We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great dining experience.”

Maritime Dining Room
Ranked #318 of 1,680 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated on the top floor of Merseyside Maritime Museum, the Maritime Dining Room offers modern regional food made in-house by our team of talented, award winning chefs. Our menus use locally sourced ingredients and are updated regularly to make the most of fresh seasonal produce. Afternoon tea Our delicious and decadent afternoon tea includes a selection of savoury modern favourites, delicious homemade cakes and delicate patisserie, accompanied by freshly baked fruit scones served with homemade fruit conserve and fresh cream. Afternoon tea is served with an individual pot of loose leaf tea. If you want to indulge or celebrate, why not add a quarter bottle of prosecco or seasonal cocktail? Sunday roasts Sundays are always best spent catching up with family and friends over a delicious roast dinner. Why not relax and enjoy our two course Sunday roast, while taking in the stunning waterfront views and letting the conversation flow? We offer a choice of Sunday roasts including traditional roast beef with crisp Yorkshire puddings, roast potatoes and seasonal vegetables. Follow your Sunday roast with your favourite dessert, such as our fabulously indulgent sticky toffee pudding with butterscotch sauce.
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A great dining experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Our party of five lunched here on a recent trip to the Maritime Museum. Two of us had the Taste of the Sea seafood platters, one had the Posh Ploughman's and two had the pulled pork sandwich.

The food was absolutely fantastic and beautifully presented. We would recommend this place for really fantastic food at a great price. We will definitely return.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alcudiafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    67
    20
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A really nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We arrived at the museum at lunchtime and thought we'd check out the top-floor restaurant which we'd not been to before. What a pleasant surprise. The staff were very welcoming - Vicky in particular was very helpful. The menu was interesting but definitely not expensive given the quality of food that appeared and the view from one of the tables by the window was a bonus.
We like visiting the museum anyway but now we know about the restaurant I can see us arranging to time our visits - especially when showing friends around Liverpool - deliberately to coincide with lunch there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rovers09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“SIMPLY GREAT: Great Food; Great Service; Great Views; Great Price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Having arrived in Liverpool the night before a cruise to the Baltic, we had a morning to look around the brilliantly restored Liverpool Docks. Not having enough time to do the Tate justice we opted, instead, to visit the Maritime Museum and stumbled on this brilliant restaurant by accident rather than design: and we're so pleased we did!
The lunchtime rush was just starting when we arrived and we fortunate enough to get a window seat overlooking Albert Dock. One of the waiting staff was with us instantly with menus and was not at all put out by our lack of decision-making when she returned a few minutes later.
We ate simply, I with the charcutier board that was plentiful, varied and had some imaginative touches, my wife on fish and chips (typically British, but with a quality unsurpassed by famous fish and chip emporia charging four times the price and more). I finished with syllabub and a HobNob, and I had to enlist Helen's help to make a decent dent in the very ample, and very excellent, confection.
A pot of tea each and cappuccino to follow rounded off an excellent meal, and the total bill of just over £30 was a steal considering the quantity and quality of food and the excellent service.
The regeneration of the Liverpool Docks is something that will draw us back again, there is so much more to see and do, but we already know where we'll be having lunch!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another excellent visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We brought our nieces & nephews to see the sniffer dogs, popped in for some lunch. Children's menu very good value & portioned just right. Afternoon tea for me & my husband, carrot cake was to
Die for. Staff attentive and helpful as always! Thanks for another excellent visit, see you soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarahco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

A very spacious comfortable restaurant with great views over the docks (restaurant on 4th floor). The food was excellent and reasonably priced and the service was excellent. If you are visiting Liverpool docks, don't go to the little snack cafes, go straight here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alastair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maritime Dining Room also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Maritime Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing