We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Liner Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Aachen Hotel(Liverpool)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (5,464)
Filter reviews
5,464 results
Traveller rating
2,638
1,979
565
160
122
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,638
1,979
565
160
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslime street stationtrain stationempire theatrecastaway barnautical themefree car parkcity centremini barlovely hotelself servicefull englishbuffet breakfasttwin roomexcellent locationwould stay againexcellent value for moneyvisiting liverpool
Filter
Updating list...
1,417 - 1,422 of 5,464 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here from December 29th-31st as a christmas break treat. The hotel was literally 10steps away from the train station!
It was very clean, each room has a mini bar that is filled up and if you take anything from it they charge you (which is reasonable). It includes mixers and alcohol!

The hotel is made to look as though you were on board a ship, which was a lovely touch. The breakfast was amazing as there was so much to choose from hot and cold. The bar downstairs is great too, we had a game of pool whilst drinking decent priced beer.

I would 100% recommened this hotel and if I were to return to Liverpool then I would stay here again.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AOBrien18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Dear AOBrien18,
Thank you for you fabulous 5* review. We are so pleased our location was ideal for you. We appreciate all your kind comments regarding the hotel and our onsite facilities. I will pass on your very kind feedback to the team and thank you for recommending us. We look forward to welcomeing you back to The Liner Hotel on your next visit to Liverpool.
Kind regards,
The Liner Sales Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here in September for my stag. It's a very clean and nice place. Very central and very helpful staff. When I go back to Liverpool I would definitely recommend and look at this place again. All my friends and family who came really liked the place.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Customer1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLinerHotel, Front of House Supervisor at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Good Evening,

Thank you for your recent review!

It is great to hear that you found our crew very helpful during your stay, it is always nice to hear such lovely comments about our staff. I'm also very glad to hear that you would look to return to us in the future and recommend us to your friends! Remember to book direct with us in order to receive our best prices and deals.

We look forward to welcoming you back aboard in the future!

Kind Regards,
Daniel Healey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

The Liner Hotel is very close to Lime Street station and has good parking facilities. That's the good news. I am now struggling to think of anything positive about my stay there, so on to the bad. Check-in was hostile. The room (on the sixth floor) was cold. The shower had lost the will to live and trains of Lime Street, the room's mini-bar and the hotel's plant room conspired to make an awful racket through-out the night. Sleep was difficult.
And then there's the decor...a mock ocean liner theme runs through-out front of house which does nothing other than create a sense of impending disaster. This theme does not, how-ever, make it into the room. The theme there appears to be Thistle Hotel circa 1990. As for breakfast? Please, just don't.
A joyless experience all round.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheKingsMen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear TheKingsMen,
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I will pass on your feedback to the management team to look into and address where needed. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused, however your particular stay does not reflect the standards our guests usually receive. We hope that we can welcome you back to The Liner Hotel and your previous experience will not dissuade you from staying with us in the future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Sales Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We stayed here over New Years eve and found the hotel in a great location next to Lime street station and the town centre.Hotel rooms are a little small but basic, clean and comfortable with a mini bar (payable) and tea and coffee facilities.
Breakfast is self service and is excellent clean,fresh in a pleasant atmosphere with friendly helpful staff and a spotless kitchen, what more can you ask for!
Would definitely recommend

Room Tip: Top floor gives you great views over the city
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dean m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear dean m,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us over New Years Eve. We are pleased to hear that the location and our onsite facilities were to your liking. Thank you for all your kind feedback, we hope we can welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Sales Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Booked for my husbands birthday 29/12. Picked this hotel for parking which was well organised and very pleasant attendants. Nice well laid out hotel with clean rooms a bit dated but to be fair for this may be due to the theming. Close to the centre and all attractions all within walking distance. Now for the negatives both on check in and check out both ladies who served us were very abrupt and not very pleasant or forthcoming with info. The breakfast was very disappointing had many hotel breakfasts this year and this is by far the worst, hard toast and dry croissants never had a crossant like it and very weak coffee.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank floridadream04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL1234567, Guest Relations Manager at The Liner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Many thanks for choosing The Liner Hotel at Liverpool. We hope that your husband had an enjoyable birthday. It is great to hear a number of positive points however we are saddened to hear that you found some staff members to be rude and the breakfast of poor quality. As you will see from many of our previous 4 & 5 star reviews we are usually praised for the friendliness of our staff and the high quality breakfast. We are sorry on this occasion we failed to meet with your expectations. I do hope that you will come back to us in the future and allow us to rectify the issues mentioned. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews