We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy place for group stay”
Review of The Liner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Liner Hotel
Ranked #23 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Looking for a place to bring a group (of 20+) not dedicated to copious consumption is sometimes difficult. (See the Trip Advisor reviews of the Adelphi, for instance.) The Liner is an oasis, perfectly located for car-less travelers just up the street from Liverpool's Lime Street station. Rooms (sorry, 'cabins', an odd affectation) were clean and in good shape (though wireless connections could be spotty); on the whole the hotel was quite quiet despite its size; the most noise I heard was from the trains from the station, given a rear-facing room. The breakfast buffet was plentiful (and conveniently offered from 630-930 am). Checking and out was likewise very smooth.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanariesPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,850)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,605 - 4,611 of 4,851 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2009

This hotel was fantastic. The staff were very friendly especially the conceirge(Think his name was Phil) he coulnt have been more helpful even though he seemed very busy, The breakfast was great and there was a wide range of products on offer. It was in an excellent location right in the middle of Liverpool 2 mins from Lime Street Station, 5 mins walk from main shopping area, and about 15 mins from Albert dock. I would defenatly visit again and have already recommended it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vix31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

Just 2 examples - the iron when used ruined a shirt as it was covered in filth, my ipod was nicked from my room and the staff were in my room when I was out for no apparent reason as I walked in on one and when I pointed this (and more) out - they just completly ignored the complaints. They also allocated my room to someone else - it is not good having a bloke walk into your room when you're in bed! Not good and these were just the worst things about my stay - there was more!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheesethief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbrackney23, Front of House Manager at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2009

Thank you for your letter dated 22nd of April following your recent stay at The Liner Hotel. Regarding the theft of your ipod no report was made to myself or the duty manager, do you have a name of the manager you spoke with?

We were sorry to hear that your stay was not as enjoyable as we would wish for our Guests. Clearly there were aspects of your stay that fell below our normal standard of Guests Services and for this we do apologise once again.

The Liner hotel has commenced a comprehensive training programme and we aim to exceed our Guest Expectations. We invest considerably in training to emphasise the importance of establishing good relationships and taking an interest in our Guests. A copy of your letter has been passed to the relevant departmental manager so they are aware of your observations and take necessary action. We regret that this aspect of your stay should prove disappointing and trust that no similar problems will arise in the future.

We do value our Guests and try to ensure their stay with us is as enjoyable as possible. It is only from constructive comments as yours are we able to continue to improve our standards and Exceed Guest Expectations. We have reviewed the management structure to ensure that any issues Guests may encounter will be dealt with by our Duty Manager at the time of their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a concert at the Echo Arena. I'm originally from Liverpool and I wanted a central hotel near to Lime Street Station. This hotel is perfect as it is only about 40 metres away from the station and within walking distance to everything

We stayed on the 5th floor in room 505. The room was very clean and spacious, the bathroom was the same.

We didn't have dinner at the hotel but the breakfast was fantastic. There was anything you want, continental or cooked.

I agree with a previous poster that the theme of the hotel is a bit cheesy but please don't be put off by that. This is a good, clean, central hotel and is excellent value.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wazza78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

Don't let the cheesy shipboard theme or ugly 70s hotel exterior put you off. In spite of the significantly cheaper price compared to the nearby Holiday Inn or Radisson, you get free parking on site, clean and fresh decor and rooms and a top class breakfast. It's a 90 second walk to Lime Street rail and the centre of town is on the doorstep.

I was a bit concerned about the Hen do staying at the same time as us, and possible late night revellers at the wedding on site, but we didn't hear a thing.

Parking is secure, though a little exposed, but a lot cheaper (i.e. free) compared to what you get elsewhere in the city centre.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remtard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Liner for a midweek football game recently. Staff were extremely courteous and our fourth floor room/cabin was spotless Breakfast was fine. The hotel is adjacent to Lime St. train station so it’s only natural that there’s a level of outside noise, but you expect that in a city centre hotel anywhere. The location is very convenient for shopping in the city centre. Believe me, after some of the other comments on this website, we were ready for anything, but were very pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KK_Cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2009

Lovely clean hotel. Very reasonably priced. Me and my husband stayed in the pent house suite (mid week), which was awesome. Massive...very well equipped, lots of extra's, very clean, great price...fab!Two of our friends stayed on the same night in a standard room. The standard rooms are small, but clean, well equipped and at a very good price. Breakfast was buffet style, plenty of choice, nicely cooked and again very clean! We stay over in liverpool very frequently and have stayed in the standard rooms before and will again. We are staying in the penthouse again on 20th of this month...little more expensive at the weekend, but from our last stay, I would say it is worth it if you want to treat yourself!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,189 reviews
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#22 of 98 in Liverpool
1,838 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#56 of 98 in Liverpool
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Address: Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £54 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the City Centre next to Lime Street Station The Liner Hotel is a perfect base to explore the City. Located just two minutes from The Empire Theatre, St. Georges Hall and the World Museum the hotel is in an enviable location. Liverpool One Shopping, Liverpool Echo Arena & Convention Centre are just minutes away. Liverpool Football Club can be reached in just 15 minutes. All bedrooms and public areas are furnished to a high standard with the most recent room refurbishments taking place in January 2017. We offer exceptional value for money with Free WIFI and car parking (subject to availability) included in the rate. The Seven Seas Brasserie & Castaway Bar is open daily with 3 course Pre Theatre Dining available from just £16.50. We hope to see you with us in the near future and don't forget to leave your review! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing