We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inexpensive, nice staff, but dumpy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Devonshire House Hotel
Ranked #69 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, nice staff, but dumpy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Picked this hotel when I was looking for an inexpensive room for the Grand National. The staff was friendly and the price was right, but the room was very worn. The carpet was threadbare, paint was peeling, the shower was dirty, and the room utilitarian. The bed was fine and there was internet in the lobby and the bar. I didn't try the restaurant. There is a bus station outside the hotel that runs downtown about every half an hour.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easyeric601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHouse, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for leaving your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am sorry our hotel did not meet your expectations.

The condition of your room has been addressed with our Head Housekeeper and all staff will be re-trained. I am sorry for the inconvenience this caused you.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    198
    165
    114
    133
See reviews for
130
257
35
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Having just got back from this hotel in Liverpool i wanted to say a big thanks to the staff for there help in making our trip a great success. The receptionist we met was excellent and although we where early she soon soughted out our room in fact a executive was given to us (i thought we where having a double but no we had the works), The room was delightfull and it was halfway through upgrading although the only thing missing was a towel rail otherwise i would have given the room 9/10. Having offloaded the bags time to go and see Liverpool and down at reception we asked about parking but when you look at the charges it seemed better to take a taxi, in fact we used the taxis for the two days we where there.
In the evening we decided to have dinner in the restaruant we had the lamb which was excellent
and sadly we where the only ones in there.Breakfast was ok but you have to ask if you want fried eggs as i did instead of scrambled. Would we go back again? Yes we would the staff make it so friendly and welcoming. (We where there on the 17th & 18th April).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHouse, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Devonshire House Hotel Liverpool on Tripadvisor. I was delighted with your feedback on our staff, very helpful, friendly and professional. I am glad to hear you will recommend our Hotel. We hope to welcome you back to stay in the near future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Spent two nights at the Hotel from 10-12 April. Really impressed with the room we had, which was very spacious, clean & tidy & reasonably well furnished. The only problem we found was the cold water supply in the bathroom. When the tap was turned on,the water was warm & gradually got warmer & warmer. This was reported & the problem appeared to have been resolved. The Staff were all very friendly & the breakfast was excellent. Would definately recommend the Hotel & would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaddys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHouse, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued.

We really appreciate your comments Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.

Our committment to investing in our property will continue this summer with further renovations

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Liverpool
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed at the devonshire house for a lads night out. couldn't fault the rooms, spacious, clean and tidy. Friendly staff especially the young lad on nights who was helpful and was a good laugh. Breakfast was good value for money for about £6 and there was a wide variety of everything. Would definately go back and are already planning our next night out in the nearby future, we look forward to seeing you all again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTH_3_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHouse, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for sharing your comments about your visit with us and our future guests. We are very happy to read that you would recommend the Devonshire House, and I appreciate that you recognized our convenient location, and the value of our breakfast and accommodations.

Our goal is to not only meet but to exceed the expectations of each and every guest we serve in order to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as we can.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed here on the Weekend 12th April for 3 nights with friends for the National had 1 large room for 3 people and 1 room for 2 people.

Rooms were very clean and comfortable and staff fantastic nothing was to much trouble for them.

Paid slightly higher rates due to the Racing but this has to be expected.

See you next year

Thanks to all at the Devonshire

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MH1_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHouse, Director of Sales at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for sharing your comments about your visit with us and our future guests. We are thrilled you and your group had a wonderful experience here and most certainly happy to know that you will be visiting us again. I will be sure to share your observations with our team as to how much you appreciated their efforts.

Thank you once again for your recognition of our staff’s commitment to our guest’s comfort


Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

My advice to anyone staying here, check your duvets!! we stayed here for 2 nights and on the second night we found a flea jumping on one bed and what looked to be a bed bug on the other.
Staff unable to give us fresh duvets or blankets, and they couldn't offer us another room as the hotel was full.
HAd a very poor sleep fully clothed, got a refund in the morning without any hassle, but still feeling itchy!!
The room smelt strongly of smoke for a non smoker, carpets not great. The sign posting to the rooms is very poor, we spent ages looking for the room and found it through an unsigned door.

Room Tip: Choose and Alternative hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank badinfluences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHouse, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
We regret learning of your suspicion that you may have encountered a bed bug whilst staying at our property but we appreciate you bringing it to our attention. As bed bugs are a threat to hotels world-wide, our room attendants undergo regular training by our Pest Control contractor on how identify these bugs early and the hotel has a vigorous treatment policy in place in the event that such insects are encountered.

When you made us aware we immediately contacted our pest control company and they confirmed that same day that no bed bug activity was found in the room that you had stayed in. When you contacted reception you did advise that you had the window open with the hotel being set in beautiful gardens you may have experienced something flying in through the window.

Unfortunately there is no option on Trip Advisor to upload a copy of the report and feel that the environmental health comments may be displaying the hotel in an unfair way, as we can assure you that there are no issues regarding this. Should you wish to discuss this or the report we have received then please don't hesitate to contact me at the hotel.

We assure you that the Devonshire House Hotel, Liverpool takes this world-wide problem very seriously and that the necessary precautions and measures are indeed already in place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in April. Beautiful old building in lovely gardens. Bedroom spacious and bed very comfortable. I had to change rooms whilst here, I found both double and twin comfortable and spacious, but the walls were very thin and not at all soundproof. Not so good to have to try and sleep listening to snoring or sex going on seemingly beside you! Other drawback was the water was so hot in the shower even turned down to 0 that it burned my feet. Had to wash in the handbasin to have control of the temperature.

The rooms were clean, the staff in the restaurant for breakfast could not have been more friendly or helpful, food was good and plentiful and fresh.

Free wifi didn't work in the first room I was in, poor coverage apparently, I was told I could come down to the lounge area and use it. The second room it worked fine.

Parking ample and free. Great. 7 minutes to the centre of town. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charmaine_chugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHouse, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Charmaine,

We always appreciate the positive comments left by the most important people in our world; our guests.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staff have gone above and beyond in terms of service.

Renovations are ongoing so that we may provide the very best in comfort to our customers.
Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Beech Mount Hotel
#71 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
#42 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Sefton Park
Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#20 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire House Hotel

Property: Devonshire House Hotel
Address: 293-297 Edge Lane, Liverpool L7 9LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devonshire House is known for its friendly service, welcoming atmosphere and attention to detail. Set in one and half acres of landscaped gardens and ideally situated on A5047 just over 1 mile from both Liverpool City Centre and the M62 Motorway. Our customers will enjoy fine hospitality during their stay in one of our 54 spacious bedrooms. We offer affordable accommodation, free guest parking, friendly personal service and helpful staff. Our amenities include the Lounge Bar, and the Four Seasons restaurant. The hotel has a number of function rooms equipped for conferences, banquets and weddings. Our professional team is on hand and ready to cater for your individual requirements.Liverpool and Everton Football Clubs are a few minutes drive from the Devonshire House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Devonshire House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing