We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Try again Disapointing”

Maritime Dining Room
Ranked #383 of 1,846 Restaurants in Liverpool
Price range: US$4 - US$21
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Situated on the top floor of Merseyside Maritime Museum, the Maritime Dining Room offers modern regional food made in-house by our team of talented, award winning chefs. Our menus use locally sourced ingredients and are updated regularly to make the most of fresh seasonal produce. Relax and enjoy our two course Sunday roast, taking in the stunning waterfront views and historic setting. We offer a choice of Sunday roasts including traditional roast beef with crisp Yorkshire puddings, roast potatoes and seasonal vegetables. Follow your Sunday roast with your favourite dessert, such as our fabulously indulgent sticky toffee pudding with butterscotch sauce. Fancy a treat? Our delicious and decadent afternoon tea includes a selection of savoury modern favourites, delicious homemade cakes and delicate patisserie, accompanied by freshly baked fruit scones served with homemade fruit conserve and fresh cream.
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Visited on Saturday 9/3/2013 with my Sister ordered 1 x High Tea and 1 x Afternoon Tea both with Earl Grey, My sister loved hers (High Tea) a lovlely scone with proper clotted cream and a pot of Jame it was a lovely treat. I had spent the time walking over telling her how fab the afternoon tea was and how its served on a cake stand etc.

What a disappointment could agree more with the review left by EH.

The cake stand has disappeared to be replaced by a plate, comprising of 1/2 x Salmon Tikka Bap 1/2 x Bagel with Limp lettuce and some smoked ham 1/4 piece of a wrap with feta cheese and olives complete with a small slice of iced cake filled with creme patisserie & 1/2 of a scone with far too much piped cream from a tin on top and a miniscule bit of jam to finish.

The whole point of afternoon tea is something old fashioned and taking away the cake stands takes away the essence of this British Tradition it seems the Maritime are seving half measures for the princely sum of £9.00!!!!!!!!!

Bring back the traditional £7.00 afternoon tea! I for one will not be back and will never recomend again, after the disapointment of last time I did give it another chance, sadly my last

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank clare198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, Manager at Maritime Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Clare198,

Firstly allow me to thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on trip advisor about your recent visit to The Maritime Dining Rooms.

I am sorry you were not happy with your afternoon tea and felt that it lacked the charm you were expecting.

However, all of the products you received are made in house by our chefs and I can assure you that we do not use tinned cream. The cream we use on our scones is double cream which we whip and put in a piping bag and pipe to order. The reason we changed how our scones are presented on our afternoon teas is because we are responding to the feedback of our focus group.

With Regards to the cake stands, we currently don’t have enough on site to utilise in the restaurant as the ones we were using are faulty and have broken. We have re-ordered a new style of stand and they will be back in circulation within the next two weeks.

We always aim to be competitive with the products we serve and the prices we charge, this includes sourcing a tea supplier who is a local business owner and making as much of our products as possible in house so all of our proceeds can go back in to funding our museums.

If you would like to discuss this further then please feel free to contact me directly on maritimediningrooms@liverpoolmuseums.org.uk

Kind Regards,

Helen Baxter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 207 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013

Visited the Maritime Dining Room a number of times over the last year, always great value and choice. Staff polite and attentive which creates a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. Food always of high standard with the added bonus of great views of the Albert Dock and surrounding area.

Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Enjoyed our lunch gathering .Our waitress Vicky and the restaurant staff couldn't have been kinder or more helpful. It was a real treat . Will certainly return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, Manager at Maritime Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear MaureenM,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your Mother’s day meal with us at the Maritime Dining Rooms, we are glad you and your party enjoyed it.

On the strength of the feedback we received on Mother’s Day we will now be running our ‘Sharing’ roast menu every Sunday, so please do come back and see us again.

If you would like more information on up and coming events, menu changes or general information please follow us on twitter @merseymaritime or email us directly on maritimediningrooms@liverpoolmuseums.org.uk and I will add you to our mailing list.

Kind Regards,

Helen Baxter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

My husband and i recently visited the Albert Docks and went for afternoon tea at the Maritime Dining Room. Although the views were lovely, the food certainly was not. For £9 each we were served in total 1 small egg mayonnaise seeded bap, 1 small smoked salmon seeded bap and 2 open top beef bagels, all of which were stale and dry along the cut edges, so obviously not freshly made. We were also served up 1 small scone with cream from a tin and jam (not clotted cream as advertised) and a miniscule piece of victoria sandwich each. The only saving grace was the pot of leaf tea!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, Manager at Maritime Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear EH,

Firstly allow me to thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on trip advisor about your recent visit to The Maritime Dining Rooms.

I am sorry you were not happy with your afternoon tea and have fed your comments back to our kitchen team with regards to the quality of the sandwiches you received.

However, all of the products you received are made in house by our chefs and I can assure you that we do not use tinned cream. The cream we use on our scones is double cream which we whip and put in a piping bag and pipe to order.

We always aim to be competitive with the products we serve and the prices we charge, this includes sourcing a tea supplier who is a local business owner and making as much of our products as possible in house so all of our proceeds can go back in to funding our museums.

I hope you will consider us again if you are in Liverpool or if you would like to discuss this further then please feel free to contact me directly on maritimediningrooms@liverpoolmuseums.org.uk

Kind Regards,

Helen Baxter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Nice little place to have a drink and a bit to eat after been around the museum. Can ever have your drink outside too

Thank chrissy1870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maritime Dining Room also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Maritime Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing