We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was taken for a fool by their marketing dept.”
Review of The Liner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Liner Hotel
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
None
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I was taken for a fool by their marketing dept.”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Lovely friendly staff. Pleasant enough rooms although there seems to be little soundproofing. Had a 2 course pre theatre meal in the Castaway Resteraunt advertised all over the hotel to include a free glass of wine for residents. However, on paying the bill I was told that the wine was only with a 3 course meal. Nowhere was this specified on the advertising. A small thing I know, but I felt conned by their dishonest marketing. Makes you wonder what other offers the hotel makes are untrue.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimnol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Kimnol,
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay. I am disappointed to hear that there was some confusion over the complimentary wine, I will pass this on to the relevant department to look into and address where it is needed. We do hope that we can welcome you back to The Liner on your next trip to the city.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,169
    1,676
    499
    143
    111
See reviews for
618
2,275
176
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We booked a while ago to attend the Beatles festival, and for what we paid it was good value , breakfast and. parking included. However one thing to be aware of is the noise , they do weddings and both nights we stayed we where kept awake by the music. It also goes on very late .

Room Tip: Go for higher floor towards the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Anita K,
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay. We are pleased that you found the your stay to be of a good value. We are sorry to hear you was disturbed by the weddings that was taking place at the hotel, I will pass this feedback on to be looked into. We do hope that this unfortunate noise disruption will not dissuade you from staying with us in the future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Although we only stayed here for one night, the room was comfortable, breakfast was nice and the service we received was above satisfaction. Great location to the centre of Liverpool, theatres and walking distance to the docks.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen80star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Jen80star,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay – I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us.. It was nice to see that our location was useful for you, and that our rooms and our staff were all to your liking. I hope that you will consider us again next time you are in Liverpool.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Birds a bit noisy but it adds to the charm - room was clean n so was bathroom - breakfast was really good and very good service from staff - good location n very comfortable -wouldn't mind going there again ;)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmorarjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear bmorarjee,
Thank you for taking the time to write us your review of your recent stay with us. It was great to hear how you found the hotel to meet your needs and found our staff to offer a good service. We hope to welcome you aboard The Liner in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Great value for money at the Liner, literally yards from Lime St. station ,and so central for the city and its attractions. Great food very reasonably priced in their restaurant, Rooms very comfortable and clean, thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on side of hotel away from Lime Street station, announcements encroach a bit on the &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Jeff P,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for your kind words regarding location and our bedroom facilities. We hope to welcome you back to The Liner on your next trip to Liverpool.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We required comfortable accommodation close to the city centre where we felt we could relax each evening following a full day trecking around the museums and Liverpool 1.
This hotel provided that requirement with an excellent breakfast included.
In addition the hotel was clean, very friendly staff, ideally situated, and extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Ian T,
Thank you for your very kind review regarding your stay at The Liner. It was great that you had a comfortable stay and the location with convenient for your visit to the city. We appreciate your kind comments regarding the staff and our facilities, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The Liner is a well known hotel in Liverpool so we thought we would give it a try. It is conveniently located next to Liverpool Lime Street station and I found the staff to be polite and the rooms are certainly spotlessly clean. The check in and check out process is a little lengthy compared to other similar hotels however there were no major problems with this and they do provide free unlimited wifi which is of a good speed.

As others have stated on this site you do need to be aware that all the tannoy announcements for the major railway station next door are fully audible in the rooms even with the windows shut. These announcements do not stop at the end of the trains running but continue throughout the night with messages for the various staff working on the station while it is closed. The noise of the trains on the tracks and brakes squealing are also very audible during running hours.

We had far from a peaceful nights sleep, not because of the above particularly but because of disruption caused by other guests shouting and laughing in the corridors and banging on random room doors for at least a full hour from around 1am. We mentioned this to reception who said they do have someone patrolling the corridors but it's "difficult to keep a hotel with 300 guests in, quiet, in the middle of the night!" Having stayed in many other quality hotels this was certainly an interesting statement from The Liner!

There was also very loud music & what sounded like karaoke audible in the bedrooms until very late. The walls of the rooms seem to be paper thin so you can clearly hear exactly what's happening next door - oh and be prepared to be entertained by the swarking of seagulls all night who make their nests in the railway station close by - taking all this into account we got a total of 2 hours sleep if that!

The kettle in the room took 4 attempts before it would actually boil without cutting out after a few seconds - a real shame as the beverages provided were of good quality.

To top this off we also noticed there was no seal around the bedroom door - this is unusual for a hotel of this type and possibly due to the fire alarm sounders location - this certainly needs further attention to ensure safety and it would of course reduce noise from returning late night guests many of whom were somewhat inebriated from what we witnessed.

I know the management claim to be looking into the railway noise but this could easily be solved with better double glazing and soundproofing of the rooms - surely an investment in such a large establishment and something another cheaper hotel with a "good night guarantee " would do in an instant. As The Liner are charging £130 per room per night this would make good business sense.

It's a shame I have to leave such a negative review as I'd been looking forward to my stay here - If you too are thinking of staying ...take earplugs!!!

Room Tip: DO NOT accept a room at the rear of the hotel - you are unlikely to sleep well !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LandauForte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear LandauForte,
We are disappointed to hear that you did not fully enjoy your recent stay with us. We appreciate guest feedback and I will discuss all your comments with our management team. We hope that this unfortunate occasion will not dissuade you from staying with us in the future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 97 in Liverpool
3,944 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
1,360 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 97 in Liverpool
578 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#22 of 97 in Liverpool
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Property: The Liner Hotel
Address: Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the City Centre next to Lime Street Station The Liner Hotel is a perfect base to explore the City. Located just two minutes from The Empire Theatre, St. Georges Hall and the World Museum the hotel is in an enviable location. Liverpool One Shopping, Liverpool Echo Arena & Convention Centre are just minutes away. Liverpool Football Club can be reached in just 15 minutes. All bedrooms and public areas are furnished to a high standard with the most recent room refurbishments taking place in January 2017. We offer exceptional value for money with Free WIFI and car parking (subject to availability) included in the rate. The Seven Seas Brasserie & Castaway Bar is open daily with 3 course Pre Theatre Dining available from just £16.50. We hope to see you with us in the near future and don't forget to leave your review! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing