We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful”
Review of The Liner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Liner Hotel
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just wonderful”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just had 3 days and 2 nights at The Liner Hotel with my husband , daughter and son-in law and it was Perfect, The Cabins , Bathrooms immaculate, The reception and all staff very friendly, Special thanks to Kally, it was hot weather and we had a fan within 5 mins, The breakfast was superb, Will be going back again this year, A Big Thank to all,
Mrs E Burns ,
Blackpool

Room Tip: I ask for our rooms to be on the street side and next to each other, and we got them, I know there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobeil06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear eilbob,
Thank you for your kind review and rewarding us a five star rating. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your 2 night stay with us and found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. I will pass on your special thanks to Callie, it was great to read she was able to get a fan to you in such a short time. We look forward to welcoming you back later on in the year.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,119
    1,645
    488
    139
    110
See reviews for
606
2,228
173
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,095)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I don't write this review lightly and have yet to rate any hotel I have stayed in as poorly as this.
We arrived at the hotel at around 11.30am after a 2 hour drive and queued behind 3 other cars to enter the hotel car park. After waiting around 15 mins, and with no idea why we were still waiting I called the hotel to be told "town is very busy today, you will have to wait until someone leaves". My room was booked with 'free parking' but apparently anyone with a car can park here for £6 a day with no parking put aside for guests. As the city was very busy, we had to park at Princes docks, a 35 minute walk away and carry all our luggage across town. Very poor from the hotel.
On checking in, we advised of the issue only to be told had we informed them, they would have found us a space. We did inform you, you didn't help us. The reason? "People call all the time pretending to be guests". A poor excuse, just check the reservation details. Frankly, the don't care.
Our room was small and dated and red hot. We were provided with a fan, which stopped working after 10mins. Asked reception for a replacement, "we don't have any", offered to change rooms but as we were running late for a wedding this wasn't an option, but neither was them bringing a fan from one of the spare rooms we were offered. Again, very poor.
We had no iron or ironing board provided in our room, so again we called reception to ask for one. "We don't provide them, there is an ironing room on the 2nd floor". An ironing room? Is this a hotel or a hostel?! The ironing room was frankly disgusting. Dirty, nowhere to hand ironed clothes and the irons were in terrible condition, not fit for purpose and covered in burnt pieces that easily transferred to clothes. I've never come across anything like it before.
We had the most uncomfortable nights sleep we've ever had and could not wait to check out in the morning. At over £80 a night, we expected and deserved much better.
You could not pay me to return to this hotel. Service and facilities are quite frankly the worst I have ever come across.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bsnsjone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear bsnsjone,
We are disappointed to hear about your recent stay with us. Unfortunately we do not guarantee car parking for all guests; we offer this as a complimentary facility which is available on a first come first serve basis. We do have 160 car parking spaces and usually this does not cause a problem with our guests trying to park, however over the weekend we have had the Giant Spectacular visit Liverpool and this has meant our car park has been busier than usual. I am sorry to hear about your feedback regarding the rooms and the heat, we are also disappointed to read that the fan we provided had broken down; we are looking at purchasing some new fans and hopefully avoid these situations. We was disappointed to read your comments regarding our Ironing room and the lack of iron in the bedroom, i will pass these comments on to the relevant departments to look into and address where it is needed. We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused and we are sorry to hear you will not be returning to The Liner Hotel.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

First time i have stayed in this hotel and was very impressed with the effort that has gone into the ship theming. Room had everything we needed..... apart from air conditioning. We did visit on one of the hottest days of the year so far and so can understand the heat, but it really did get very uncomfortable. Two fans were supplied but did not really make a dent in what air conditioning could achieve

Breakfast was a great selection of hot and cold and certainly tasted good. The free parking and wi fi was nice - as at most other places i have stayed these are normally charged extra.

The hotel bar 'The Castaway' had reasonable prices and would have liked to have tried the hotel food, but had already made arrangements.

Would definitely stay again BUT maybe in the winter!

Had air conditioning been available in the room this would have been a perfect stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking station (tannoy announcements - although did not bother me)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Mike_Chester_UK,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us, we are so pleased to hear it was an enjoyable one. We are pleased to read you was happy with the complimentary car parking and read about you finding the heat in the room uncomfortable, we do offer guests fans which normally provide some relief during the hotter months but with the heat wave this weekend we are sorry to hear two of them was not enough. We do hope to welcome you back to The Liner on your next trip to Liverpool.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just returned yesterday and stayed at this hotel. Could n.t fault anything. The room and bathroom was immaculate. Very friendly staff. Perfect location from Lime Street station and the city centre. I have just read the recent reviews. People will have to remember its not often we have this glorious weather, so of course the rooms are going to be hot. So what, the rooms are provided with very adequate curtains. We are not living abroad !!! and expect air conditioning. The breakfast also was faultless. I most definately will be returning again in the near future. Thank you.

Room Tip: Please select a room over the street like I did so you won.t get the noise from the railway station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryBarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear TerryBarrett,
Thank you for your very kind review regarding your recent stay at The Liner Hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you feel you couldn't fault anything. We appreciate all your kind comments and are so pleased you found the hotel ideally located to the city centre. We do hope we can welcome you back on your next trip to Liverpool.
Kind Regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived here with great hopes. The location of The Liner Hotel is good and an easy walk into Liverpool. So far that's the only good thing I can say. We stayed on the 6th floor and arrived on a sunny July day, we went to our room and two things hit us instantly.... The oppressive heat in our room and the deafening tannoy messages every 2 minutes from the overlooked Liverpool Lime Street train station. It was so bad that my partner didn't even want to unpack. She went back to reception and explained what was wrong and asked for a different room....... NO came back the short reply, we then were prepared to try and find somewhere else so asked for a refund..... NO, you've booked with another company, your issue is with them. Not even any attempt to try and help us. In other words, like it or lump it. The room we had wasn't bad, clean but a bit dated. We had a great evening in Liverpool, I can definitely recommend Panoramic 34. On our return the room was still stifling and hot so closing the window wasn't an option. Had the worst night sleep ever in a hotel. You either closed the window and couldn't sleep because it was too hot or with the window open you can't sleep because of the noise from the train station and seagulls. Even though we were told the tannoy finished at 11pm I can tell you that even at 3.30am messages are still going over the tannoy, and that to the train noises and seagulls leads to no sleep. Breakfast the next day kept the theme going, it seemed to be cheap food. The stuff that was hot was swimming in grease and the food that wasn't swimming in grease was cold. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND HERE AND WILL NOT COMMENCED BACK. much better similar priced hotels in Liverpool and I wish I'd have gone to them.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Dean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Dean T,
Thank you for choosing to stay with The Liner Hotel, I can only apologise that this clearly wasn’t the stay that should have occurred. We are sorry to hear that you found the bedroom to be too warm, we do have a selection of fans at the Reception which are available for our guests on the warmer days. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused during your stay and we hope that despite this unfortunate stay we can have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

this the seventh hotel we have stayed in Liverpool it was in a good spot if traveling by train nice modern rooms good breakfast nice staff the only down side was there was no air conditioning .and with hot weather was hard to sleep even with the fan they provided ..we visit Liverpool a lot will defenatly stay again when cooler as was very good value for money

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Fionadids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Fionadids,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us at The Liner Hotel, We appreciate your kind comments regarding our accommodation, friendly staff and location. I hope you will consider us again next time you are in Liverpool.
Kind Regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

My daughter is living in Liverpool and we took ourselves over for a visit. The hotel is clean and very central but for us, it was found lacking. The reception staff are forgettable to say the least. Having conversations amongst one another whilst customers are checking in is not acceptable. The night staff were however excellent. Very helpful and accommodating. Morning 1 we came down at 9.30 to ask where breakfast was - the reception staff the previous day were too busy chatting to tell us - and were told breakfast was finished. So we missed breakfast. Notably in the rooms there was also no guest information to get this info from. We tend to enjoy a nightcap before bed. The bar, or should I say pub, closes at 11pm and there is no residents bar. It was also stifling hot and the lack of air con made sleeping uncomfortable. But that was bad luck really as we don't always have such fantastic weather. Will I stay again? Probably not.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katriona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Katriona D,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Liner Hotel. We are pleased that you found the hotel to be clean and to be central location to the local attractions. I am sorry to read about your experience on checking in, I will pass these comments on to the Reception team to look into and address where it is needed. We appreciate guest feedback and we are very sorry for any inconvenience caused. We do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,890 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#19 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 97 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Property: The Liner Hotel
Address: Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the City Centre next to Lime Street Station The Liner Hotel is a perfect base to explore the City. Located just two minutes from The Empire Theatre, St. Georges Hall and the World Museum the hotel is in an enviable location. Liverpool One Shopping, Liverpool Echo Arena & Convention Centre are just minutes away. Liverpool Football Club can be reached in just 15 minutes. All bedrooms and public areas are furnished to a high standard with the most recent room refurbishments taking place in January 2017. We offer exceptional value for money with Free WIFI and car parking (subject to availability) included in the rate. The Seven Seas Brasserie & Castaway Bar is open daily with 3 course Pre Theatre Dining available from just £15.50. We hope to see you with us in the near future and don't forget to leave your review! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing