We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended afternoon tea!”

Maritime Dining Room
Ranked #296 of 1,720 Restaurants in Liverpool
Price range: US$4 - US$20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Situated on the top floor of Merseyside Maritime Museum, the Maritime Dining Room offers modern regional food made in-house by our team of talented, award winning chefs. Our menus use locally sourced ingredients and are updated regularly to make the most of fresh seasonal produce. Relax and enjoy our two course Sunday roast, taking in the stunning waterfront views and historic setting. We offer a choice of Sunday roasts including traditional roast beef with crisp Yorkshire puddings, roast potatoes and seasonal vegetables. Follow your Sunday roast with your favourite dessert, such as our fabulously indulgent sticky toffee pudding with butterscotch sauce. Fancy a treat? Our delicious and decadent afternoon tea includes a selection of savoury modern favourites, delicious homemade cakes and delicate patisserie, accompanied by freshly baked fruit scones served with homemade fruit conserve and fresh cream.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommended afternoon tea!”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I brought my mum in for afternoon tea and we were both impressed by the food and service on offer. All well made and presented, the scones in particular were delicious and really fresh. We often go out for afternoon tea and although we were slightly apprehensive at the unusual flavour combinations on the sandwiches they did not disappoint!! Great location if you are visiting Liverpool for a day out and good value for money.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    68
    20
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fantastic all round”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Went here for lunch yesterday I had afternoon tea which was fabulous, the home made cakes were particularly nice.. A definite must have, we were given just the right amount of attention by the staff and very reasonable prices

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha_jay7767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Afternoon Tea Was Delightful, Best Scones Around”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Delicious food, great value, friendly service and a great atmosphere, I just loved the afternoon tea...We'll be back!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank breakaway2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The views are stunning and the food is grand.”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Came with Mum, girlfriend, her friend and wee daughter in a pram. Staff were friendly and helpful, food was lovely: well presented and fairly priced from an interesting menu. The room itself is a little sparse, but airy and light, and the views over the docks are wonderful. It's a well-kept secret, and one that deserves wider attention. I'd been to a wedding meal here before and been really impressed then, too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Killforaseat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, Manager at Maritime Dining Room, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Killforaseat,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to The Maritime Dining Rooms.

We are glad you and your party enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you all again soon.

If you would like more information on up and coming events, menu changes or general information please follow us on twitter @merseymaritime or email us directly on maritimediningrooms@liverpoolmuseums.org.uk and I will add you to our mailing list.

Kind Regards,

Helen Baxter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, friendly service”
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

We came in for Sunday roast on water Sunday and had a great time.

Food was lovely & we really enjoyed the conversation it created over the table.

Service wa friendly and relaxed, room is quite big so if your in there on your own it can feel quite cold.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarahco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maritime Dining Room also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Maritime Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing