We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfair reviews - a little tired but good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Devonshire House Hotel
Ranked #70 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unfair reviews - a little tired but good value for money”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We were a little put off by some of the reviews and photos and contacted the hotel in advance. They were very helpful. Yes the hotel is a bit tired, but the room was very clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was good. We turned up late for breakfast on the last day and the waitress and chef stayed back to serve us. What you pay reflects what you get, I think some people want their cake and eat it. Overall it was excellent value for money

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 922DaveH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHouse, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear Dave,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to read that your enjoyed your stay and we have shared your comments with our associates here at the Hotel.

I am pleased you found the hotel good value for money and the staff will be thrilled with the feedback on their efforts.

Should your travels bring you back to Liverpool, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Devonshire House Hotel.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    201
    172
    120
    136
See reviews for
134
267
36
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Probably the worst hotel i have ever stayed in,the room was very tired and very dates,headboard and quilt left a lot to be desired,no blind or anything for that matter on the bathroom window although the window was frosted.At breakfast at 9.40 there was no tea,no coffee ,no toast and just two pieces of bacon left,beans had been taken away due to a complaint that they were all burnt but none ever replaced them!There was not one single member of staff to ask for coffee etc even opening the door to the kitchen there was no body
to speak to.Although this is a cheap hotel i think the majority of people would want to pay that
bit extra for comfort and service.We only chose this hotel as we were attending a function at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHouse, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear Elaine,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We appreciate your feedback,.

We do acknowledge the fact that a limited amount of rooms have not been updated yet but plans are in place to address these over the next 12 months. We can though assure you our rooms have very good levels of cleanliness. I wish you had contacted us directly during your stay in order that we could have had a chance to rectify the issues raised in your review.

Our commitment to investing in our property will continue this year with renovations to our bedrooms, banquet and conference areas.

Our breakfast has been expanded to include more options and is now more closely monitored to ensure that we have enough to satisfy all our guests.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Myself and 6 friends stayed here for onenight on New Years Eve 2011, The hotel was a short car journey from the motorway which was handy after a long drive.The hotel had a large carpark and the hotel staff were very friendly. Our first impression of the building was a good one, the corridors were slightly dates, bu our rooms were large spacious and clean. What attracted us most to the hotel was the triple bed rooms they offered. As we were travelling in a large group the large rooms appealed - and we were not disappointed. My room had a double bed and a single and was a really big size! perfect for us all getting ready for a night on the town! The taxi was ordered from the front desk and was just £8 into town, where all the main bars and clubs are located and a 10min jouney time tops! I would definately recommend the Devonshire for anyone looking for a good, clean, well-run hotel close to town - thats not going to cost you an arm and a leg. Being that 5-10mins out of the main town centre saved us a fortune!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lewlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHouse, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear Guest Thank you for writing your kind review on Trip Advsior, I am pleased your found the hotel to be value for money as this is an increasingly important factor of our guests. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome back to the hotel soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Stayed here on the weekend 6th January 2012 with 3 of my mates. We had a great deal from KGB deals - £89 for 2 people for 2 nights. Watched the football (Liverpool V Oldham) and generally had a great time in the City of Liverpool. The Hotel is about a mile outside the city centre, and is easy to find as the sat nav took us straight there from South wales. The maid service is excellent (the room was cleaned by the time we got back from anfield museum on the saturday morning) The russian lady on reception was very nice, and was interested in seeing my photos from the museum. hotel bar is a little pricey (about £4 for a magners and more for a pint of coke.lol) but overall would say this has gotta be one of the best hotels in liverpool and will be returning the next time i go to anfield! ps. sorry to anyone i offended on the saturday night was very drunk and don't remember much! lol

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomEvans1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Stayed in January 2012 for a Liverpool match. Hotel is ideally situated for Anfield, cost 6 of us £7 for a taxi, if you wanted to walk I'd give yourself a good half hour.

I came a cross an offer of £35 for a twin room for the night which is very good value. Hotel staff are attentive, reception area is very clean and appealing and room was to a good standard. Only negatives for me are; the lift which has buttons missing and scratch grafitti and top of the wardrobe was VERY dusty - I'm tall so was easy to notice.

All in all I'd defiantly stay again for the price paid.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHouse, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Dear Mr Robinson We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Devonshire House Hotel Liverpool. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Liverpool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Devonshire from the 13th to the 15th Dec. After reading some of the reviews we were a little apprehensive. I can only say that we had a nice room, a little small maybe but very suitable. the two nights we stayed the towels were changed twice and the room cleaned. We had a meal on the first night and it was very good and at a reasonable price.We found all the staff we came in contact with both friendly and helpful. Bar prices were ok a pint of beer was £2.80. There is ample parking and nice grounds. Would probably stay here again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete12Pontypridd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHouse, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Thank you for your comments and I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

I will pass your comments on to the team and please give us a call on your return to Liverpool.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here last weekend and overall had a pleasant experience. It isn't all mod cons and the decor a bit dated but in a way that was part of its charm. The bathroom was newly installed by the looks of things and the towels fresh and clean.

I woudl say the rooms got quite hot at night and the hot water was scorching and didn't seem to go lower than really really hot. The hallways had been freshly painted too and the smell did permeate throughout the hotel a bit.

We got a bargain for our room really for 2 nights and the staff were very corteous and polite at all times.

Our only disappointment was the cab service that they used. We reserved a taxi ahead twice and twice in a row the cars were 15 minutes late. In the end we figured it was easier to call them when we needed to go - turns out it was quicker this way and the cars turned up quicker!

I would definitley stay here again, particularly as it has a charm and character which seems to be lacking in a lot of the overpriced chain hotels.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verticalfailure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHouse, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and the nice comments about the hotel.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Devonshire House Hotel, Liverpool

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Beech Mount Hotel
#71 of 97 in Liverpool
564 reviews
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#23 of 97 in Liverpool
462 reviews
The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
#41 of 97 in Liverpool
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 97 in Liverpool
579 reviews
Campanile Liverpool
#66 of 97 in Liverpool
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire House Hotel

Property: Devonshire House Hotel
Address: 293-297 Edge Lane, Liverpool L7 9LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devonshire House is known for its friendly service, welcoming atmosphere and attention to detail. Set in one and half acres of landscaped gardens and ideally situated on A5047 just over 1 mile from both Liverpool City Centre and the M62 Motorway. Our customers will enjoy fine hospitality during their stay in one of our 54 spacious bedrooms. We offer affordable accommodation, free guest parking, friendly personal service and helpful staff. Our amenities include the Lounge Bar, and the Four Seasons restaurant. The hotel has a number of function rooms equipped for conferences, banquets and weddings. Our professional team is on hand and ready to cater for your individual requirements.Liverpool and Everton Football Clubs are a few minutes drive from the Devonshire House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Devonshire House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing