We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Air...horrible beds...noise!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Liner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Liner Hotel
Ranked #24 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“No Air...horrible beds...noise!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

Stayed here during Beatle Week last year and this has to be one of the most overpriced hotels in Liverpool. There was no air conditioning in our room and when we opened the tiny window, all we heard was alley noise at night and the dump trucks in the morning. Beds and rooms are tiny and uncomfortable. Would NEVER stay here again. The only thing going for it is it's location. PERIOD.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sis0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,093
    1,624
    478
    133
    109
See reviews for
595
2,206
170
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,085)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
N Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

Stayed for two nights at this hotel. Lovely hotel, staff efficient and facilties excellent. Breakfast really lovely and would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat. Excellent situation behind Liverpool's Lime St Station.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dradams93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

Really nice hotel. Lovely clean room, close to the station (and not noisy)... excellent breakfast & really friendly staff. Would stay again but my only complaint was the bed. I was expecting a kingsize & it was two singles pushed together... not so bad but you could feel every spring in it- very uncomfortable, especially because I am 6 months pregnant- had to sleep on top of my duvet!! But like I said, a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steffersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2009

Hotel is very nice, centrally located and all staff are most helpful. Castaway Bar and restaurant very good. The room we had was quite small & compact however because there was no aircon in the bedrooms, it was impossible to sleep. We did have a fan but this was blowing around hot air. Window only opens very slightly (obviously for safety reasons) so there was no way of getting air to circulate. At one point the temp in our room was 39,.2C. Would recommend you stay in this hotel in the winter only as too uncomfortable in the summer months.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samanthawinston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

This hotel really suprised me. The room (sorry Cabin) was large and suprisingly large and spotlessly clean. Everything was of really high quality and the room seemed brand new.
There is no air con and the room was very warm but the porter supplied us with a fan within minutes of asking.
Only downside was our mini bar which wouldn't open, apparantly there was an IT issue.
Overall a gem of a hotel and far better than most I have stayed and suprisingly cheap.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2009

I was on holiday with my wife.When we arrived,at the Liner we where greeted by the concierge, and directed to reception while our baggage was taken care of ,no sooner had we checked in and reached our room,our baggage was there. We stayed for 4 days and in this time we Dined in the restaurant which was clean, inexpensive, with an excellent menu..(Red Snapper and Crayfish was excellent) We had just been to NY and thought the hotel there was good ,,this place (the Liner)was just a gem close to all facilities, Lime Street Railway station /Bus station, close by Walker Art Gallery and Museum within 5 min walk, just 2-3 minutes to the Mersey tunnel by car.Shopping Centre within 5min walk. In the time we were there the hotel never ceased to amaze with a business centre that actually works with free internet connection, a Breakfast that caters for every cultural taste, it was a pleasure to have breakfast everyday as it was a gourmet service. All staff where polite courteous and well presented, with asafe and secure car park.I forgot to mention rooms where of a high standard clean, tidy and quiet they had tea and coffee,in the room, which in America they did not.

  • Liked — Quality of service, Decor,Staff, Food all excellent
  • Disliked — Never had a negative experience there
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank holnyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2009

Me and my boyfriend booked this hotel for two nights while we did some sightseeing and shopping in Liverpool.
I have got to say this hotel is under rated, it's lovely, very modern and all the staff are so helpful, especially the concierge who reccommended a lovely restaurant to us and gave us instructions on how to get there.
The rooms are very spacious and cleaned to a high standard everyday. There was a good choice of food for breakfast and dinner.
It was also very good that parking at the hotel was free, where as with most hotels now you're expected to pay!
The hotel is perfectly situated and getting around Liverpool is made easier by having a taxi bay just outside the hotel. Taxis were also fairly cheap and also the drivers (that we had) were very nice.
We will definitly be returning in the not too distant future :)

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxsunseeker07xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,843 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#19 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Property: The Liner Hotel
Address: Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the City Centre next to Lime Street Station The Liner Hotel is a perfect base to explore the City. Located just two minutes from The Empire Theatre, St. Georges Hall and the World Museum the hotel is in an enviable location. Liverpool One Shopping, Liverpool Echo Arena & Convention Centre are just minutes away. Liverpool Football Club can be reached in just 15 minutes. All bedrooms and public areas are furnished to a high standard with the most recent room refurbishments taking place in January 2017. We offer exceptional value for money with Free WIFI and car parking (subject to availability) included in the rate. The Seven Seas Brasserie & Castaway Bar is open daily with 3 course Pre Theatre Dining available from just £15.50. We hope to see you with us in the near future and don't forget to leave your review! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing