We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average stay, just to out of the centre” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodlands Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Liverpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woodlands Guest House
Ranked #14 of 76 Liverpool B&B and Inns
Tamworth, UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Average stay, just to out of the centre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed here as all the city centre was fully booked, we thought as on the website it said 5 miles from the centre this wouldnt be a problem.... but its at least 10 miles!!

we were not told of many times at the house for breakfast/ checking out.
when we arrive we were left to it feeling a little lost and unwelcome.

we paid £10 for one way to get into the centre but we had a problem returning to the guest house as many people had never heard of the house or where they where going.
id recommend if your planning on a night out/shopping/site seeing in liverpool centre you should pay more for an apartment as this was just to much messing about.

Breakfast - was nice and we had more then expected.
Rooms - are a good size just abit of an odd lay out. very nicely decorated.
Staff - Could have been abit more welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ray_Travel1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

arrived here on 22/10/11 for a 2 night stay with my partner and 12 year old son. we arrived at 7 in the evening and had a pleasent welcome and efficient check in. entrance of b&b is decorated simply, but stylish and in keeping with the building.
we were on the 2nd floor in room 5 (triple room) which was clean, spacious and had loads of space with a great en suite. room had plenty of sockets, free wifi and large lcd tv. plenty of tea and coffee provided along with kettle in our room, and iron and iron board provided on request.
i would have no hesitation on returning hear the next time i visit liverpool.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunchick01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We needed an overnight stay with our two kids (3 year old and 1 year old). We booked this B&B as close to the people we were going to see on the Sunday. We arrived quite late and the staff helped us move the bags into the room as the babies were already asleep and we just transferred them straight to their beds/cot. B&B provided the travel cot as promised all ready and set up.

Family room was plenty big for the four of us with double bed and two singles and the travel cot bed. The room is also en-suite.

Breakfast was nice in the morning and staff helpful again.

Just what we needed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vovoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

I went to the Woodland as a Grand National stop off, having found my usual haunt fully booked. I really enjoyed my stay it has to be said.
The rooms were a very generous size, we booked 2 single rooms, both of which could have easily accommodated a double bed. Rooms included a flat screen tv with freeview, and a decent ensuite.
Breakfast was a good qual, and came out at a good speed, which was a plus when you had to get to the national! Also the staff were lovely and chatted to you.
I really liked that they gave you a key to the whole building, and there wasn't a lock out time. Not only this, but i didn't find i got disturbed if anyone came in late.

Links to liverpool were good, getting to Aintree was a tiny bit more painful, having to go almost back into liverpool and then back on yourself to get there, but it's not an expensive trip by any means, and cheaper than petrol and parking easily! The staff were also willing to hold onto my bag for me after i had checked out, so i could come back and get it rather than pay the expense for left luggage at the racecourse. Which was just one of the many nice touches to staying in a small b&b

The area itself is not unpleasant either. Although it will not be revered for being an international beauty spot it's a nice town, and although the seafront is hardly stunning it made for a nice evening stroll. The hotel doesn't provide an evening meal, but there is a huge amount of choice not 5 mins away from the front door, all reasonably priced. Also a huge number of pubs for you to choose from. All the local people were very very friendly and by the time i left i was very fond of the town!

All in all a wonderful stay, only 2 niggles, there wasn't really a surface on which one could do work, and it's not as if the rooms don't have space, also my ensuite had a curtain, rather than a door, which the other room did have. Again not major, but if someone else was in your room, it's not the most pleasant!

Apart from that it was a really lovely stay and i will defiantly note it for next year.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmapony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2010

The guest house is about 6 miles south of Liverpool,very close to Waterloo Station,which is a direct line into Liverpool city centre,also loads of buses pass close to the guest house.So if you fancied a good quality stay without the parking hassle this is a great option.We had a lovely welcome,our room was very spacious and the bed was huge and we had a great view over the garden.There was a good quality tea traywhich was well stocked.The shower room was good too.The towels were a little on the small side but good quality.
Breakfast was great too ,plenty of cereal,fruit and yoghurts and a well cooked breakfast.
The Guest house is close to a small cinema and alots of restaurants in south road.
All in all we had a great stay and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShrewsburyChefette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killie
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2010

just back from grand national weekend,must be the best place to stay in liverpool,from the minute we walked in the door we were made very welcome,just like home.perfect location ,easy to find ,great public transport nearby and reliable taxi service.lovely quiet area but still only about 15 mins away from aintree and city centre,will def stay next time we are in liverpool and will recomend to fam and friends.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KillieSupergran51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

Just had a 2 night stay at Woodlands as visiting relatives nearby. Lovely room, very large for a single, could easily have fitted another single bed into the room without it being crowded. The bathroom had just been refurbished and was roomy with a good shower. Flat screen tv and tea and coffee facilities in the room. Good breakfast, cereal, orange juice and full english breakfast with plenty of tea/coffee and toast. Recommended by friends and will definitely stay here again when in area. Situated in good locality and handy for bus or train access into city, walking distance to see Anthony Gormleys iron men. Could not fault this guest house and cost very reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
0.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#41 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Nadler Liverpool
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,781 reviews
2.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#57 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Liverpool
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#20 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
0.6 mi away
Liverpool Riverview Guesthouse
2.2 mi away
Orrell Park Hotel
Orrell Park Hotel
#4 of 76 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Guest House

Property: Woodlands Guest House
Address: 10 Haigh Road | Waterloo Park, Liverpool L22 3XP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We aim to offer a comfortable, friendly atmosphere where our guests can relax and feel at home and want to come back again. We are located five miles from Liverpool City Centre with good public transport links to the City, Liverpool John Lennon Airport and the coastal town of Southport. We are also close to the motorway network. 
 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woodland Guest House Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing