We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay.”
Review of Sefton Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sefton Park Hotel
Ranked #68 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay.”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The hotel was lovely, lovely views from our hotel room of the lake and the staff were lovely and welcoming, most of the time. Our room was lovely, clean and spacious but our bathroom door didn't shut never mind lock and we had no tea, coffee, sugar or milk so when asked if we could have some the woman only gave us tea bags so had to ask for milk too and she practically threw the milk at us. The bed was comfy but it was two single beds put together. The room was warm and we could only open one window 2-3 inches but we understand that was for safety. We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that. All in all we enjoyed our stay and thought it was very good for what we payed (£17.00) and we would visit again if there was another offer on but probably wouldn't pay the full price for a room. Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittykatManc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEO_RoscoeCollection, General Manager at Sefton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Hi KittyKatManc,

Thank you for your recent review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I have raised the maintenance and customer service issues which you mentioned with the relevant Heads of Department and these have now been remedied. We are presently refurbishing the entire hotel and appreciate all feedback so that we can continue to improve the guest experience which we offer. Look forward to seeing you again at The Blenheim.

Best Regards
Conor
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    78
    59
    43
    83
See reviews for
105
120
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Another KGB deal - £99 for two people for two nights B&B with a two course meal on one of the nights and two glasses of champagne.

Chose this hotel for the location which was outside of the main city centre and this proved to be an inspired decision! There was ample free car parking and we used buses into and out of the city which were frequent with bus stops only a 10 minute walk away. An all day ticket with Aviva buses was less than £4.00 per person which was very good value for money. The hotel is literally on the door step of Sefton Park which is where we ended both days having a lovely walk around the park, which is worth a visit in itself.

The room was a very good size as was the en suite bathroom and both were modern and well maintained. Breakfast was good (although the scrambled egg on the second day was a bit strange!) with lots to choose from and the evening meals were also very good and excellent value for money – think it was less than £12 per person for two courses – and since it was so good, we ate there both nights. The main restaurant was being renovated so had to eat in the bar, which was absolutely fine given that it was Euro 2012! Staff were friendly and helpful with lots of advice on transport etc.

Would definitely stay there again and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Probably ask for one at the rear as it was a bit noisy in the front room, although the view of the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stenolass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEO_RoscoeCollection, General Manager at Sefton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Hi StenoLass,

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular our food offering. We have expanded this recently with the launch of Michelangelo's Italian Restaurant in the hotel. My team were delighted to hear your praise for them. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards
Conor
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

stayed here for 2 nights in January 2012 whilst back home in Liverpool on business, it's not the Ritz but it's got a lot of character, friendly staff, the room was decent enough, the shower was hot and the bathroom was clean, a bit cramped but clean, the location is good, it's located in Sefton Park which is probably the nicest park in Liverpool, it's 10 minutes by road to the city and 15 to the airport, the local area is called Aigburth (in the local dialect it's pronounced Eggburth) and it's a really nice neighbourhood, the locals are friendly, the Blenheim has a nice bar called Stuey's which attracts some of the locals, well worth a visit, it's bar is named after the 5th Beatle Stuart Sutcliffe who used to live in the Blenheim with his family. I paid £38 for a 2 night stay, can't complain but as always my advice is if you want 5 start pay for it, if you stay here expecting 2 star you will enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: ask for one not overlooking the Aigburth Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJBirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEO_RoscoeCollection, General Manager at Sefton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Hi DJBIRCH,

Thank you for your review of The Blenheim Lakeside. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Many of our guests comment on how welcoming our bar is and how friendly the locals are. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards
Conor
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

My husband and I stayed the weekend from Saturday 30 June to Monday 2 July. The value of our break was £284 for 2 people with a 2 course meal and a glass of bubbly on the first night, plus breakfast on both days. However we did not pay this as it was a deal.

Room – we had room 6 at the side of the Hotel which overlooked the road and a decking area (see photos). Room had a double and single bed, it was quite compact, with one chest of drawers that had the TV on so not much work top space. Full wardrobe which had a broken door, tea and coffee making facilities but no socket where the kettle was so you had to put it on the floor and plug in. There was a chair in the bay window with a collapsed arm. Big windows with drapes at the windows – don’t know why but there was a mug situation on the top of wooden valance where the curtains drape! Room was clean and tidy but the bed was very uncomfortable as it sunk in the middle. It was difficult to tell if this room had recently been refurbished or not, it was not a bit like the room shown in the Hotel pictures on their website (we have uploaded pictures of our room).

Bathroom – Nothing fancy, it was adequate with an electric shower which had been strapped up with a cable tie to stop it slipping down the pole, bare wood was at the back of the toilet cistern.

Meal – Upon arrival we were asked if we wanted an evening meal on the Saturday evening or Sunday lunch. We were told we did not have to decide or book, just turn up, we were also told the restaurant was open until 8 pm. So we on Saturday we headed into Town on the bus and came back for 7.30 pm for our evening meal. We were told by the Receptionist that the Chef had gone home so no evening meal, we were offered the Sunday lunch. We said this was not acceptable as we were heading into Liverpool for the day. So we walked to a local takeaway and explained our situation and they informed us that the pub next door would let us take our food there, so this is what we did. Very disappointing as we came back from town especially, had we had known we would have stayed in town and eaten there. This spoilt our evening as we were then too tired to head back into Town.

We expected the Manager, who we were told is called Connor to come and speak with us to apologise, but nothing was forthcoming.

Breakfast – This was being served in the basement room as the dining room upstairs was being refurbished. First impressions of going down the stairs was to be greeted by small stools all stacked upside down on each other under the stair well, plus high chairs – not a pretty site. Breakfast on the Saturday was very over cooked. On the Monday morning when we arrived we waited about 10 minutes for our order to be taken, no one came to see us from the back room (we could hear all the staff talking and we could smell cigarette smoke as it was coming in through the vent as they were stood outside smoking) – so my husband went out the back and asked to be served. The waitress did come through and apologised. Breakfast was much better this day.

Reception staff – They were very helpful and friendly and we felt sorry for the fact that they had to take the flack for the lack of meal on Saturday night, we felt that the Manager should have come to see us and that they should not have been put in this position. We did get a refund for the lack of meal and fizz, but this was not the point.

Position of the Hotel – It is in a nice part of town, we did not go to the park because of the rain. We used the bus in and out of town which takes about 20 minutes each way. A bit too far if you want to sight see during the day, come back, freshen up and go back into town (we are in our 50’s!)

We will defiantly come back to Liverpool but we won’t stay at the Hotel for the reasons stated above, we have had much better value for money (face value not what we paid) at other places. Plus next time we will stay in town as we want to be more central.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julespmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEO_RoscoeCollection, General Manager at Sefton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear JulesPMK,

Thank you for your review of The Blenheim Lakeside. I am sorry that you found some aspects of your stay disappointing. We are investing heavily in refurbishment of the entire hotel at the moment and have recently launched Michelangelo's Italian Restaurant on the ground floor of the hotel.

I have passed the issues which you raised about your room onto our Housekeeping and Maintenance manager and these have long since been resolved. Thank you for your kind comments about our Front of House team, I have shared these with them.

Kindest Regards
Conor
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Great clean hotel with friendly staff. Close location to town centre with a short taxi drive. Breakfast is a must and the bar is well stocked. Off road parking a bonus. Will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJT100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEO_RoscoeCollection, General Manager at Sefton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Hi StJ,

Thanks for your feedback. We always aim to offer our clients a quality and value for money. Hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards
Conor
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontywaun
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Working in Liverpool for a week spent 5 days in the Snooze. Moved on to this hotel and price was not very different from snooze but the hotel was 100% different for the better.. Recommend to anyone. Top hotel and very friendly staff..Hope this helps

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jiffy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEO_RoscoeCollection, General Manager at Sefton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Hi Jiffy58,

Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your kind feedback with the team. Hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards
Conor O'Donovan
Chief Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

stayed here for our wedding and it was brilliant, staff when we arrived were polite helpful and allways on hand, buffet food was amazing and would recomend partys here, airy light and clean, intimate, for the function room. bedroom was clean and airy, light and spacious as was other rooms we visited when family stayed as well. breakfast was good, a bit small but nice, would recomend again anybody who is looking for a party or a place to stay then here is the place to be, location is excellent next to the park a good walk around clears cobwebs the day after. friendly atmosphere in bar area as well,
thank you to all the staff on duty over the few days while we were there.

Room Tip: all rooms where good and spacious clean and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEO_RoscoeCollection, General Manager at Sefton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Hi Neil,

Thank you so much for your review of The Blenheim Lakeside Hotel. My team and I were delighted to be able to share your special day with you both. I have passed your kind comments onto our team. We would like to wish Clare and yourself every happiness together.

Kindest Regards
Conor O'Donovan
Chief Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Sefton Park
Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#24 of 97 in Liverpool
480 reviews
Beech Mount Hotel
#71 of 97 in Liverpool
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hotel
#57 of 97 in Liverpool
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sefton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sefton Park Hotel

Property: Sefton Park Hotel
Address: 37 Aigburth Drive | Sefton Park, Liverpool L17 4JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Sefton Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sefton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sefton Park Hotel is a beautifully restored Victorian Villa overlooking the Boating Lake in Sefton Park, the largest park in Liverpool. It is one of the original detached houses on the perimeter of the park where rich merchants and shipping magnates once lived in style. Today it offers a warm friendly welcome, comfortable accommodation and quality food and drink which is served in Astrid's Bar and Michelngelo's Italian Restaurant. More modern history confirms that 'The Blenheim' was, infact, the family home of the fifth Beatle, Stuart Sutcliffe in the 1960s. Stuart's family continued to live here until 1970. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sefton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blenheim Lakeside Liverpool
Hotel Blenheim Lakeside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing