We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places I've stayed, highly recommended”
Review of The Liner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Liner Hotel
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
bingley, w yorks
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best places I've stayed, highly recommended”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I don't really want to give a review, as I don't want everyone to go - the price might go up!

Excellent hotel, great staff, lovely food, clean rooms, very difficult to find any faults with this hotel. On first arrival, once parked in the free secure car park, we walked towards the hotel, & admittedly thought it looked like we'd booked an office in an office block, not very appealing from the side, but once we saw the front, our concerns disappeared.

The reception staff were really friendly while remaining efficient. You're given a code for the free wifi if you want to use it, and you get one per device. We asked for three codes thinking there might have been a limit of one per person, but that wasn't the case.

We were given a room on the fourth floor, the views were nothing to write home about, but it really didn't matter. We overlooked the roof of the train station.

The whole hotel was designed to feel like a ship, with porthole windows, decks instead of floors, & nautical references throughout. The bathroom though small was perfectly formed. Great shower, quality complementary toiletries, and very clean.

The hospitality tray was fine, teas, coffees & hot chocolate, 2 bottles of still water, and a lovely set of three little cakes, a really nice touch.

The room was nicely decorated, and felt like care had been taken when designing the room, well coordinated. There was also a large fan in the room, given the hot summer we've had this year, it was nice not to have to ask, but to have it provided already.

There's a bar next door, I think it's part of the hotel, not sure, but it also had a nautical theme. The barren were so friendly, chatty, & fun, playing along with our silliness & banter, and it wasn't expensive either. We stayed there for a couple of drinks before heading into the town centre for dinner. The hotel has a restaurant, but we'd already made reservations elsewhere earlier, so we didn't get to sample the food there. The menu sounded really good, so we'll definitely go next time.

There is a room service menu, some items being available 24hours, some not, but there was a really good choice. There was a mini bar in our room, but we didn't even open the door, as I always worry I'll be charged. The prices were high, as they always are, for example a standard can of Coke was something like £2.75, but some people might not mind paying that. The lighting was good, the window opened enough, very pleasant sleeping ambience.

After a great nights sleep, we went down to the first floor for breakfast, which was self service. I didn't expect anything amazing, as we normally stay in places where breakfast is made to your exact order, but this was really good quality. So much choice, cereals, tons of fruit, yogurts, croissants, toasts, and a million other things we didn't even look at. At the hot section, there was a wide choice, but I had fried eggs (properly cooked), hash browns, sausage, and a little scrambled egg. I could have eaten it again, really enjoyed it. The fresh orange was a little too sweet for me, and I like sweet, but I think it was from concentrate, but that's about the only negative I can think of.

We were only booked for one night, as we'd come for an exhibition at the Tate, but I would have loved to stay longer.

Oh, gorgeous big fish tank in reception, wanted to take it home!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rufiemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear rufiemax,
Thank you for your kind review and rewarding us a five star rating. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great to hear that you would recommend us and you found the hotel to meet all your needs with regards to location, budget and standards. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Once again thank you for your kind comments.
Kind regards.
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,170
    1,677
    499
    143
    111
See reviews for
618
2,276
176
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Very good location next door to lime street station . Room very nice good bar and resturant . But what makes this hotel amazing are the staff extremely helpful very informative and welcoming. From the receptionist to the lovely young man in the car park .we will be back

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Bernadette F,
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay. I am very pleased you enjoyed your time with us, and that the hotel and facilities were all to your liking. It was great to read that you found the staff to be friendly and informative, I will pass these kind comments on to the team. I hope you will consider us again next time you are in Liverpool.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Spent a couple of days in Liverpool at the Liner Hotel in Lord Nelson great location parking next door (no charge for Hotel guests) ate in the restaurant/bar area a couple of times reasonably priced - beer was pleasingly priced. Overall good value. Suspected that I might have a room overlooking Lime St Station so I brought earplugs with me.

Room Tip: Overlooking Lord Nelson St is probably best to choose, as the back faces Lime St Station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed here overnight before joining a cruise ship.
The staff were so helpful and friendly. We were greeted with a huge smile which made us forget the problem we had finding the hotel. Not the hotel's fault; the satnav had its moment!
The room was spotless and really comfortable. We ate in the restaurant, where the food quality was excellent and reasonably priced. The knickerbocker glory was superb....We had a wander to see the Gay Pride Parade on a wet Saturday morning, and on our return, were greeted with a warming hot chocolate, free of charge. Just what we needed.
We left the car there for the period of our cruise and we were very impressed by the reasonable parking rate and the security of the site.The staff were most helpful in helping two senior citizens to transfer our luggage from car to taxi and waved us off as if we were old friends. .
Will we use the Liner again when sailing from Liverpool? Most certainly

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CumbriaHappysnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is a bit of a late review as we stopped here in April 2014.

We were just visiting Liverpool as we had the Anfield tour to do and we visited some old friends. This place is just lovely - the rooms were very clean, tidy and well presented. We were very close to the city centre too.

What made this place the most special was the staff and how they treated their customers, everyone had a smile on their face and couldn't have been any more helpful.

OOHH and the breakfast was FABULOUS.

I don't like staying at the same place twice, but if I come back up to Liverpool I will be staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Jay M,
Thank you for your very kind TripAdvisor review we are so pleased that you have had an enjoyable stay with us back in April. We are really pleased to hear you was happy with the standard and cleanliness of the hotel. It was lovely to read that you felt that the staff was kind and helpful, we really appreciate these kind comments and I will pass these on to the team here. We also appreciate your kind words about our breakfast, we do try to make our breakfasts at The Liner to have as much variety as possible. We hope to welcome you back to The Liner Hotel on your next trip.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smethwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Great hotel in an easy location
..staff so friendly in a great environment...beautiful breakfast as well..so easy to find...also noise of trains never bothered us as some reviews have made out its an issue

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theharpsicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear theharpsicle,
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay at The Liner Hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us. I am so pleased you found the hotel to be in a convenient location and you found the staff to be friendly. We hope that we can welcome you back to The Liner Hotel on your next trip to Liverpool.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Me and the hubby had a night here. Lovely place. Great location. Free car parking. Great food an not so expensive. room was spotless an staff were very friendly and helpful. No complaints at all will defiantly return.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kelsbels76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear kelsbels76,
Thank you for taking the time to write a kind review, we are so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are pleased that you found the location to be ideal and your stay to be value for money. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back to The Liner Hotel on your next trip to Liverpool.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
3,949 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
1,360 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 97 in Liverpool
579 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#22 of 97 in Liverpool
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Property: The Liner Hotel
Address: Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the City Centre next to Lime Street Station The Liner Hotel is a perfect base to explore the City. Located just two minutes from The Empire Theatre, St. Georges Hall and the World Museum the hotel is in an enviable location. Liverpool One Shopping, Liverpool Echo Arena & Convention Centre are just minutes away. Liverpool Football Club can be reached in just 15 minutes. All bedrooms and public areas are furnished to a high standard with the most recent room refurbishments taking place in January 2017. We offer exceptional value for money with Free WIFI and car parking (subject to availability) included in the rate. The Seven Seas Brasserie & Castaway Bar is open daily with 3 course Pre Theatre Dining available from just £16.50. We hope to see you with us in the near future and don't forget to leave your review! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing