We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great venue”
Review of Sefton Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sefton Park Hotel
Ranked #67 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great venue”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I stayed here on the 9th June had a great day we had a BBQ in the after noon that was for 60 people it was fantastic the service was brilliant a real military precision. After that 24 had dinner in the restaurant food, sevice and quality was simply the best . The hotel has so much character the view of the lake wonderful all in all we had a great stay

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEO_RoscoeCollection, General Manager at Sefton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Hi Joe R,

Thank you very much for your review. We're delighted that your party really enjoyed yourselves, it was a pleasure to look after you all. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards
Conor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    77
    59
    42
    79
See reviews for
100
119
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

When we booked to stay here we were quite looking forward to it. We stayed on the other side of the park in an un-manned hotel the night before and were expecting that to be a horror story and the Blenheim to be a step up. Sadly, it was a step down.

Once actually arriving at the hotel after succesfully navigating our way through the construction cones on the road outside we took our bags up the steep steps. The bar to the right looked pleasant enough and the dining room on the left was clean and modern. We checked in and were asked to pay a deposit of £25 in case we broke anything - I understand this if you are a large group of partygoers but we were a young couple with an infant baby - what are we going to break?

Anyway, we stayed in the Stuart Suite on the first floor, and after my wife and I looked at each other thinking we had been upgraded, we opened the door to a very tired room in much need of some care and attention. It was a nice size with a double and 2 single beds in it and the linen looked clean and fresh. The carpet hadn't been hoovered and there were bits of fluff etc all over it, not to mention the patches where previous guests had decided to iron their clothes on the floor, leaving huge burn marks in the process. The single bed nearest the window was on its deathbed, sagging and creaking and the headboard was loose and wobbling around. The black out curtains in the morning looked like they had been attacked by an army of ravenous moths. These things are general upkeep issues that I can see getting fixed (hopefully) when the hotel next gets refurbished but the little details, such as there being no batteries in the TV remote, are things that just show a lack of care and attention.

The bathroom was clean and white, not luxurious by any means but perfectly fine.

I walked away thinking "Thank goodness we only paid what we did!!", which was £32.50 for two adults and a baby under 1 on a Sunday night. So overall, good value for money. The same room, however, would have cost us £149 discounted to £109 if we had stayed on Saturday instead of the Sunday. £32.50 was good value for the room quality we received, and I hope future guests get the same sort of value. £100 plus for that room is criminal.

Room Tip: Stay on a Sunday! And try not to stay in the Stuart Suite as it's directly above bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savvy_traveller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeftonParkHotel, General Manager at Sefton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hi SavvyTravelelr123,

Thank you for your recent review. I have noted your comments and am happy to inform you that the Stuart Suite has been completely refurbished. New décor, carpets, furniture, beds, the lot. It is also no longer called the Stuart Suite, rather room 203, as it ever was a suite. This was a legacy that we inherited from the previous operators. The road works have also long since been completed and the lovely view across the park and over the boating lake are clear to see again and not blotted by ugly JCB's and traffic cones.

We'd love you to come and stay in our new and improved rooms, not just on a Sunday but on any night of the week. I think you'd be impressed with the changes.

Best regards
Conor.

Best regards
Conor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Firstly the positives. The location of this hotel is great. It’s in a lovely leafy street overlooking a massive park, yet only £6 taxi from the centre of Liverpool.

The staff were attentive and always ready to help. The room was of a good size and kept relatively clean. We were on the top floor and had a good night’s sleep. One other guest had a room right above the bar and complained of bar noise until 2am. Sheets and towels were clean and changed daily.

However the room decor itself was very tired. The fixtures and fittings were a bit random in the room and the carpets had not aged well.

Breakfast on the first day was undercooked - but cooked well on the second.

For a budget hotel I would say this was average.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor to avoid bar noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariner_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeftonParkHotel, General Manager at Sefton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Mariner1980,

Thank you for your review. We value all our guest feedback highly. We have continued to invest in our product and I think you'd be very impressed with the improvements we have made to our accommodation product, which includes re-decorating and updating carpets and soft furnishings. We have also hired a new Executive Head Chef and have beefed up our breakfast offering considerably.

Despite all these improvements we have ensured that one thing has remained consistent throughout, the warmth of our welcome and our focus on providing excellent, attentive customer service at all times. The team and I would love to welcome you back when your next in Liverpool.

Kindest regards
Conor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

we had a two night stay at this hotel, 30th--31st may 2013.hotel was situated in a lovely setting overlooking the boating lake. When we arrived at the hotel we were disappointed to see roadworks and barriors blocking the access to the hotel. car parking is very limited and the hotel has steep steps to climb to gain access to the hotel. Reception staff were curtious and helpful,unfortunatly when we arrived in our designated room(room 4) we found the room very cold with no spare blankets or pillows to put on the bed.The light over the wardrobe would not work and the radiator was either broken or not working as it should.other radiators in hotel landing where luke warm to the touch and did'nt give out much heat. when I mentioned this to the receptionist she promised to have the radiator fixed and a new bulb to put in the overhead light by the wardrobe.This was'nt seen too so we had a restless night in bed. The restaurant downstairs is italian.serials and juices were provided buffet style.breakfast looked delicious but having to wait 35 minuits before it was put on the table put me off eating it all. Later on the second day of our stay we decided to eat in the downstairs restaurant, you must like pasta or pizza,I ordered a calzoney pizza,and when I asked them to put pineapple into the pizza, I was told that they do not have pineapple. I ordered soup as a starter and had to wait. 45 minuits before it was served.the soup was nearly cold but by this time I would eat anything. I think the chef should go over to italy and learn how to cook italian food.I would'nt recommend this hotel to the elderly as there are steep stairs to climb up to your room. downstairs you have to go down two flights of stairs to use the toilet. the last day of our stay there was a wedding reception being held at the hotel and it was chaotic as befits a wedding..I certainly would never stay at this hotel ever again and certainly would'nt recommend it to anyone else. the rooms have no telephones in them, so if you need to ask the receptionist for anything then you have to go downstairs.god help you if there is an emergency.

Room Tip: you will need warm clothing when you climb into bed,as the room is very cold(room 4)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeftonParkHotel, General Manager at Sefton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear BrianH,

Thank you for your review. We really value all our customer feedback. I'm sorry to hear that there was certain elements of your stay which you were unhappy with.

Your comments about room 4 were noted, and this room has since been completely refurbished as part of our ongoing programme of improvements at the hotel. You wouldn't recognise it as the same room. We have also employed a new Executive Head Chef and made significant improvements to our food offering, both at breakfast which we have beefed up considerably, and to our restaurant offering, which we have completely overhauled. We now offer a mix of Italian / Modern European dishes including Pizza's, Pasta's and Tapa's combined with a mix of home favourites such as Posh Gish & Chips, a selection of Pie's, Sausages and Mash and a great selection of Steak and Fish.

I'd be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel so that you may see first hand the improvements which we have made. Please don't hesitate to contact me when you are next in Liverpool and I'll be delighted to make the necessary arrangements.

Kindest regards
Conor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

the bedroom was the worst room we have stayed in,no mirror,onebedside lamp.no phone , faulty,tv.bottom draw missing,only two coathangers.bathroom tired and needs a makeover.staff pleasent,but we arrived at 2.55,bedroom not ready.breakfast was good

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeftonParkHotel, General Manager at Sefton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hi Sandra,

I'm terribly sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay with us. Please rest assured that the issues which you raised have since been rectified. I'd be delighted to welcome you back so that you could sample our new improved offering. Please don't hesitate to contact us when you next visit Liverpool and we will be delighted to make the necessary arrangements.

Kindest regards
Conor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed here for my partners birthday in May. The staff very graciously put balloons and banners up in the room before we got there. There was a wedding do on which was noisy and the walls are very very thin. The breakfast was lovely. The bus stop was close by which took you straight to Liverpool One and Albert Dock. Short walk to a lovely area where there was a variety of restaurants from Indian to Greek. Very quaint. Not far from Penny Lane. Recommend Beatles museum too. Opposite a lovely big lake in a student area. The 5th Beatle lived here. It was ok here nothing amazing but clean and accessible.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnietigerlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeftonParkHotel, General Manager at Sefton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hi BonnieTigerLass,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's the little details that we pride ourselves on and we love making celebrations like birthdays and anniversaries that little bit more special for our guests.

Whilst you may have felt that on your last stay that whilst we were clean and accessible nothing was amazing, I think you'd be very pleasantly surprised if you came to stay with us again. Perhaps you'll make it over for your partners next birthday.

Best regards
Conor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Stayed at this guest house for the GrandNational meeting. Along with every other hotel in the city the prices are raised to exorbitant levels. The room was awful, I have stayed in better military barracks. Food was disgusting. The upper floors and stair landings were covered with litter, the most worrying aspect is management take a deposit from potential guests but do not take the deposit away from the final account and refuse to accept telephone calls to arrange refunds, resulting in ongoing legal dispute. Be aware anyone who has the misfortune to inadvertently stay here.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Sid666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeftonParkHotel, General Manager at Sefton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Sid666,

Thank you for your recent review. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. Other than to say that our prices are market driven and based on supply and demand for peak dates in Liverpool I cannot comment any further on this matter.

We take a deposit to confirm all bookings made directly via our website and this is deducted from the guests final bill. I am unaware of any ongoing legal action in respect of this, so please refrain from exaggerating.

We have received no complaints about the quality of our food, our Executive Head Chef and his team ensure that our food offering is of the highest standard at all times. Moreover, our corridors are not strewn from litter. Again, please stop exaggerating.

Kindest regards
Conor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Sefton Park
Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#20 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Beech Mount Hotel
#71 of 97 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sefton Park
Green Park Hotel
Green Park Hotel
#75 of 97 in Liverpool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Park Hotel
#56 of 97 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sefton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sefton Park Hotel

Property: Sefton Park Hotel
Address: 37 Aigburth Drive | Sefton Park, Liverpool L17 4JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Sefton Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sefton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sefton Park Hotel is a beautifully restored Victorian Villa overlooking the Boating Lake in Sefton Park, the largest park in Liverpool. It is one of the original detached houses on the perimeter of the park where rich merchants and shipping magnates once lived in style. Today it offers a warm friendly welcome, comfortable accommodation and quality food and drink which is served in Astrid's Bar and Michelngelo's Italian Restaurant. More modern history confirms that 'The Blenheim' was, infact, the family home of the fifth Beatle, Stuart Sutcliffe in the 1960s. Stuart's family continued to live here until 1970. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Sefton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blenheim Lakeside Liverpool
Hotel Blenheim Lakeside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing