We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent little place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lord Nelson Hotel
Ranked #57 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed there on 8th July as we were at a Gig at the O2 Academy which is right next door. Both are right next to Lime Street Station and the hotel was fine. Cheap, cheerful and convenient.

The only downside was the bed was a little uncomfortable but otherwise the place was good.

Nice breakfast the following morning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed as we were at a gig next door at the academy. The room was nice and clean. The bathroom was spotless and huge. All the staff were friendly and made you feel welcome.
Only grumble was that the old style sash window wouldn't stay open unless propped which is hardly the biggest deal in the world.
If I go to Liverpool again for a show I will definitely stay again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Spigcore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just as one should not judge a book by its cover and the same goes for the Lord Nelson with its unappealing exterior, reception area and public area as the rooms, breakfast and staff service are all of the highest standard. Overall our stay at the Lord Nelson could only be described as exceptional value for money. And its proximity to Lime Street Station is a added bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

So me and the boyfriend wanted to go away for our 7 year anniversary and saw a cheap deal to this hotel with breakfast included- FAB!

Good points:

So, 2 mins walk from limestreet station- fab location!
The breakfast staff were all lovely.
Rooms were very modern and very clean

Not so good:

As it is a cheap kind of hotel it attracted certain kinds of people, eg young people going to get wasted. So 2oclock on saturday morning, people running up and down the corridor banging the walls and falling down the stairs. No phone in the room so couldnt ring reception to complain. 4oclock in the morning the fire alarm went off. Wasnt very loud, didnt even wake my boyfriend up. Got up to get out only to be told it was a false alarm but the man didnt know how to switch it off so it still continued for a length of time.
Breakfast, continental- ok. But i expect a decent kind of cheese at a continental- dairylea and cheese strings don't really do it im afraid.
The following night at 3 oclock in the morning someone was banging on a door near our room shouting 'dave dave', i swear if dave hadnt have got up id have gone and got him myself cuz this went on for about 20minutes!
Also, ladies there is a full length mirror in the room, but no plug socket near it to plug your straighteners into, so its an Olympic sprint from one end of the room to the other to do your hair.
All in all it was ok, but wouldn't stay again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toni-lou1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I had a very enjoyable two night stay. This centrally located hotel next to Lime Street Station is superb value for money. My single room was simple but clean and spacious with a modern bathroom. I enjoyed the continental breakfast - lots of choice including fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, cold meat, cheese, fruit juice, croissants, toast and tea or coffee (as many refills as you wanted). All the staff were very friendly and helpful. For a central location city hotel it is hard to beat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank schoolinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I booked to stay here with my sister and our friend as it was the only affordable hotel with a triple room that I could find. We arrived by train at Liverpool Lime Street station and found the hotel quickly and easily.

Our room was on the 3rd floor, we had a twin room with an adjoining door leading to another room with a single bed. We had one bathroom to share and this suited us well as normally hotels have twin rooms with a pull out/camp bed and so this arrangement was the best we have come across.

Our deal included continental breakfast which was basic but adequate. Fruit, yoghurts, croissants, brioche and cereals were included along with bread that you could toast yourself. Tea and coffee were also available.

People with mobility issues may have a problem with this hotel as the corridors are very narrow and with lots of stairs but apparently there is a lift which was out of action during our stay.

However, I would stay here again again if the 3 of us ever decided to return to Liverpool as our room was ideal for what we needed. The hotel is also perfectly located - close to the train station and close to the city shops and nightlife.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank MexicoPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Can't really complain for the money! Was abit scared from reading other reviews but I was pleasantly surprised. My room was a good size with a big TV on the wall and bathroom was great! The staff couldn't be more helpful. Is great for staying if you want somewhere affordable and your not looking for anything too posh!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Girl1234567a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#23 of 99 in Liverpool
5,097 reviews
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
The Podworks Hotel
#60 of 99 in Liverpool
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Travelodge Liverpool Central
Travelodge Liverpool Central
#51 of 99 in Liverpool
471 reviews
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Hallmark Inn Liverpool
#54 of 99 in Liverpool
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Nelson Hotel

Address: Hotham Street, Liverpool L3 5PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £29 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lord Nelson Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Lord Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Nelson Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing