won't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahakstun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear ahakstun,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are very disappointed to read you didn't fully enjoy your stay and you found the room you was allocated to be too hot. We do offer a wide selection of fans at reception for the hotter days, if guests find the rooms get too warm. We are sorry to hear you was also disturbed by the outside noise from Limestreet Trains Stations tannoy system, we are currently liaising with their management team and hoping to come to a resolve soon. We are very sorry for any inconvenience caused, we hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
3,954 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 97 in Liverpool
579 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#22 of 97 in Liverpool
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Property: The Liner Hotel
Address: Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the City Centre next to Lime Street Station The Liner Hotel is a perfect base to explore the City. Located just two minutes from The Empire Theatre, St. Georges Hall and the World Museum the hotel is in an enviable location. Liverpool One Shopping, Liverpool Echo Arena & Convention Centre are just minutes away. Liverpool Football Club can be reached in just 15 minutes. All bedrooms and public areas are furnished to a high standard with the most recent room refurbishments taking place in January 2017. We offer exceptional value for money with Free WIFI and car parking (subject to availability) included in the rate. The Seven Seas Brasserie & Castaway Bar is open daily with 3 course Pre Theatre Dining available from just £16.50. We hope to see you with us in the near future and don't forget to leave your review! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, LateRooms, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing