We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Environmental health hazard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Devonshire House Hotel
Ranked #70 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Environmental health hazard”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

My advice to anyone staying here, check your duvets!! we stayed here for 2 nights and on the second night we found a flea jumping on one bed and what looked to be a bed bug on the other.
Staff unable to give us fresh duvets or blankets, and they couldn't offer us another room as the hotel was full.
HAd a very poor sleep fully clothed, got a refund in the morning without any hassle, but still feeling itchy!!
The room smelt strongly of smoke for a non smoker, carpets not great. The sign posting to the rooms is very poor, we spent ages looking for the room and found it through an unsigned door.

Room Tip: Choose and Alternative hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank badinfluences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHouse, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
We regret learning of your suspicion that you may have encountered a bed bug whilst staying at our property but we appreciate you bringing it to our attention. As bed bugs are a threat to hotels world-wide, our room attendants undergo regular training by our Pest Control contractor on how identify these bugs early and the hotel has a vigorous treatment policy in place in the event that such insects are encountered.

When you made us aware we immediately contacted our pest control company and they confirmed that same day that no bed bug activity was found in the room that you had stayed in. When you contacted reception you did advise that you had the window open with the hotel being set in beautiful gardens you may have experienced something flying in through the window.

Unfortunately there is no option on Trip Advisor to upload a copy of the report and feel that the environmental health comments may be displaying the hotel in an unfair way, as we can assure you that there are no issues regarding this. Should you wish to discuss this or the report we have received then please don't hesitate to contact me at the hotel.

We assure you that the Devonshire House Hotel, Liverpool takes this world-wide problem very seriously and that the necessary precautions and measures are indeed already in place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    198
    165
    114
    134
See reviews for
130
258
35
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in April. Beautiful old building in lovely gardens. Bedroom spacious and bed very comfortable. I had to change rooms whilst here, I found both double and twin comfortable and spacious, but the walls were very thin and not at all soundproof. Not so good to have to try and sleep listening to snoring or sex going on seemingly beside you! Other drawback was the water was so hot in the shower even turned down to 0 that it burned my feet. Had to wash in the handbasin to have control of the temperature.

The rooms were clean, the staff in the restaurant for breakfast could not have been more friendly or helpful, food was good and plentiful and fresh.

Free wifi didn't work in the first room I was in, poor coverage apparently, I was told I could come down to the lounge area and use it. The second room it worked fine.

Parking ample and free. Great. 7 minutes to the centre of town. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charmaine_chugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHouse, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Charmaine,

We always appreciate the positive comments left by the most important people in our world; our guests.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staff have gone above and beyond in terms of service.

Renovations are ongoing so that we may provide the very best in comfort to our customers.
Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

What can I say, the hotel is a little tired in places, needs a revamp. For the price we paid for the room we can't complain. would not recommend breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivan1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHouse, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Ivan,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued.

Renovations are on going, so that we may provide the very best in comfort to our customers.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stopped here for a couple of nights at the beginning of March as we were meeting with some friends from Liverpool. On 1st impressions the hotel was lovely from the outside, a nice big country house. Upon checking in you notice that the decor is a little dated in the hallways and also the room we were allocated. However the room was nice and clean and ideal for what we needed. The bathroom had an excellent shower and again was clean. The hotel is only a short taxi ride into town which was ideal for us.Breakfast on both mornings was excellent and couldnt be faulted. Would definately recommend this hotel especially if you can get it on one of the late deals which we did.Thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanPLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHouse, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Ian,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued.
We really appreciate your comments Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.

Our committment to investing in our property will continue this summer with further renovations

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Liverpool
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

This under rated hotel is excellent value. Free WiFi ! Free parking . Not far from city centre.
Try the food it's fast excellent service the meals are excellent value and very high Quality. You will NOT be disappointed!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mintony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHouse, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Mintony,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice a review about the hotel. I am very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us recently. I passed on your comments to my team.
I hope that the hotel, myself and the team will have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

A good 3-star hotel in need of redocoration. Room was clean and quiet. Staff very helpful. We paid much more than seems the norm but perhaps this was because all the hotels in Liverpool were full. You need to book early if Liverpool are plying at home !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike55518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHouse, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Mike,

Thank you for leaving your valued feedback about the Devonshire House Hotel Liverpool on Tripadvisor.

I am extremely delighted you found us perfectly ok and the staff friendly and helpful

We are currently undergoing a refurbishment programme for all our bedrooms and corridors.

We hope to welcome you back to stay in the near future.



Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I did not stay here personally however i did book the accomodation for my partner & son.
They found it to be clean & had a good size room. Bedroom facilities such as a mini fridge etc so they were able to bring food back.
Staff seemed quiet and didnt really interact much with them. The receptionist however was really friendly and had great customer service skills an ensured that they were aware of reception being open 24 hours.
The next day they asked if they could store their luggage here while they went to the match and there was no problem with this at all so I suppose you could say they got an extra service!!!!
Overall - they had no complaints other than some staff could be more customer friendly and interact with guests but other than this fantastic and they would definatley stay here again at that price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mullen_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHouse, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Mullen_9,

We would like to thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that everything during your stay met to your satisfaction, and that you found our reception team excellent in providing their service to you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to the Devonshire House Hotel Liverpool.Once again thank you

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Beech Mount Hotel
#71 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
#42 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Sefton Park
Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#20 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire House Hotel

Property: Devonshire House Hotel
Address: 293-297 Edge Lane, Liverpool L7 9LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devonshire House is known for its friendly service, welcoming atmosphere and attention to detail. Set in one and half acres of landscaped gardens and ideally situated on A5047 just over 1 mile from both Liverpool City Centre and the M62 Motorway. Our customers will enjoy fine hospitality during their stay in one of our 54 spacious bedrooms. We offer affordable accommodation, free guest parking, friendly personal service and helpful staff. Our amenities include the Lounge Bar, and the Four Seasons restaurant. The hotel has a number of function rooms equipped for conferences, banquets and weddings. Our professional team is on hand and ready to cater for your individual requirements.Liverpool and Everton Football Clubs are a few minutes drive from the Devonshire House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TravelUp, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Devonshire House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing