We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fabulous stay in a cosy & comfy period house...”
other travellers have booked this property
Formby Red Squirrel Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Formby Red Squirrel Cottage
Red Squirrel Cottage Formby Merseyside Front outlook, protected coppice and not overlooked
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
Formby Red Squirrel Cottage
Red Squirrel Cottage Formby Merseyside
Front outlook, protected coppice and not overlooked
kitchen overlooking large rear garden
Single room
kitchen
Rear private garden with Indian stone patio and outdoor dining table with six chairs
Beautiful Sand Dunes, beyond the perfect pine woods!
Formby Pinewoods....just at the end of the road! Two minutes in car or fifteen minute walk
'The Beach'. Formbys fantastic coastline is near Crosby...home to Anthony Gormleys 'A
Formby is home to The National Trust Red Squirrel Reserve
Famous red squirrel lives here!
Red Squirrel Cottage Formby Merseyside
Original Victorian door ( now double glazed)!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Liverpool, Merseyside, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
BarbaraJB...
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Didn't manage to stay. This is no longer available as a holiday let - just found out.”
Reviewed 5 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Tried to book this through Trip Advisor but got no response from owner. Found her website and tried to email, still no response. Finally got hold of her via mobile number to be told it was no longer available as a holiday letting. Was v apologetic. I thought other potential bookers or repeat bookers might like to know.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
Red Squirrel Cottage is now open for bookings. Sorry it was temporarily closed. Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt like home from home.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Nov 2017
Thank you for this kind review! Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Retiredag...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming - but a few missteps”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Red Squirrel Cottage is situated close to the trains and shopping. It is well furnished with kitschy ceramic squirrels everywhere. It was generally clean and tidy. However, there were a few things that would have made our visit more comfortable. For example, we were provided only one small bath towel each for the duration of our four night stay. No hand towels or face clothes available. The combination tub/shower in the main bath is not suitable for elderly people. You are required to step over a very high enclosure to access the tub. Once in the tub the flimsy base bounces up and down when you move which could throw off your balance (especially so when the tub is wet and slick with soap). The shower curtain was not very clean. The kitchen was underequipped (there were few suitable pots and pans and a sharp knife was not to be found). The third bedroom was not made up. For the price of the let I expected a bit more.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2016
I am so sorry you weren't completely happy at my cottage. I'll try to respond to each point.
There was a hand towel in the bathroom as well as a bath towel for each guest and bath mats and tea towels. The issue of towels is always a problem for my cleaners to wash and dry in the short changeover period, but the cottage does have a full laundry facilities, and I believe most people would not expect a towel provided for each day.
I did initially provide face clothes but they were never used. Maybe it's different in Canada but here in the UK it's not something most people use, and as its so personal folk would choose to bring their own.
The shower is excellent but it is over the bath. Thre is a fixed grab rail on the wall for steadiness. As my cottage is over 150 years old, I would need to build on to have a walkin shower at ground level. This would totally ruin the charm of Red Squirrel Cottage. There is however a downstairs toilet and sink in the utility room.
I ask the cleaners to change the shower curtain for each stay ( I have three in stock) and I will take this issue up with the cleaning company. I apologise if this was not done for your stay.
There is a wooden kitchen block housing the sharp knives, they are not kept in the kitchen drawer.
The third bedroom was not required by you. I had all the beds you requested made up, and had you asked for the third room then all beds would have been prepared. I always check to ascertain exactly what is required and I'm sorry but I do not understand this remark.
Red Squirel Cottage is my pride and joy, and I will do whatever is reasonably required to ensure my guests have a wonderful time there.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea C
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely family weekend!”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Excellent accommodation close to lovely, clean beach and pine forest-ideal for long walks with Molly (the dog!) Younger members of the family were able to go into Liverpool shopping before meeting us back at The Cross House Inn where everyone was so friendly. Large, enclosed garden with ample seating area for relaxing. Cottage is full of character with modern amenities. Lovely touch of scones and jam on our arrival. Overall, an enjoyable time was had by all! Would certainly return.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorna l
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely home from home”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here with our 3 teenagers and it was wonderful visit. It had plenty of space and it was perfect for what we wanted. The garden was stunning and had brilliant wifi. It was close by to the beach and pine woods. I would defiantly recommend this to a friend 10 out of 10. Owner very easy to contact and friendly. Thank you for a lovely week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: wifi and tvs
Liked least: Busy road making it tricky to reverse car in/out
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeardleys
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, spacious and homely.”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was perfect for our short family break with Grandma and our children. The location was excellent allowing us to pack a lot in. The nature reserve and beach were close by and we saw a handful of the elusive red squirrels on the morning we went there. The cottage was also perfect for visiting the many attractions in Liverpool with a short and straightforward journey into the City. (there is also a direct train that stops in the village). After a busy day in the city centre it was great to be able to come back to a restful and relaxing home-much nicer than staying in a soulless city centre flat.! Highly recommended. NB the owners were a joy to deal with.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spacious and clean and great location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2017
Thank you this kind review! Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary H
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spacious Family Cottage with Character in Ideal Location”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We wanted a place for a family of five to stay to be near family in Liverpool but to explore the coastline from Liverpool to Southport. We stumbled upon Red Squirrel Cottage in Formby and it turned out to be ideal.

Great location for exploring the wider area and the superb Formby beaches are within walking distance/ very short drive away. The railway station is close by with excellent links to Liverpool, Southport etc. Formby itself is much larger than we expected, and has very good facilities.

Everything we needed for a comfy stay was at Red Squirrel Cottage; bedding, washing facilities, spacious garden, cosy living rooms, plus loads of nice touches such as books, games and Wi-Fi.

Booking was simple, arrival and access to the property made simple and the owner communication was good in making sure we were settled and had everything we needed.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review. It's so lovely to know people enjoy the time spent at the cottage as much as I do!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing