We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
Ranked #12 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We got a fantastic deal through Hotels.com at £62 per night, about half price on the standard room rate. Stayed two nights and really enjoyed it. Great location down near the Pier Head, and only 6-7 mins from the town centre and Albert Dock. It's that perfect combination of close enough to the action but far enough away for a quiet night's sleep.

The room was, in the main, lovely. Really contemporary with a great TV, complementary minibar filled each day (don't get too excited, it's a couple of beers, a couple of water bottles, some soft drinks, crisps and chocolate) but it really made a difference when most other hotels not only charge for content but blatantly rip you off! I hope it lasts, it's a really nice touch.

Staff were very courteous and helpful, quick to rectify problems of which there were a few. The rooms are lovely but the builder hadn't seen fit to clean the tiled floor he'd laid so our room had bits of cement and grout hardened onto the tile faces. The shower in the bathroom was great but didn't drain very well meaning the bathroom flooded if you had a shower lasting more than five minutes. Same with the sink which drained glacially and didn't seem to have a plug mechanism. The maid failed to clear dirty glasses and cups, and didn't leave us any loo roll or milk, but the girl from reception handled the issue personally and quickly.

Overall, the hotel is nice, the location is great, the staff are friendly and keen to help. I hope they get over the teething problems as we'd definitely visit again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whiters8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,328
    758
    165
    28
    17
See reviews for
151
1,185
56
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorado, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

When we first arrived at the hotel we were confused as to where we should unload our luggage. My husband pulled onto a side street and ran in to the hotel to find out. When he returned he said, "The hotel looks amazing, but they have no bell service and no valet." He dropped me off with our luggage at a rear entrance to the lobby and then went to park in a secure garage down the street. The staff were very friendly, and it seemed they felt bad that the set-up was so haphazard. I waited for him to return in the lobby/bar area as it was all blended together. It was very busy and a Saturday night. The desk manager sent a bellhop type up with our large suitcase so that my husband and I didn't have to lug it. The room itself was large, modern, and had hardwood floors (I am sure not real, but very nice looking regardless). I really prefer the hardwood floors since the carpets in some hotels wind up questionably clean at best. The room had a freestanding closet which housed the free minibar which I felt was a very nice touch. It's nice not to feel nickel and dimed to death in an upscale hotel. The bed itself was nicely made with a clean, white duvet. The pillows were a little too firm and the bed a little too flimsy. I think we needed to turn the thermostat down some to be more comfortable in it. The bathroom was very modern and unique. There was just enough room around the sink for one to set their toiletries. Note to US travelers: there are no electrical outlets in UK bathrooms except for shavers. Ladies, you will have to blow dry and flat iron outside of the bathroom. In this hotel they were thoughtful enough to put a large full length mirror in the room with outlets directly under it which made it much easier to use those appliances and see what I was doing. The towels were nice and thick, and while it seemed like the hotel was full with a party type bunch, we never heard any noise all night. The breakfast buffet was the usual. Unfortunately, they had no soy milk for my husband. We were just passing through Liverpool, but if we ever came here again we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

For the advertised standard of accomodation this hotel seemed like a real bargain and we were not to be disappointed.

The hotel had an extremely modern, quirky feel to it. The bedroom by no means huge, was beautifully decorated with everything that you could ask for. Free wi-fi, an excellent TV (with Sky Sports included) and a bed so comfortable it was on a par with a Marriott one according to my wife (high praise indeed!). As for the bathroom it was spotlessly clean, with a huge shower room and a crisp feel to it.

In fact our only small criticism was probably confined to check in/out at the hotel. Even though our own experience was fine, on both occasions we were kept waiting asother guests were querying their bill as a result of what appeared to be the hotel's mistakes?

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter11435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Just returned from staying at the indigo yesterday. Really cant fault this Hotel. It was spotless and the Hotel staff were more than helpful and fiendly. Breakfast was perfect and this was served till eleven o clock. When we weren't getting lost we discovered on the last day that it was actually in a great location just five mins walk from the city centre. I will certainly be returning there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilyq2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Booked for an opening offer with Hotel Indigo in order to go down to the Pier Head to see the Macula Spectacular. Really well positioned for the sights of Liverpool. Bed was so so comfortable could've stayed there all day! Liked the touch of the included wi-fi and mini-bar (although there was no bottle-opener in the room they brought one up immediately and apologised) which contained high quality branded goods including Divine chocolate and Tyrell's crisps - yum. We were very early for breakfast so had to wait a few minutes as on a Sunday breakfast doesn't start too early. When it did start the content was very good range and tasty. Staff are very efficient and keen to help.

Room Tip: The room which view the front seem to be smaller (ours was over the car park) the room may be larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claudiaWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Lovely new boutiquie hotel in Chapel St, unfortunately no parking had to park in nearby multi-storey costing £12/ 24hrs.Rooms were very tastefully decorated though on the small side.Staff were all very helpful, booked with Travelzoo who unfortunately didnt advise us we had to book a table at the Marco-Pierre restaurant though it was included in the price so only available time was 18.00hrs.Food was excellent, the buffet breakfast was also really good.

Couldnt really fault it, great deal.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter19966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

The hotel opened three months ago and you can tell - the service is not as slick as expected, there seemed to be problems with other customers and we had issues from the start - check in was slow, we had to wait until 3.45 to be allocated a room (check in was at 3pm) - staff on front desk were not overly welcoming.

We had booked a meal with our package, only to be told when we checked in that the restaurant was fully booked - not very impressed. The only options were 6pm or 9.30pm.

Good points - Decent location, 5 minute walk to city centre and shops, fashionable looking hotel, well decorated rooms with good bathroom and brilliant power shower.

Beds were a double - not a king size - bit of a suprise as this seems to be standard in 4/5 star hotels.

Breakfast was great - full english buffet style.

Decent but not up to 4 star scratch yet - hopefully these things will change when the hotel has been up and running longer. Doubt would stay again - would probably try elsewhere if in Liverpool again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poshhotels4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,843 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#19 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Pullman Liverpool
#6 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Liverpool

Property: Hotel Indigo Liverpool
Address: 10 Chapel Street, Liverpool L3 9AG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Liverpool 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stone’s throw away from Liverpool’s historic and vibrant waterfront, this luxury boutique hotel is opening early summer 2011. Hotel Indigo is unique and designed to reflect the local culture, character and geography of the surrounding area while the brand hallmarks of being part of the InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG) ensure consistent and reliable services. Hotel Indigo isn’t just another place to stay. It’s an intriguing, inclusive, inspiring experience specifically designed for travellers who aspire to something more than run-of-the-mill accommodations. Situated in Liverpool City Centre, it offers 151 bedrooms coupled with excellent facilities. The hotel features cosy, airy and inviting guestrooms with oversized beds, plush bedding with throw pillows, hard-surface flooring with area rugs and signature murals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing