We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ship Ahoy!”
Review of The Liner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Liner Hotel
Ranked #22 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

First time i have stayed in this hotel and was very impressed with the effort that has gone into the ship theming. Room had everything we needed..... apart from air conditioning. We did visit on one of the hottest days of the year so far and so can understand the heat, but it really did get very uncomfortable. Two fans were supplied but did not really make a dent in what air conditioning could achieve

Breakfast was a great selection of hot and cold and certainly tasted good. The free parking and wi fi was nice - as at most other places i have stayed these are normally charged extra.

The hotel bar 'The Castaway' had reasonable prices and would have liked to have tried the hotel food, but had already made arrangements.

Would definitely stay again BUT maybe in the winter!

Had air conditioning been available in the room this would have been a perfect stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking station (tannoy announcements - although did not bother me)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Mike_Chester_UK,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us, we are so pleased to hear it was an enjoyable one. We are pleased to read you was happy with the complimentary car parking and read about you finding the heat in the room uncomfortable, we do offer guests fans which normally provide some relief during the hotter months but with the heat wave this weekend we are sorry to hear two of them was not enough. We do hope to welcome you back to The Liner on your next trip to Liverpool.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,941)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,068 - 3,074 of 4,941 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just returned yesterday and stayed at this hotel. Could n.t fault anything. The room and bathroom was immaculate. Very friendly staff. Perfect location from Lime Street station and the city centre. I have just read the recent reviews. People will have to remember its not often we have this glorious weather, so of course the rooms are going to be hot. So what, the rooms are provided with very adequate curtains. We are not living abroad !!! and expect air conditioning. The breakfast also was faultless. I most definately will be returning again in the near future. Thank you.

Room Tip: Please select a room over the street like I did so you won.t get the noise from the railway station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TerryBarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear TerryBarrett,
Thank you for your very kind review regarding your recent stay at The Liner Hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you feel you couldn't fault anything. We appreciate all your kind comments and are so pleased you found the hotel ideally located to the city centre. We do hope we can welcome you back on your next trip to Liverpool.
Kind Regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived here with great hopes. The location of The Liner Hotel is good and an easy walk into Liverpool. So far that's the only good thing I can say. We stayed on the 6th floor and arrived on a sunny July day, we went to our room and two things hit us instantly.... The oppressive heat in our room and the deafening tannoy messages every 2 minutes from the overlooked Liverpool Lime Street train station. It was so bad that my partner didn't even want to unpack. She went back to reception and explained what was wrong and asked for a different room....... NO came back the short reply, we then were prepared to try and find somewhere else so asked for a refund..... NO, you've booked with another company, your issue is with them. Not even any attempt to try and help us. In other words, like it or lump it. The room we had wasn't bad, clean but a bit dated. We had a great evening in Liverpool, I can definitely recommend Panoramic 34. On our return the room was still stifling and hot so closing the window wasn't an option. Had the worst night sleep ever in a hotel. You either closed the window and couldn't sleep because it was too hot or with the window open you can't sleep because of the noise from the train station and seagulls. Even though we were told the tannoy finished at 11pm I can tell you that even at 3.30am messages are still going over the tannoy, and that to the train noises and seagulls leads to no sleep. Breakfast the next day kept the theme going, it seemed to be cheap food. The stuff that was hot was swimming in grease and the food that wasn't swimming in grease was cold. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND HERE AND WILL NOT COMMENCED BACK. much better similar priced hotels in Liverpool and I wish I'd have gone to them.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Dean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Dean T,
Thank you for choosing to stay with The Liner Hotel, I can only apologise that this clearly wasn’t the stay that should have occurred. We are sorry to hear that you found the bedroom to be too warm, we do have a selection of fans at the Reception which are available for our guests on the warmer days. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused during your stay and we hope that despite this unfortunate stay we can have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

this the seventh hotel we have stayed in Liverpool it was in a good spot if traveling by train nice modern rooms good breakfast nice staff the only down side was there was no air conditioning .and with hot weather was hard to sleep even with the fan they provided ..we visit Liverpool a lot will defenatly stay again when cooler as was very good value for money

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Fionadids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Fionadids,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us at The Liner Hotel, We appreciate your kind comments regarding our accommodation, friendly staff and location. I hope you will consider us again next time you are in Liverpool.
Kind Regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

My daughter is living in Liverpool and we took ourselves over for a visit. The hotel is clean and very central but for us, it was found lacking. The reception staff are forgettable to say the least. Having conversations amongst one another whilst customers are checking in is not acceptable. The night staff were however excellent. Very helpful and accommodating. Morning 1 we came down at 9.30 to ask where breakfast was - the reception staff the previous day were too busy chatting to tell us - and were told breakfast was finished. So we missed breakfast. Notably in the rooms there was also no guest information to get this info from. We tend to enjoy a nightcap before bed. The bar, or should I say pub, closes at 11pm and there is no residents bar. It was also stifling hot and the lack of air con made sleeping uncomfortable. But that was bad luck really as we don't always have such fantastic weather. Will I stay again? Probably not.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Katriona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Katriona D,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Liner Hotel. We are pleased that you found the hotel to be clean and to be central location to the local attractions. I am sorry to read about your experience on checking in, I will pass these comments on to the Reception team to look into and address where it is needed. We appreciate guest feedback and we are very sorry for any inconvenience caused. We do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed fri to sun 18-20july. Arrived early and they found us a room to be able to get changed. . So helpful on reception. Maid also v good and helped us with a wardrobe malfunction! Restaurant spot on. ..v well located for everything. ..would stay again. Thank you to all staff who's path I crossed you were a credit to the hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank fsc1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear fsc1309,
Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay at The Liner Hotel. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay during your daughters graduation. I was pleased to hear that the Reception and Housekeeping Team were helpful, I will pass these kind comments on. It was great to read you found the location of the hotel to be perfectly located in the city to the local attractions and shops. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Attended a wedding here and stayed over recently, wedding went smoothly and both buffets (day & evening) was nice, the evening buffet was especially tasty! Good DJ, pleasant staff. The hotel is lovely and good if you like the nautical theme, the room was spacious, clean, big bed with a good view of the city fm tower. My only gripe was the heat! Having no air con with a baby in tow was a struggle.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank MRANDMRSSMITH05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear MRANDMRSSMITh05,
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay at The Liner Hotel. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and had a great time at a Wedding that was held hear, I will pass on your kind comments to the team. I am sorry to hear you struggled with the heat we do offer a range of fans at the reception area to help ease the heat.
We hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel on your next trip to Liverpool.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,259 reviews
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#24 of 98 in Liverpool
1,910 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Address: Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £50 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the City Centre next to Lime Street Station The Liner Hotel is a perfect base to explore the City. Located just two minutes from The Empire Theatre, St. Georges Hall and the World Museum the hotel is in an enviable location. Liverpool One Shopping, Liverpool Echo Arena & Convention Centre are just minutes away. Liverpool Football Club can be reached in just 15 minutes. All bedrooms and public areas are furnished to a high standard with the most recent room refurbishments taking place in January 2017. We offer exceptional value for money with Free WIFI and car parking (subject to availability) included in the rate. The Seven Seas Brasserie & Castaway Bar is open daily with 3 course Pre Theatre Dining available from just £16.50. We hope to see you with us in the near future and don't forget to leave your review! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing